Licence status by province and territory

Where insulators (heat and frost) need certification
  • Certification required
  • Voluntary certification
Insulator (heat and frost): licence status, regulator and guide in each jurisdiction
WhereLicence statusRegulatorGuide
British Columbia Voluntary certification SkilledTradesBC Read the guide for British Columbia
Alberta Voluntary certification Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training Read the guide for Alberta
Saskatchewan Voluntary certification Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission Read the guide for Saskatchewan
Manitoba Voluntary certification Apprenticeship Manitoba Read the guide for Manitoba
Ontario Voluntary certification Skilled Trades Ontario Read the guide for Ontario
Quebec Certification required Commission de la construction du Québec Read the guide for Quebec
New Brunswick Voluntary certification New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour Read the guide for New Brunswick
Nova Scotia Voluntary certification Nova Scotia Apprenticeship Agency Read the guide for Nova Scotia
Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification Apprenticeship Section Read the guide for Prince Edward Island
Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification Apprenticeship and Trades Certification Division Read the guide for Newfoundland and Labrador
Yukon Voluntary certification Apprenticeship Training Read the guide for Yukon
Northwest Territories Voluntary certification Apprenticeship, Trades and Occupations Read the guide for Northwest Territories
Nunavut Voluntary certification Apprenticeship, Trade and Occupations Certification Read the guide for Nunavut

Compare the provinces

Listed one-time fees

Listed one-time fees for insulators (heat and frost) by province and territoryListed fees in British Columbia: $120, for people trained outside Canada. Listed fees in Alberta: not listed. Listed fees in Saskatchewan: not listed. Listed fees in Manitoba: not listed. Listed fees in Ontario: not listed. Listed fees in Quebec: not listed. Listed fees in New Brunswick: $100, for people trained outside Canada. Listed fees in Nova Scotia: not listed. Listed fees in Prince Edward Island: not listed. Listed fees in Newfoundland and Labrador: not listed. Listed fees in Yukon: not listed. Listed fees in Northwest Territories: not listed.$0$50$100$150Listed fees in British Columbia: $120, for people trained outside CanadaBritish Columbia$120Listed fees in Alberta: not listedAlbertaNot listedListed fees in Saskatchewan: not listedSaskatchewanNot listedListed fees in Manitoba: not listedManitobaNot listedListed fees in Ontario: not listedOntarioNot listedListed fees in Quebec: not listedQuebecNot listedListed fees in New Brunswick: $100, for people trained outside CanadaNew Brunswick$100Listed fees in Nova Scotia: not listedNova ScotiaNot listedListed fees in Prince Edward Island: not listedPrince Edward IslandNot listedListed fees in Newfoundland and Labrador: not listedNewfoundland and LabradorNot listedListed fees in Yukon: not listedYukonNot listedListed fees in Northwest Territories: not listedNorthwest TerritoriesNot listed
The fees the regulator lists for the steps of one route, added up in Canadian dollars. Fees that depend on your situation and annual fees are not included. Not listed: the guide lists no fee for that route. No-fee steps: steps of that route with no listed fee.
Listed one-time fees for insulators (heat and frost) by province and territory (table)
WhereFeesRouteNo-fee steps
British Columbia$120Trained outside Canada6
AlbertaNot listedTrained in Canada5
SaskatchewanNot listedTrained in Canada4
ManitobaNot listedTrained outside Canada5
OntarioNot listedTrained in Canada6
QuebecNot listedTrained outside Canada1
New Brunswick$100Trained outside Canada4
Nova ScotiaNot listedTrained outside Canada2
Prince Edward IslandNot listedLicensed in another province2
Newfoundland and LabradorNot listed——
YukonNot listedTrained in Canada4
Northwest TerritoriesNot listed——

Listed time

Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador, Yukon, and Northwest Territories.

