How to Become an Audiologist and Speech-language Pathologist in Quebec
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with Ordre des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec to work as an audiologist and speech-language pathologist in Quebec or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Speech-Language Pathologist
Show the source
“This means that no one may use the title “speech-language pathologist” or lead anyone to believe that they are a speech-language pathologist if they do not hold a valid permit and if they are not registered on the membership roll of the Ordre des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec.”
From ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/orthophoniste/becoming-speech-language-pathologist, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps, listed one-time fees $189.71 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 6 steps, listed one-time fees $111.53 (2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total)
- Trained outside Canada: 6 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Ordre des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- Listed one-time fees: $189.71
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.5 months (only 1 of 6 steps state a time)
-
The applicant applies for a permit through the OOAQ Portal, logging in with their trainee credentials if already listed in the register of trainees.
- Application fee: $189.71
Source
“The application fee is $189.71 (taxes included). This fee is non-refundable.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/last5yea...
Source
“You can apply for a permit by accessing the Portail OOAQ.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/last5yea... - Application fee: $189.71
-
The applicant arranges for the university department chair to send the Order a certified copy of the diploma or an attestation of successful completion.
Source
“A certified copy of your diploma or an attestation of successful completion. This documentation will be issued by the department chair of the university program where you received your training.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/last5yea... -
The applicant includes an attestation and proof of knowledge of French as required by section 35 of the Charter of the French Language, or may be eligible for a temporary permit if they cannot.
Source
“An attestation of knowledge of the French language. Once you complete your attestation of knowledge of the French language, you must also include proof of knowledge of the French language, as set out in section 35 of the Charter of the French Language.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/last5yea... -
The applicant completes online training about the Quebec professional system and the healthcare and education systems, registering once all required documents have been received.
Source
“Proof of successful completion of online training related to the functioning of the Quebec professional system and the healthcare and education systems. (You will receive instructions to register for this training once all the documentation required to process your application has been received).”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/last5yea... -
Time: 15 days
Time source
“You will receive a copy of the Board’s decision, within 15 days following the date on which it is rendered”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/last5yea...Source
“When your application is complete, it will be submitted to the Board of Directors.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/last5yea... -
After the permit application is accepted, the applicant registers on the membership roll by paying membership dues and professional liability insurance, renewed annually.
- Admission fee: $250.65 (when you register for the first time)
Source
“Please note that when you register for the first time, an admission fee of $250.65 (taxes included) will be charged.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/last5yea...
Source
“Registration on the membership roll takes place via payment of membership dues and professional liability insurance and must be renewed annually.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/last5yea... - Admission fee: $250.65 (when you register for the first time)
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $189.71
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $189.71 | 100% |
| One-time total | $189.71 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 6 done
- Listed one-time fees: $111.53
- 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 1 month (only 1 of 6 steps state a time)
-
The applicant applies for a permit and pays the application fee, which is non-refundable.
- Application fee: $111.53
Source
“The application fee is $111.53 (taxes included). This fee is non-refundable.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/permits-...
Source
“The application fee is $111.53 (taxes included). This fee is non-refundable.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/permits-... - Application fee: $111.53
-
The applicant's provincial regulatory body must email the Order proof that they hold legal authorization to practice without restriction or limitation.
Source
“Proof that you hold legal authorization to practice, as well as proof that such legal authorization is not subject to any restriction or limitation (*verification of registration *form). Such proof must be emailed directly by your provincial regulatory body to the Order”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/permits-... -
The applicant completes an attestation of knowledge of French and includes proof of French knowledge under section 35 of the Charter of the French Language, or may be eligible for a temporary permit.
Source
“Attestation of knowledge of the French language. Once you complete your attestation of knowledge of the French language, you must also include proof of knowledge of the French language, as set out in section 35 of the Charter of the French Language.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/permits-... -
The applicant completes online training about the Quebec professional system and the healthcare and education systems, registering once all required documents have been received.
Source
“Proof of successful completion of online training related to the functioning of the Quebec professional system and the healthcare and education systems. (You will receive instructions to register for this training once all the documentation required to process your application has been received).”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/permits-... -
The Order processes complete admission applications from candidates authorized in another Canadian province within a maximum of 30 days.
Time: 30 daysTime source
“The Order is committed to processing complete admission applications from candidates who hold a legal authorization to practice in another Canadian province within a maximum of 30 days.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/permits-...Source
“The Order is committed to processing complete admission applications from candidates who hold a legal authorization to practice in another Canadian province within a maximum of 30 days.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/permits-... -
After the permit application is accepted, the applicant registers on the membership roll by paying membership dues and professional liability insurance, renewed annually.
- Admission fee: $250.65 (when you register for the first time)
Source
“Please note that when you register for the first time, an admission fee of $250.65 (taxes included) will be charged.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/permits-... - Administrative fee for temporary regular permit: $78.18 (for the issuance of a temporary regular permit)
Source
“A single administrative fee of $78.18 (including taxes) also applies for the issuance of a temporary regular permit”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/permits-...
Source
“Registration on the membership roll takes place via payment of membership dues and professional liability insurance and must be renewed annually.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/permits-... - Admission fee: $250.65 (when you register for the first time)
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $111.53
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $111.53 | 100% |
| One-time total | $111.53 | 100% |
2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 6 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.5 months (only 1 of 6 steps state a time)
-
The applicant obtains the original Comparative Evaluation of Studies outside Quebec document from the Quebec immigration ministry, which may take several weeks.
