How to Become an Audiologist and Speech-language Pathologist in New Brunswick
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Regulatory College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of New Brunswick to work as an audiologist and speech-language pathologist in New Brunswick or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- audiologist, speech-language pathologist
Show the source
“To practise as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist in New Brunswick, you must be registered with RCASLPNB before beginning employment or providing professional services.”
From rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/canadian-accredited-programs, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps
- Licensed in another province: 4 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Trained outside Canada: 5 steps
- Annual fees
-
- Annual Registration Fee: $850 (payable upon approval of registration)
Source
“Annual Registration Fee | $850 | Upon approval of registration”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/international-non-accredited-canadian... - Reduced Annual Registration Fee (after August 31): $425 (for registrations approved after August 31)
Source
“Reduced Annual Registration Fee (after August 31) | $425 | Upon approval of registration”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/international-non-accredited-canadian...
- Annual Registration Fee: $850 (payable upon approval of registration)
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $850 (payable upon approval of registration), $425 (for registrations approved after August 31)
-
You start your application in the Alinity portal and upload all required documents, and the review begins once all documents are received and the application processing fee has been paid.
Source
“Please note that the review of your application will begin only after: - All required documents have been received; and - The application processing fee has been paid.”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/canadian-accredited-programs -
Once all documentation and fees are received and your application is approved, you are granted a Provisional Registration that lets you practise while completing the remaining requirements.
Source
“Once RCASLPNB has received all required documentation and fees, your application will be reviewed for registration. If approved, you will be granted a Provisional Registration, which legally authorizes you to practise audiology or speech-language pathology in New Brunswick while completing the remaining requirements for a Practising Registration.”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/canadian-accredited-programs -
After approval of registration you must register for the next available sitting of the CETP exam.
Source
“Upon approval of registration, you will be granted a Provisional Registration and must register for the next available CETP exam sitting.”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/canadian-accredited-programs -
You must pass the CETP Examination, and you must write it at the first available sitting with a maximum of three consecutive attempts.
Source
“Important: You must write the CETP exam at the first available sitting. Failure to pass the exam within three consecutive attempts will result in the revocation of your registration.”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/canadian-accredited-programs -
You must successfully complete the required mentorship program while practising under your Provisional Registration.
Source
“You may continue practising under your Provisional Registration while working toward successful completion of the exam and mentorship requirements.”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/canadian-accredited-programs -
After passing the exam and completing the mentorship program you obtain Practising Registration.
Source
“To obtain a Practising Registration, you must: - Pass the CETP Examination; and - Successfully complete the required mentorship program.”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/canadian-accredited-programs
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with RCASLPNB
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual Registration Fee: $850 (payable upon approval of registration)
Source
“Annual Registration Fee | $850 | Upon approval of registration”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/international-non-accredited-canadian... - Reduced Annual Registration Fee (after August 31): $425 (for registrations approved after August 31)
Source
“Reduced Annual Registration Fee (after August 31) | $425 | Upon approval of registration”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/international-non-accredited-canadian...
Licensed in another province
0 of 4 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $850 (payable upon approval of registration), $425 (for registrations approved after August 31)
- Listed time: 0.5 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
-
You apply for registration in a comparable registration category, and the review begins once all required documents are received and the application processing fee has been paid.
- Application Processing Fee: $200 (when application is submitted)
Source
“Application Processing Fee | $200 | When application is submitted”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/professionals-from-other-regulated-pr...
Source
“Applicants must be seeking registration in a comparable registration category to that held in their current jurisdiction.”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/professionals-from-other-regulated-pr... - Application Processing Fee: $200 (when application is submitted)
-
Source
“Provide proof of current personal Professional Liability Insurance (PLI) with a minimum coverage amount of $2,000,000.”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/professionals-from-other-regulated-pr... -
Once your application is complete, the College reviews it and issues a written decision with reasons within two weeks.