Side by side

Routes, exams, language, listed fees and time, median wage and outlook in each province or territory with a full guide
WhereRoutesExamsLanguage Listed feesListed timeMedian wageOutlook
British Columbia Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada Certification exam, Practical assessment — $120 (Trained outside Canada) 1.8 to 2.3 months (partial) $32.50 an hour Very limited (1 of 5)
Alberta Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province Theory exam, Red Seal exam, Practical exam — Not listed — $40.00 an hour Limited (2 of 5)
Saskatchewan Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province journeyperson examination, certification examination, Red Seal exam — Not listed — $39.19 an hour Moderate (3 of 5)
Manitoba Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada Level Placement Exam — Not listed — $30.00 an hour Limited (2 of 5)
Ontario Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province certifying exam, in-school exemption test — Not listed — $35.00 an hour Moderate (3 of 5)
Quebec Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada Provincial qualification examination — Not listed — $43.00 an hour Very limited (1 of 5)
New Brunswick Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada Certification examination, Red Seal exam — $100 (Trained outside Canada) — $30.65 an hour Moderate (3 of 5)
Nova Scotia Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada Red Seal exam, trade qualifier exam — Not listed — $36.24 an hour Good (4 of 5)
Prince Edward Island Licensed in another province Red Seal exam — Not listed — — Undetermined
Newfoundland and Labrador — certification examination, Red Seal exam, certification exam — Not listed — $40.36 an hour Moderate (3 of 5)
Yukon Trained in Canada Apprenticeship level 1 exam, Journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam, Written level examinations, Written certification examination — Not listed — — Undetermined
Northwest Territories — Written Level Examinations, Written Certification Examination — Not listed — — Undetermined