Source
“The original document entitled Évaluation comparative des études effectuées hors du Québec (Comparative Evaluation of Studies outside Quebec) issued by the ministère de l’Immigration, de la Francisation et de l’Intégration du Québec.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-international/diplome-hors-canad... -
The applicant submits the Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology equivalency request form on the OOAQ Portal along with a certified true copy of the diploma, stamped transcripts, attestations of clinical practicum hours, and university course syllabi.
Source
“The Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology equivalency request form, on the OOAQ Portal.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-international/diplome-hors-canad... -
The applicant provides proof of knowledge of French as required by section 35 of the Charter of the French Language, or may be eligible for a temporary permit if they cannot.
Source
“Proof of knowledge of the French language, as set out in section 35 of the Charter of the French Language.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-international/diplome-hors-canad... -
The applicant completes online training about the Quebec professional system and the healthcare and education systems, registering once all required documents have been received.
Source
“Proof of successful completion of online training related to the functioning of the Quebec professional system and the healthcare and education systems. (You will receive instructions to register for this training once all the documentation required to process your application has been received.)”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-international/diplome-hors-canad... -
Time: 15 days
Time source
“The Board will contact you within 15 days following its decision.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-international/diplome-hors-canad...Source
“Committee members will issue recommendations to the Board of Directors, which will render a final decision regarding your equivalence.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-international/diplome-hors-canad... -
After the permit application is accepted, the applicant registers on the membership roll by paying membership dues and professional liability insurance, renewed annually.
- Admission fee: $250.65 (when you register for the first time)
Source
“Please note that when you register for the first time, an admission fee of $250.65 (taxes included) will be charged.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-international/diplome-hors-canad...
Source
“Once your application has been processed, you may register on the membership roll by paying the membership dues, professional liability insurance and contribution to the Office des professions.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-international/diplome-hors-canad... - Admission fee: $250.65 (when you register for the first time)
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Application fee (unaccredited program, graduated within last 5 years): $1,093.36
Source
“The application fee is $1093.36 (taxes included). This fee is non-refundable.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/last5yea... - Application fee (unaccredited program, graduated more than 5 years ago): $1,093.47
Source
“The application fee is $1093.47 (taxes included). This fee is non-refundable.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/more5yea...
Requirements
Education
Applicants must hold a graduate degree in Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology from an institution located outside Quebec to receive diploma equivalence.
Source
“The Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis par l’Ordre des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec stipulates that applicants with graduate degrees in Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology from an institution located outside Quebec may receive diploma equivalence.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-international/diplome-hors-canad...
Other
If the diploma was obtained more than 5 years before the equivalency application, applicants must demonstrate their level of competence.
Source
“However, if this diploma was obtained over 5 years before the equivalency application is submitted, applicants must demonstrate their level of competence.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-international/diplome-hors-canad...Applicants must provide proof of knowledge of the French language as set out in section 35 of the Charter of the French Language.
Source
“Proof of knowledge of the French language, as set out in section 35 of the Charter of the French Language.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-international/diplome-hors-canad...Applicants must successfully complete online training related to the functioning of the Quebec professional system and the healthcare and education systems.
Source
“Proof of successful completion of online training related to the functioning of the Quebec professional system and the healthcare and education systems.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-international/diplome-hors-canad...Applicants who do not hold a graduate degree but have related training and work experience may apply for training equivalence and must demonstrate equivalent skills.
Source
“applicants who do not hold a graduate degree but do have related training and work experience in the field of speech-language pathology or audiology may apply for training equivalence.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-international/equivalence-format...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
An applicant holding legal authorization to practice in another Canadian province can obtain a permit by providing proof of that authorization, French language proof, and completing online training, with no entry-to-practice exam or competence assessment mentioned. Source
“The Order is committed to processing complete admission applications from candidates who hold a legal authorization to practice in another Canadian province within a maximum of 30 days.”
ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/permits-...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Ordre des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Ordre des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with Ordre des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Ordre des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Ordre des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Ordre des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quebec | $34.00 | $41.00 | $51.50 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $33.33 | $46.15 | $59.52 | — |
Audiologists and speech-language pathologists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare audiologist and speech-language pathologist licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Becoming a Speech-Language Pathologist | OOAQ ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/orthophoniste/becoming-speech-language-pathologist · fetched October 10, 2026
- Applicant who graduated within the last 5 years from accredited training program in another canadian province | OOAQ ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/last5yea... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Permits From Other Canadian Provinces | OOAQ ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/permits-... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Applicants Who Graduated Outside Canada Within The Last 5 Years | OOAQ ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-international/diplome-hors-canad... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Training Equivalence | OOAQ ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-international/equivalence-format... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Applicant who graduated within the last 5 years from unaccredited training program in another canadian province | OOAQ ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/last5yea... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Applicant Who Graduated More Than 5 Years Ago From Unaccredited Training Program in Another Canadian Province | OOAQ ooaq.qc.ca/devenir/membre/candidat-canada/applicant-canada/more5yea... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as an audiologist and speech-language pathologist in Quebec?
Yes. Registration with Ordre des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec is required to practise in Quebec, and to use the title Speech-Language Pathologist.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.