Province comparison
Landscape Horticulturist Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Voluntary certification
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Voluntary certification
- Alberta: Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan: Voluntary certification
- Manitoba: Voluntary certification
- Ontario: Voluntary certification
- Quebec: Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick: Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia: Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island: Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Voluntary certification
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $120 | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| Alberta | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 5 |
| Saskatchewan | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 2 |
| Manitoba | $200 | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| Ontario | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 6 |
| Quebec | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 6 |
| New Brunswick | $100 | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| Nova Scotia | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 1 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not listed | — | — |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Newfoundland and Labrador.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification exam, Practical assessment, Red Seal exam | — | $120 (Trained outside Canada) | 26.3 to 26.8 months (partial) | $25.00 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | Entrance exam, Theory exam, Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | 48 months (partial) | $23.00 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada | interprovincial journeyperson examination | — | Not listed | — | $24.28 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification (final) exam, Red Seal exam, Level Placement Exam | — | $200 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $21.50 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | Certifying exam, Red Seal exam, In-school exemption test | — | Not listed | — | $31.05 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Quebec | Trained in Canada | Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | — | $27.00 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification Exam, final examination, Red Seal exam | — | $100 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $24.00 an hour | Undetermined |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Red Seal exam, trade qualifier exam | — | Not listed | — | $24.89 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | — | certification exam, Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | — | $26.28 an hour | Undetermined |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (27)
- Extra steps (9)
- Not stated (54)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $21.00 | $30.00 | $40.87 |
| British Columbia | $20.00 | $25.00 | $33.00 |
| Alberta | $18.00 | $23.00 | $32.00 |
| Saskatchewan | $15.35 | $24.28 | $36.19 |
| Manitoba | $18.00 | $21.50 | $27.00 |
| Ontario | $22.00 | $31.05 | $42.82 |
| Quebec | $20.00 | $27.00 | $38.00 |
| New Brunswick | $17.69 | $24.00 | $34.78 |
| Nova Scotia | $18.09 | $24.89 | $37.56 |
| Prince Edward Island | $20.02 | $26.11 | $36.13 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $20.97 | $26.28 | $40.86 |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Alberta | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Ontario | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Quebec | Limited (2 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Outlook not determined |
| Nova Scotia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Outlook not determined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Outlook not determined |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.