How to Become an Insulator (heat and Frost) in Quebec
Do you need certification?
Certification required
Insulator (heat and frost) is a compulsory trade in Quebec. You need a certificate, or registration as an apprentice, to work in the trade.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“If they do not register, their work permit will be suspended.”
From ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Certification required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $100
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps, listed one-time fees $10
- Trained outside Canada: 1 step
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
The applicant completes their apprenticeship, or at least 85% of it, to become eligible for the provincial qualification examination.
Source
“Apprentices who have completed 85% of their apprenticeship. If desired, apprentices can decide to complete their apprenticeship 100 % before registering for the exam”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... -
The applicant contacts Customer Services to set the date and location of the examination and pays the registration fee by credit card, or writes a letter to a regional office with their client number and a cheque or money order.
- Exam registration fee: $100
Source
“They must pay the $100 registration fee with a credit card”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Source
“Contact Customer Services at 1 888 842-8282 to determine the date and location of their examination. They must pay the $100 registration fee with a credit card”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... - Exam registration fee: $100
-
The applicant takes the provincial qualification examination on the scheduled date.
Source
“The date and location of their examination will be sent to them by mail.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- Listed one-time fees: $10
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
The applicant submits the completed registration form with proof of residential address, an official identity document, and proof of qualification or apprentice card.
Source
“Attach the form Application for registration or modification of identification file or choice of union association, duly filled out”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-... -
The applicant proves they have passed the construction health and safety course or another course deemed equivalent under the agreement.
- Attestation of recognition of a health and safety equivalency: $10
Source
“Pay the $10 fee required for attestation of recognition of a health and safety equivalency (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Source
“Prove that you have passed the course Santé et sécurité générale sur les chantiers de construction or another course deemed equivalent under the agreement”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-... - Attestation of recognition of a health and safety equivalency: $10
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $10
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $10 | 100% |
| One-time total | $10 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Once the preliminary analysis is accepted and the applicant has arrived in Québec, they may apply to obtain an apprentice competency certificate from the CCQ.
Source
“After the preliminary analysis is accepted, you may apply to obtain an ACC from the CCQ. IMPORTANT: This application can be made only once you arrive in Québec, even if some steps have been initiated before you immigrate to Canada.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Registration and certificate issuance fee: $110
Source
“You must pay a fee of $110 (cheque, postal money order, credit card, debit card, or cash) with the registration application: $10 registration fee and $100 for training costs and issuance of the competency certificate.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/occu... - Application fee: $100
Source
“Payment of the $100 fee required (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge - Exemption application fee: $100
Source
“Pay the $100 fee required (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Requirements
Experience
Candidates must demonstrate, with supporting documents, that they have practised the trade and acquired experience in hours worked and, if applicable, in training credits at least equal to the total duration of the apprenticeship for the trade.
Source
“Candidates must demonstrate, with supporting documents, that they have practised a trade or specialty and acquired experience in hours worked and, if applicable, in training credits, at least equal to the total duration of the apprenticeship for the trade or specialty covered.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Holders of a certificate in a trade or occupation recognized under an intergovernmental agreement register with the CCQ to obtain a registration certificate based on their existing qualification. Source
“Holders of an Ontario certificate in a trade or occupation recognized under the agreement must register with the CCQ to obtain a registration certificate.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Exams
-
Provincial qualification examination
Source
“Apprentices are informed by the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) that they are eligible for the provincial qualification examination in their trade when they have completed 85% of their apprenticeship.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quebec | $26.33 | $43.00 | $46.92 | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| Canada | $23.00 | $37.61 | $48.65 | — |
Insulators (heat and frost) in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Eligibility ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Intergovernmental Agreements (ON, NB, NL) ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprentice ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Occupation ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/occu... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Red Seal ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an insulator (heat and frost) in Quebec?
Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Quebec. Certification is managed by the Commission de la construction du Québec.
Which exams are required?
Provincial qualification examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.