Moving between provinces

Insulator (heat and frost): moving a licence between provinces and territories
  • Direct transfer (72)
  • Extra steps (12)
  • Not stated (72)
All answers as a table
Insulator (heat and frost): moving a licence between provinces and territories. Rows: licensed in; columns: moving to.
Licensed in / moving toBritish ColumbiaAlbertaSaskatchewanManitobaOntarioQuebecNew BrunswickNova ScotiaPrince Edward IslandNewfoundland and LabradorYukonNorthwest TerritoriesNunavut
British ColumbiaSame placeDirect transfer, British Columbia to AlbertaNot stated, British Columbia to SaskatchewanDirect transfer, British Columbia to ManitobaExtra steps, British Columbia to OntarioDirect transfer, British Columbia to QuebecDirect transfer, British Columbia to New BrunswickNot stated, British Columbia to Nova ScotiaNot stated, British Columbia to Prince Edward IslandDirect transfer, British Columbia to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, British Columbia to YukonNot stated, British Columbia to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, British Columbia to Nunavut
AlbertaDirect transfer, Alberta to British ColumbiaSame placeNot stated, Alberta to SaskatchewanDirect transfer, Alberta to ManitobaExtra steps, Alberta to OntarioDirect transfer, Alberta to QuebecDirect transfer, Alberta to New BrunswickNot stated, Alberta to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Alberta to Prince Edward IslandDirect transfer, Alberta to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Alberta to YukonNot stated, Alberta to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Alberta to Nunavut
SaskatchewanDirect transfer, Saskatchewan to British ColumbiaDirect transfer, Saskatchewan to AlbertaSame placeDirect transfer, Saskatchewan to ManitobaExtra steps, Saskatchewan to OntarioDirect transfer, Saskatchewan to QuebecDirect transfer, Saskatchewan to New BrunswickNot stated, Saskatchewan to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Saskatchewan to Prince Edward IslandDirect transfer, Saskatchewan to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Saskatchewan to YukonNot stated, Saskatchewan to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Saskatchewan to Nunavut
ManitobaDirect transfer, Manitoba to British ColumbiaDirect transfer, Manitoba to AlbertaNot stated, Manitoba to SaskatchewanSame placeExtra steps, Manitoba to OntarioDirect transfer, Manitoba to QuebecDirect transfer, Manitoba to New BrunswickNot stated, Manitoba to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Manitoba to Prince Edward IslandDirect transfer, Manitoba to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Manitoba to YukonNot stated, Manitoba to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Manitoba to Nunavut
OntarioDirect transfer, Ontario to British ColumbiaDirect transfer, Ontario to AlbertaNot stated, Ontario to SaskatchewanDirect transfer, Ontario to ManitobaSame placeDirect transfer, Ontario to QuebecDirect transfer, Ontario to New BrunswickNot stated, Ontario to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Ontario to Prince Edward IslandDirect transfer, Ontario to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Ontario to YukonNot stated, Ontario to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Ontario to Nunavut
QuebecDirect transfer, Quebec to British ColumbiaDirect transfer, Quebec to AlbertaNot stated, Quebec to SaskatchewanDirect transfer, Quebec to ManitobaExtra steps, Quebec to OntarioSame placeDirect transfer, Quebec to New BrunswickNot stated, Quebec to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Quebec to Prince Edward IslandDirect transfer, Quebec to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Quebec to YukonNot stated, Quebec to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Quebec to Nunavut
New BrunswickDirect transfer, New Brunswick to British ColumbiaDirect transfer, New Brunswick to AlbertaNot stated, New Brunswick to SaskatchewanDirect transfer, New Brunswick to ManitobaExtra steps, New Brunswick to OntarioDirect transfer, New Brunswick to QuebecSame placeNot stated, New Brunswick to Nova ScotiaNot stated, New Brunswick to Prince Edward IslandDirect transfer, New Brunswick to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, New Brunswick to YukonNot stated, New Brunswick to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, New Brunswick to Nunavut
Nova ScotiaDirect transfer, Nova Scotia to British ColumbiaDirect transfer, Nova Scotia to AlbertaNot stated, Nova Scotia to SaskatchewanDirect transfer, Nova Scotia to ManitobaExtra steps, Nova Scotia to OntarioDirect transfer, Nova Scotia to QuebecDirect transfer, Nova Scotia to New BrunswickSame placeNot stated, Nova Scotia to Prince Edward IslandDirect transfer, Nova Scotia to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Nova Scotia to YukonNot stated, Nova Scotia to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Nova Scotia to Nunavut
Prince Edward IslandDirect transfer, Prince Edward Island to British ColumbiaDirect transfer, Prince Edward Island to AlbertaNot stated, Prince Edward Island to SaskatchewanDirect transfer, Prince Edward Island to ManitobaExtra steps, Prince Edward Island to OntarioDirect transfer, Prince Edward Island to QuebecDirect transfer, Prince Edward Island to New BrunswickNot stated, Prince Edward Island to Nova ScotiaSame placeDirect transfer, Prince Edward Island to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Prince Edward Island to YukonNot stated, Prince Edward Island to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Prince Edward Island to Nunavut
Newfoundland and LabradorDirect transfer, Newfoundland and Labrador to British ColumbiaDirect transfer, Newfoundland and Labrador to AlbertaNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to SaskatchewanDirect transfer, Newfoundland and Labrador to ManitobaExtra steps, Newfoundland and Labrador to OntarioDirect transfer, Newfoundland and Labrador to QuebecDirect transfer, Newfoundland and Labrador to New BrunswickNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to Prince Edward IslandSame placeNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to YukonNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to Nunavut
YukonDirect transfer, Yukon to British ColumbiaDirect transfer, Yukon to AlbertaNot stated, Yukon to SaskatchewanDirect transfer, Yukon to ManitobaExtra steps, Yukon to OntarioDirect transfer, Yukon to QuebecDirect transfer, Yukon to New BrunswickNot stated, Yukon to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Yukon to Prince Edward IslandDirect transfer, Yukon to Newfoundland and LabradorSame placeNot stated, Yukon to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Yukon to Nunavut
Northwest TerritoriesDirect transfer, Northwest Territories to British ColumbiaDirect transfer, Northwest Territories to AlbertaNot stated, Northwest Territories to SaskatchewanDirect transfer, Northwest Territories to ManitobaExtra steps, Northwest Territories to OntarioDirect transfer, Northwest Territories to QuebecDirect transfer, Northwest Territories to New BrunswickNot stated, Northwest Territories to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Northwest Territories to Prince Edward IslandDirect transfer, Northwest Territories to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Northwest Territories to YukonSame placeNot stated, Northwest Territories to Nunavut
NunavutDirect transfer, Nunavut to British ColumbiaDirect transfer, Nunavut to AlbertaNot stated, Nunavut to SaskatchewanDirect transfer, Nunavut to ManitobaExtra steps, Nunavut to OntarioDirect transfer, Nunavut to QuebecDirect transfer, Nunavut to New BrunswickNot stated, Nunavut to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Nunavut to Prince Edward IslandDirect transfer, Nunavut to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Nunavut to YukonNot stated, Nunavut to Northwest TerritoriesSame place

