Licence status by province and territory

Where saw filers need certification
British Columbia: Voluntary certificationOntario: Voluntary certificationQuebec: Voluntary certification

Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.

  • Voluntary certification
  • Not confirmed yet
  • British Columbia: Voluntary certification
  • Alberta: Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan: Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba: Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario: Voluntary certification
  • Quebec: Voluntary certification
  • New Brunswick: Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia: Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon: Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
Saw filer: licence status, regulator and guide in each jurisdiction
WhereLicence statusRegulatorGuide
British Columbia Voluntary certification SkilledTradesBC Read the guide for British Columbia
Alberta Not confirmed yet — —
Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet — —
Manitoba Not confirmed yet — —
Ontario Voluntary certification Skilled Trades Ontario Read the guide for Ontario
Quebec Voluntary certification Centre administratif de la qualification professionnelle Read the guide for Quebec
New Brunswick Not confirmed yet — —
Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet — —
Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet — —
Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet — —
Yukon Not confirmed yet — —
Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet — —
Nunavut Not confirmed yet — —

Compare the provinces

Listed one-time fees

Listed one-time fees for saw filers by province and territoryListed fees in British Columbia: $120, for people trained outside Canada. Listed fees in Ontario: not listed.$0$50$100$150Listed fees in British Columbia: $120, for people trained outside CanadaBritish Columbia$120Listed fees in Ontario: not listedOntarioNot listed
The fees the regulator lists for the steps of one route, added up in Canadian dollars. Fees that depend on your situation and annual fees are not included. Not listed: the guide lists no fee for that route. No-fee steps: steps of that route with no listed fee.
Listed one-time fees for saw filers by province and territory (table)
WhereFeesRouteNo-fee steps
British Columbia$120Trained outside Canada5
OntarioNot listedTrained in Canada2

Listed time

Time not stated for every step: British Columbia and Ontario.

Side by side

Routes, exams, language, listed fees and time, median wage and outlook in each province or territory with a full guide
WhereRoutesExamsLanguage Listed feesListed timeMedian wageOutlook
British Columbia Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada certification exam, Certificate of Qualification (CofQ) Exam — $120 (Trained outside Canada) 25.8 to 26.3 months (partial) — —
Ontario Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province — — Not listed — — —

Moving between provinces

Saw filer: moving a licence between provinces and territories
  • Direct transfer (2)
  • Not stated (4)
All answers as a table
Saw filer: moving a licence between provinces and territories. Rows: licensed in; columns: moving to.
Licensed in / moving toBritish ColumbiaOntarioQuebec
British ColumbiaSame placeNot stated, British Columbia to OntarioNot stated, British Columbia to Quebec
OntarioDirect transfer, Ontario to British ColumbiaSame placeNot stated, Ontario to Quebec
QuebecDirect transfer, Quebec to British ColumbiaNot stated, Quebec to OntarioSame place

Check one move in the licence transfer checker

Tools and tables

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.