At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $275
  • 2 steps without a listed fee
  • Listed time: 177.6 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
  1. The applicant obtains a job in the trade.

    Source
    “Apprenticeship — obtain employment and register as an apprentice, successfully complete all apprenticeship program requirements such as the on-the-job, technical training requirements and examinations to achieve a Diploma of Apprenticeship and Certificate of Qualification.”
    gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice...
  2. The applicant registers as an apprentice.

    Source
    “Apprenticeship — obtain employment and register as an apprentice, successfully complete all apprenticeship program requirements such as the on-the-job, technical training requirements and examinations to achieve a Diploma of Apprenticeship and Certificate of Qualification.”
    gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice...
  3. The applicant completes the on-the-job and technical training requirements and examinations of the apprenticeship program.

    Time: 5,400 days
    Time source
    “A New Brunswick Diploma of Apprenticeship and a Certificate of Qualification are awarded upon successful completion of 5,400 hours of on the job and technical training and the final examination.”
    gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...
    Source
    “Apprenticeship — obtain employment and register as an apprentice, successfully complete all apprenticeship program requirements such as the on-the-job, technical training requirements and examinations to achieve a Diploma of Apprenticeship and Certificate of Qualification.”
    gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice...
  4. The applicant passes the final examination to receive the Diploma of Apprenticeship and Certificate of Qualification.

    Source
    “A New Brunswick Diploma of Apprenticeship and a Certificate of Qualification are awarded upon successful completion of 5,400 hours of on the job and technical training and the final examination.”
    gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $275

One-time fees listed for Trained in Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Exams $250 91%
Registration $25 9%
One-time total $275 100%

2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. A tradesperson with a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification or Red Seal endorsement can work in New Brunswick using their existing credential.

    Source
    “Certified tradespeople Tradespeople with a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification (C of Q) or Red Seal endorsement can work in New Brunswick using their existing credential. They may also be able to supervise apprentices if program requirements are met.”
    gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $100
  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. The applicant gets a job in their trade and gains local experience.

    Source
    “Start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience then, contact Skilled Trades NB to see if you can challenge the certification exam or if the apprenticeship program is the better path for your success.”
    gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...
  2. The applicant contacts Skilled Trades NB to find out whether they can challenge the certification exam or whether the apprenticeship program is the better path.

    Source
    “Start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience then, contact Skilled Trades NB to see if you can challenge the certification exam or if the apprenticeship program is the better path for your success.”
    gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...
  3. The applicant's international education and work experience are reviewed to identify credit toward New Brunswick certification.

    Source
    “- Assessment of your experience: Your international education and work experience are reviewed to identify credit toward NB certification.”
    gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...
  4. The applicant develops and completes a personalized learning plan created with Skilled Trades NB and their employer to address differences in language, terminology, safety, and trade practices and standards.

    Source
    “- Personalized learning plan: Develop and complete a plan is created with Skilled Trades NB and your employer to address differences in language, terminology and safety and trade practices and standards.”
    gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...
  5. The applicant attends training or challenges the certification exam when ready.

    Source
    “- Training and certification exam: Attend training or challenge the exam when ready.”
    gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $100

One-time fees listed for Trained outside Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Assessment $100 100%
One-time total $100 100%

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Experience

  • A person who has gained the equivalent of 8,100 hours of practical experience in the landscape-horticulturist occupation may apply to challenge the examination.

    Source
    “A person who has gained the equivalent of 8,100 hours of practical experience in the landscape-horticulturist occupation may apply to challenge the examination. Successful candidates will receive a New Brunswick Certificate of Qualification.”
    gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

New Brunswick recognizes valid Red Seal endorsements, Certificates of Qualification, and other trade certificates issued by Canadian provinces and territories, so certified tradespeople can work in their trade without first obtaining a New Brunswick Certificate of Qualification.

Source
“New Brunswick recognizes valid Red Seal endorsements, Certificates of Qualification (C of Q), and other trade certificates issued by Canadian provinces and territories. This means certified tradespeople can move to New Brunswick and work in their trade without first obtaining a New Brunswick Certificate of Qualification (C of Q).”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in New Brunswick and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
New Brunswick $17.69 $24.00 $34.78 Undetermined
Canada $21.00 $30.00 $40.87 —

Wages by region and job outlook in New Brunswick

Wages in every province and territory

Landscape horticulturists in other provinces and territories

Compare landscape horticulturist licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. List of designated occupations - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated... · fetched October 11, 2026
  2. The apprenticeship and occupational certification program - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... · fetched October 11, 2026
  3. Fees and forms - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... · fetched October 11, 2026
  4. Internationally and nationally trained or certified trades people - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... · fetched October 11, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a landscape horticulturist in New Brunswick?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in New Brunswick. Certification is managed by the New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour.

Which exams are required?

Certification Exam, final examination, Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.