Time: 2 weeksTime source
“Once your application is complete, RCASLPNB will review your application and issue a written decision, including reasons, within 2 weeks.”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/professionals-from-other-regulated-pr...Source
“Once your application is complete, RCASLPNB will review your application and issue a written decision, including reasons, within 2 weeks.”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/professionals-from-other-regulated-pr... -
If you are a new graduate who has not practised in a regulated jurisdiction for at least one year, you must meet the Canadian Entry-to-Practice examination requirement and complete the Mentorship Program as conditions of registration.
Source
“Applicants who are new graduates and have not practised their profession in a regulated jurisdiction for a minimum of one (1) year are required to meet the Canadian Entry-to-Practice examination requirement and complete the Mentorship Program as conditions of registration.”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/professionals-from-other-regulated-pr...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual Registration Fee: $850 (payable upon approval of registration)
Source
“Annual Registration Fee | $850 | Upon approval of registration”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/international-non-accredited-canadian... - Reduced Annual Registration Fee (after August 31): $425 (for registrations approved after August 31)
Source
“Reduced Annual Registration Fee (after August 31) | $425 | Upon approval of registration”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/international-non-accredited-canadian...
Trained outside Canada
0 of 5 done
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $850 (payable upon approval of registration), $425 (for registrations approved after August 31)
-
The College assesses your education, clinical training, language proficiency, and professional background to determine whether you meet the requirements for registration.
Source
“RCASLPNB will assess your education, clinical training, language proficiency, and professional background to determine whether you meet the requirements for registration in New Brunswick.”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/international-non-accredited-canadian... -
If your Eligibility Review is approved, you are granted a Provisional Registration that temporarily authorizes you to practise while completing the remaining requirements.
Source
“Applicants whose Eligibility Review is approved will be granted a Provisional Registration. A Provisional Registration legally authorizes you to practise audiology or speech-language pathology in New Brunswick temporarily while completing the remaining registration requirements.”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/international-non-accredited-canadian... -
Source
“Provide proof of current professional liability insurance with a minimum coverage amount of $2,000,000.”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/international-non-accredited-canadian... -
As a provisional registrant you must achieve a passing score on the exam within three consecutive attempts or your registration will be revoked.
Source
“Provisional registrants who do not achieve a passing score within three consecutive exam attempts will have their registration revoked and will no longer be authorized to practise or represent themselves as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist in New Brunswick.”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/international-non-accredited-canadian... -
After completing the remaining registration requirements you obtain Practising Registration.
Source
“Step 3: Practising Registration”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/international-non-accredited-canadian...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with RCASLPNB
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual Registration Fee: $850 (payable upon approval of registration)
Source
“Annual Registration Fee | $850 | Upon approval of registration”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/international-non-accredited-canadian... - Reduced Annual Registration Fee (after August 31): $425 (for registrations approved after August 31)
Source
“Reduced Annual Registration Fee (after August 31) | $425 | Upon approval of registration”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/international-non-accredited-canadian...
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Registration Activation Fee: $300 (payable upon approval of registration)
Source
“Registration Activation Fee | $300 | Upon approval of registration”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/international-non-accredited-canadian... - Application Fee (Cross-Provincial Practice courtesy registration): $50
Source
“Application Fee – $50 (non-refundable)”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/courtesy-registration/courtesy-regist... - Registration Fee (Cross-Provincial Practice courtesy registration): $150 (non-refundable, only if application approved)
Source
“Registration Fee – $150 (non-refundable, only if application approved)”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/courtesy-registration/courtesy-regist... - Monthly registration fee (Visiting Clinician): $90 (for visiting clinician registration, per month for the registration duration)
Source
“Non-refundable monthly registration fee: $90.00 per month for the registration duration”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/courtesy-registration/courtesy-regist... - Late fee: $300 (if renewal is not completed by December 1st due to incomplete CEEs)
Source
“Please note that if your renewal is not completed by December 1st due to incomplete CEEs, you will be required to pay a $300 late fee.”
rcaslpnb.ca/registrants/quality-assurance
Requirements
Education
Audiologists must meet the minimum educational requirement of a master's degree or substantial equivalent to be registered with RCASLPNB to practise in New Brunswick.
