How to Become a Drywall Finisher and Plasterer in Quebec
Do you need certification?
Certification required
Drywall finisher and plasterer is a compulsory trade in Quebec. You need a certificate, or registration as an apprentice, to work in the trade.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“The labour management by the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) is done through labour pools corresponding to the industry’s trades and occupations.”
From ccq.org/en/En-tete/qui-sommes-nous/mission, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Certification required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $100
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps, listed one-time fees $100
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $100
- Annual fees
-
- Certificate renewal fee: $100
Source
“Pay the required $100 fee, if applicable (cheque, postal money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
- Certificate renewal fee: $100
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $100
-
The applicant applies to the CCQ for an apprentice competency certificate by submitting the required form and supporting documents by mail or at a regional office.
Source
“The form Application for registration or modification of identification file or choice of union association and all copies of supporting documents required must be sent by mail to the following address”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
The applicant completes the apprenticeship in the trade, which is calculated in hours of work and training divided into periods of 2,000 hours each.
Source
“Apprenticeship in a trade in the construction industry is calculated in hours in the trade and in hours of training and upgrading. The duration of the apprenticeship is divided into apprenticeship periods of 2,000 hours each.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
The applicant registers for the provincial qualification examination by contacting Customer Services with payment of the $100 fee, or by letter with a cheque or money order.
- Exam registration fee: $100
Source
“They must pay the $100 registration fee with a credit card”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Source
“Contact Customer Services at 1 888 842-8282 to determine the date and location of their examination. They must pay the $100 registration fee with a credit card”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... - Exam registration fee: $100
-
The applicant takes and passes the provincial qualification examination in the trade.
Source
“Have passed the qualification examination”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp... -
Apprentice candidates who have passed the provincial qualification examination automatically obtain their competency certificate free of charge.
Source
“Apprentice candidates who have passed their provincial qualification examination automatically obtain their competency certificate free of charge.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Certificate renewal fee: $100
Source
“Pay the required $100 fee, if applicable (cheque, postal money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 1 step without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $100
-
The worker obtains the Red Seal endorsement in the trade through the Interprovincial Standards Red Seal Program.
Source
“The Interprovincial Standards Red Seal Program has designated a list of trades and occupations for which workers may obtain Red Seal endorsement.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge -
The worker applies for a competency certificate from the CCQ by mail or at a regional office, including the required forms, an official identity document, proof of the safety course, and payment of the $100 fee.
- Application fee: $100
Source
“Payment of the $100 fee required (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge
Source
“Payment of the $100 fee required (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge - Application fee: $100
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Certificate renewal fee: $100
Source
“Pay the required $100 fee, if applicable (cheque, postal money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $100
- Listed time: 0.7 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
-
The applicant sends the application for preliminary analysis form with all required documentation by email to the CCQ.
Time: 20 daysTime source
“The CCQ will send its decision to you by email about 20 working days after it receives the form, duly completed, and all the documents required.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr...Source
“The form Application for preliminary analysis – Recognition of work hours and training hours (international recruitment) for a trade (except crane operator) and all the documentation required must be sent”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
The applicant must be in Québec before applying for the apprentice competency certificate, even if earlier steps were started before immigrating.
Source
“IMPORTANT: This application can be made only once you arrive in Québec, even if some steps have been initiated before you immigrate to Canada.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
After the preliminary analysis is accepted, the applicant applies to the CCQ to obtain an apprentice competency certificate.
Source
“After the preliminary analysis is accepted, you may apply to obtain an ACC from the CCQ.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
The applicant completes the apprenticeship and registers for and passes the provincial qualification examination, paying the $100 registration fee.
- Exam registration fee: $100
Source
“They must pay the $100 registration fee with a credit card”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Source
“They must pay the $100 registration fee with a credit card”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... - Exam registration fee: $100
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Certificate renewal fee: $100
Source
“Pay the required $100 fee, if applicable (cheque, postal money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Journeyman certificate application fee: $100
Source
“Pay the required $100 fee to the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ), if applicable, by postal or bank money order, personal cheque, credit card, or debit card, or in cash if the application is presented at a CCQ Customer Services counter”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
Requirements
Experience
Candidates must demonstrate, with supporting documents, that they have practised the trade and acquired experience in hours worked and, if applicable, in training credits at least equal to the total duration of the apprenticeship for the trade.
Source
“Candidates must demonstrate, with supporting documents, that they have practised a trade or specialty and acquired experience in hours worked and, if applicable, in training credits, at least equal to the total duration of the apprenticeship for the trade or specialty covered.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Other
Applicants for a journeyman competency certificate must be at least 16 years old.
Source
“Be at least 16 years old”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...Applicants must have a social insurance number and provide their home address and a photocopy of an official document.
Source
“Have a social insurance number; Provide their home address; Provide a photocopy of an official document from among the following list”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...Apprentices may register for the examination once they have completed 85% of their apprenticeship.
Source
“Apprentices who have completed 85% of their apprenticeship.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Workers who have obtained the Red Seal endorsement have their skills in this trade recognized and may apply for a competency certificate from the CCQ without any additional examination or assessment. Source
“Workers who have obtained the Red Seal endorsement have their skills in this trade recognized and may apply for a competency certificate from the CCQ’s Customer Services by mail or by going to one of the regional offices.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge
Apply with Red Seal
Source
“Workers who have obtained the Red Seal endorsement have their skills in this trade recognized and may apply for a competency certificate from the CCQ’s Customer Services by mail or by going to one of the regional offices.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Exams
-
Provincial qualification examination
Source
“Apprentices are informed by the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) that they are eligible for the provincial qualification examination in their trade when they have completed 85% of their apprenticeship.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quebec | $25.00 | $38.00 | $43.34 | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| Canada | $23.00 | $33.00 | $43.75 | — |
Drywall finishers and plasterers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare drywall finisher and plasterer licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- A mission anchored in Québec law ccq.org/en/En-tete/qui-sommes-nous/mission · fetched October 9, 2026
- Eligibility ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprentice ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Journeyperson ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Red Seal ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a drywall finisher and plasterer in Quebec?
Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Quebec. Certification is managed by the Commission de la construction du Québec.
Which exams are required?
Provincial qualification examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.