How to Become a Drywall Finisher and Plasterer in Ontario
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Drywall finisher and plasterer is a voluntary trade in Ontario. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Because this trade is non-compulsory, this certificate does not have to be renewed, and the information of individuals practicing this trade will not appear on the Skilled Trades Ontario Public Register.”
From skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/drywall-finisher-and-plas..., checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps
- Licensed in another province: 4 steps
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
-
The applicant begins an apprenticeship training program in the trade, which combines on-the-job and in-school training.
Source
“An apprenticeship training program consists of on-the-job and in-school training.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/drywall-finisher-and-plas... -
The apprentice completes 4,920 hours of on-the-job work experience as part of the apprenticeship.
Source
“has set the hours of apprenticeship training for the trade Drywall Finisher and Plasterer at 5,400 (approximately three years), which consists of 4,920 hours on the job work experience and 480 hours of in-school training.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/drywall-finisher-and-plas... -
Source
“has set the hours of apprenticeship training for the trade Drywall Finisher and Plasterer at 5,400 (approximately three years), which consists of 4,920 hours on the job work experience and 480 hours of in-school training.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/drywall-finisher-and-plas... -
After completing the apprenticeship program, Skilled Trades Ontario issues the apprentice a Certificate of Apprenticeship.
Source
“Upon completion of an apprenticeship program, Skilled Trades Ontario issues a Certificate of Apprenticeship.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/drywall-finisher-and-plas... -
The applicant passes the certifying exam for the trade.
Source
“This trade has a certifying exam. When the certifying exam is passed, Skilled Trades Ontario will issue a Certificate of Qualification in this trade.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/drywall-finisher-and-plas... -
Once the certifying exam is passed, Skilled Trades Ontario issues the applicant a Certificate of Qualification.
Source
“When the certifying exam is passed, Skilled Trades Ontario will issue a Certificate of Qualification in this trade.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/drywall-finisher-and-plas...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
The applicant finds a sponsor for their apprenticeship in Ontario.
-
The applicant applies for an apprenticeship program in Ontario.
Source
“Apply for an apprenticeship program in Ontario.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices -
On the application, the applicant checks off the section indicating they have completed training in another province.
Source
“On your application you will need to check off the section of the form that you have completed training in another province.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices -
After the application is submitted, Skilled Trades Ontario contacts the applicant to verify their out-of-province training.
Source
“Skilled Trades Ontario will contact you to verify your out-of-province training after you have submitted your application.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
No separate route for this group. Source
“Experienced workers who have not completed an Ontario apprenticeship but have equivalent qualifications or experience in their trade can use the Trade Equivalency Assessment Process.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/drywall-finisher...
Requirements
Education
The academic entry grade for the apprenticeship is Grade 10.
Source
“Academic entry grade Grade 10”
skilledtradesontario.ca/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/drywall-finisher...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages describe credit for registered apprentices moving from another province or territory, but do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory can register in Ontario. Source
“If you’re a registered apprentice in another province or territory, you may get credit for your training in Ontario.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
Exams
-
certifying exam
Source
“This trade has a certifying exam. When the certifying exam is passed, Skilled Trades Ontario will issue a Certificate of Qualification in this trade.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/drywall-finisher-and-plas...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | $24.00 | $35.48 | $48.73 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $23.00 | $33.00 | $43.75 | — |
Drywall finishers and plasterers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare drywall finisher and plasterer licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Drywall Finisher and Plasterer - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/drywall-finisher-and-plas... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Current apprentices - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices · fetched October 10, 2026
- Drywall Finisher and Plasterer (453A) skilledtradesontario.ca/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/drywall-finisher... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a drywall finisher and plasterer in Ontario?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Ontario. Certification is managed by Skilled Trades Ontario.
Which exams are required?
certifying exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.