Source
“Audiologists must meet the minimum educational requirement of a master's degree or substantial equivalent to be registered with RCASLPNB to practice in New Brunswick.”
rcaslpnb.ca/update-on-over-the-counter-otc-hearing-aids
Other
References must be from individuals who have known the applicant for at least two years and be dated within 60 days of the application.
Source
“References must: - Be from individuals who have known you for at least two years; and - Be dated within 60 days of your application.”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/canadian-accredited-programsApplicants without a Canadian work permit must declare that they will not practise or accept employment in Canada unless legally authorized to work in Canada.
Source
“As part of the application process, you must declare that you will not practise or accept employment in Canada as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist unless you are legally authorized to work in Canada.”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/international-non-accredited-canadian...As a condition of annual renewal, practising and provisional registrants must demonstrate at least 450 currency hours of practice within the three years preceding the renewal.
Source
“As a condition of annual registration renewal, practising and provisional registrants must demonstrate that, within the three (3) years immediately preceding the registration year for which renewal is sought, they have either:<br><ul><br><li>accumulated a minimum of 450 currency hours; or”
rcaslpnb.ca/registrants/quality-assurance
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Applicants already registered in another Canadian jurisdiction who have practised for one year or more are generally not required to take the CETP exam and can register under labour mobility provisions. Source
“If you are applying under labour mobility provisions and have been practising for one year or more in the jurisdiction where you are currently registered and employed, you will generally not be required to take the Canadian Entry-to-Practice (CETP) Exam.”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/professionals-from-other-regulated-pr...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with RCASLPNB
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with RCASLPNB
Exams
-
Canadian Entry-To-Practice (CETP) exam
Source
“Do I need to pass the Canadian Entry-To-Practice (CETP) exam before being able to practise in New Brunswick?”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/canadian-accredited-programs -
Jurisprudence Knowledge Examination
Source
“You may apply for practising registration if you meet the requirements, including completing the Jurisprudence Knowledge Examination, providing proof of personal professional liability insurance ($2,000,000 coverage), and meeting Quality Assurance Program requirements, where necessary.”
rcaslpnb.ca/registration/renewal -
Approved Entry-to-Practice Examination
Source
“You must first obtain Provisional Registration and successfully complete the Mentorship Program, any other conditions determined by the Registrar, and pass the Approved Entry-to-Practice Examination within three consecutive attempts or less before practising registration may be granted.”
rcaslpnb.ca/registration/renewal
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with RCASLPNB
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with RCASLPNB
Supervised practice
Required
Applicants must complete a required mentorship program before obtaining Practising Registration. Source
“To obtain a Practising Registration, you must: - Pass the CETP Examination; and - Successfully complete the required mentorship program.”
rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/canadian-accredited-programs
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Brunswick | $34.71 | $47.14 | $55.02 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $33.33 | $46.15 | $59.52 | — |
Audiologists and speech-language pathologists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare audiologist and speech-language pathologist licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Graduates of Accredited Canadian Programs - RCASLPNB rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/canadian-accredited-programs · fetched October 10, 2026
- Professionals from Other Regulated Provinces (Labour Mobility) - RCASLPNB rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/professionals-from-other-regulated-pr... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Graduates of International and Non-Accredited Canadian Programs - RCASLPNB rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/international-non-accredited-canadian... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Update on Over-the-Counter (OTC) Hearing Aids - RCASLPNB rcaslpnb.ca/update-on-over-the-counter-otc-hearing-aids · fetched October 10, 2026
- Quality Assurance - RCASLPNB rcaslpnb.ca/registrants/quality-assurance · fetched October 10, 2026
- Courtesy Registration - RCASLPNB rcaslpnb.ca/apply-to-rcaslpnb/courtesy-registration/courtesy-regist... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Renewal - RCASLPNB rcaslpnb.ca/registration/renewal · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an audiologist and speech-language pathologist in New Brunswick?
Yes. Registration with the Regulatory College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of New Brunswick is required to practise in New Brunswick, and to use the title audiologist or speech-language pathologist.
Which exams are required?
Canadian Entry-To-Practice (CETP) exam, Jurisprudence Knowledge Examination, Approved Entry-to-Practice Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.