Check one move in the licence transfer checker

Demand and pay

Median wage

Median hourly wage for insulators (heat and frost) by province and territoryCanada: $37.61 (low $23.00, high $48.65). British Columbia: $32.50 (low $23.82, high $45.99). Alberta: $40.00 (low $24.00, high $50.00). Saskatchewan: $39.19 (low $21.75, high $47.06). Manitoba: $30.00 (low $20.00, high $36.42). Ontario: $35.00 (low $22.00, high $48.88). Quebec: $43.00 (low $26.33, high $46.92). New Brunswick: $30.65 (low $20.00, high $40.88). Nova Scotia: $36.24 (low $20.00, high $46.27). Prince Edward Island: not stated. Newfoundland and Labrador: $40.36 (low $25.00, high $51.00). Yukon: not stated. Northwest Territories: not stated. Nunavut: not stated.$0$20$40$60Canada: $37.61 (low $23.00, high $48.65)Canada$37.61British Columbia: $32.50 (low $23.82, high $45.99)British Columbia$32.50Alberta: $40.00 (low $24.00, high $50.00)Alberta$40.00Saskatchewan: $39.19 (low $21.75, high $47.06)Saskatchewan$39.19Manitoba: $30.00 (low $20.00, high $36.42)Manitoba$30.00Ontario: $35.00 (low $22.00, high $48.88)Ontario$35.00Quebec: $43.00 (low $26.33, high $46.92)Quebec$43.00New Brunswick: $30.65 (low $20.00, high $40.88)New Brunswick$30.65Nova Scotia: $36.24 (low $20.00, high $46.27)Nova Scotia$36.24Prince Edward Island: not statedPrince Edward IslandNot statedNewfoundland and Labrador: $40.36 (low $25.00, high $51.00)Newfoundland and Labrador$40.36Yukon: not statedYukonNot statedNorthwest Territories: not statedNorthwest TerritoriesNot statedNunavut: not statedNunavutNot stated
Bars show the median wage. Lines run from the low to the high wage, which are Job Bank’s 10th and 90th percentiles. Grey is all of Canada.
Median hourly wage for insulators (heat and frost) by province and territory (table)
WhereLowMedianHigh
Canada$23.00$37.61$48.65
British Columbia$23.82$32.50$45.99
Alberta$24.00$40.00$50.00
Saskatchewan$21.75$39.19$47.06
Manitoba$20.00$30.00$36.42
Ontario$22.00$35.00$48.88
Quebec$26.33$43.00$46.92
New Brunswick$20.00$30.65$40.88
Nova Scotia$20.00$36.24$46.27
Prince Edward IslandNot statedNot statedNot stated
Newfoundland and Labrador$25.00$40.36$51.00
YukonNot statedNot statedNot stated
Northwest TerritoriesNot statedNot statedNot stated
NunavutNot statedNot statedNot stated

Job outlook

Job outlook for insulators (heat and frost) by province and territory, 1 to 5British Columbia: Very limited (1 of 5). Alberta: Limited (2 of 5). Saskatchewan: Moderate (3 of 5). Manitoba: Limited (2 of 5). Ontario: Moderate (3 of 5). Quebec: Very limited (1 of 5). New Brunswick: Moderate (3 of 5). Nova Scotia: Good (4 of 5). Prince Edward Island: undetermined. Newfoundland and Labrador: Moderate (3 of 5). Yukon: undetermined. Northwest Territories: undetermined. Nunavut: undetermined.12345British Columbia: Very limited (1 of 5)British ColumbiaVery limitedAlberta: Limited (2 of 5)AlbertaLimitedSaskatchewan: Moderate (3 of 5)SaskatchewanModerateManitoba: Limited (2 of 5)ManitobaLimitedOntario: Moderate (3 of 5)OntarioModerateQuebec: Very limited (1 of 5)QuebecVery limitedNew Brunswick: Moderate (3 of 5)New BrunswickModerateNova Scotia: Good (4 of 5)Nova ScotiaGoodPrince Edward Island: undeterminedPrince Edward IslandUndeterminedNewfoundland and Labrador: Moderate (3 of 5)Newfoundland and LabradorModerateYukon: undeterminedYukonUndeterminedNorthwest Territories: undeterminedNorthwest TerritoriesUndeterminedNunavut: undeterminedNunavutUndetermined
1 is a very limited outlook and 5 a very good one.
Job outlook for insulators (heat and frost) by province and territory, 1 to 5 (table)
WhereOutlook
British ColumbiaVery limited (1 of 5)
AlbertaLimited (2 of 5)
SaskatchewanModerate (3 of 5)
ManitobaLimited (2 of 5)
OntarioModerate (3 of 5)
QuebecVery limited (1 of 5)
New BrunswickModerate (3 of 5)
Nova ScotiaGood (4 of 5)
Prince Edward IslandOutlook not determined
Newfoundland and LabradorModerate (3 of 5)
YukonOutlook not determined
Northwest TerritoriesOutlook not determined
NunavutOutlook not determined

Wages in every province and territory

Tools and tables

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.