How to Become a Medical Radiation Technologist in Ontario
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Medical Radiation and Imaging Technologists of Ontario to work as a medical radiation technologist in Ontario or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- medical radiation and imaging technologist
Show the source
“In order to practise medical radiation and imaging technology in Ontario, a medical radiation and imaging technologist must be registered with the CMRITO.”
From cmrito.org/applicants, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Trained outside Canada: 9 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
-
- Annual registration fee: $694.95
Source
“The annual registration fee is $694.95 ($615.00 + $79.95 HST).”
cmrito.org/applicants/application-and-registration-fees - Late penalty: $173.74 (if you do not pay your annual registration fee within 14 days after the due date)
Source
“If you do not pay your annual registration fee within 14 days after the due date (your birthday), your fee will be subject to a late penalty of $173.74 ($153.75 + $19.99 HST).”
cmrito.org/applicants/application-and-registration-fees - Late registration fee, including penalties: $868.69
Source
“Late registration fee, including penalties | $868.69<br> ($615.00 annual registration fee, $153.75 late fee, $99.94 HST)”
cmrito.org/applicants/application-and-registration-fees
- Annual registration fee: $694.95
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,563.64
-
Complete a CMRITO approved educational program in one or more of the specialties of medical radiation and imaging technology in Ontario.
Source
“a CMRITO approved educational program in one or more of the specialties of medical radiation and imaging technology in Ontario”
cmrito.org/applicants/ontario-graduates -
Write the Canadian Association of Medical Radiation Technologists or Sonography Canada examination after completing your program.
Source
“so that you can practise in Ontario in radiography, radiation therapy, nuclear medicine, magnetic resonance or diagnostic medical sonography as quickly as possible after you have completed your program and written the Canadian Association of Medical Radiation Technologists (CAMRT) or Sonography Canada examination.”
cmrito.org/applicants/ontario-graduates -
Prepare your application for registration with CMRITO using the Ontario Application Guide.
Source
“Use this guide to prepare your application for registration with CMRITO”
cmrito.org/applicants/ontario-graduates
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Medical Radiation and Imaging Technologists of Ontario
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,563.64 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- Annual registration fee: $694.95
Source
“The annual registration fee is $694.95 ($615.00 + $79.95 HST).”
cmrito.org/applicants/application-and-registration-fees - Late penalty: $173.74 (if you do not pay your annual registration fee within 14 days after the due date)
Source
“If you do not pay your annual registration fee within 14 days after the due date (your birthday), your fee will be subject to a late penalty of $173.74 ($153.75 + $19.99 HST).”
cmrito.org/applicants/application-and-registration-fees - Late registration fee, including penalties: $868.69
Source
“Late registration fee, including penalties | $868.69<br> ($615.00 annual registration fee, $153.75 late fee, $99.94 HST)”
cmrito.org/applicants/application-and-registration-fees
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,563.64
- Listed time: 6 months (only 1 of 3 steps state a time)
-
Submit an attestation to the CMRITO before providing professional services in Ontario.
Source
“have submitted the following to the CMRITO prior to providing professional services in Ontario: - an attestation - As of Right attestation form”
cmrito.org/applicants/practising-under-as-of-right -
Submit an application for registration with CMRITO as a Canadian labour mobility applicant.
- Application fee: $141.25 (for a certificate of registration for each specialty)
Source
“The application fee for a certificate of registration for each specialty is $141.25 ($125.00 + HST).”
cmrito.org/applicants/application-and-registration-fees
Source
“an application for registration with CMRITO for a Canadian labour mobility applicant”
cmrito.org/applicants/practising-under-as-of-right - Application fee: $141.25 (for a certificate of registration for each specialty)
-
Complete your registration requirements with the CMRITO, which you may do while practising in Ontario for up to six months under the As of Right provisions.
Time: 6 monthsTime source
“can practice for up to six months while completing their registration requirements with the CMRITO”
cmrito.org/applicants/practising-under-as-of-rightSource
“medical radiation and imaging technologists already registered in another regulated Canadian province, who meet the eligibility criteria, can practice for up to six months while completing their registration requirements with the CMRITO.”
cmrito.org/applicants/practising-under-as-of-right
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,563.64 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- Annual registration fee: $694.95
Source
“The annual registration fee is $694.95 ($615.00 + $79.95 HST).”
cmrito.org/applicants/application-and-registration-fees - Late penalty: $173.74 (if you do not pay your annual registration fee within 14 days after the due date)
Source
“If you do not pay your annual registration fee within 14 days after the due date (your birthday), your fee will be subject to a late penalty of $173.74 ($153.75 + $19.99 HST).”
cmrito.org/applicants/application-and-registration-fees - Late registration fee, including penalties: $868.69
Source
“Late registration fee, including penalties | $868.69<br> ($615.00 annual registration fee, $153.75 late fee, $99.94 HST)”
cmrito.org/applicants/application-and-registration-fees
Trained outside Canada
0 of 9 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 8 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,563.64
-
Review the information about the application process and the documents you need to provide in the application guide.
Source
“Review the information about the application process and documents you need to provide in the application guide”
cmrito.org/applicants/international-applicants -
Start your online application in the CMRITO application portal and create an online profile.
Source
“Start your online application in the CMRITO application portal and create an online profile”
cmrito.org/applicants/international-applicants -
Complete the legislation learning package, the Jurisprudence Course.
Source
“Complete the legislation learning package (Jurisprudence Course)”
cmrito.org/applicants/international-applicants -
Upload all the required documents.
-
Complete the CMRITO application form, pay the application fee and submit the application.
- Application fee: $141.25 (for a certificate of registration for each specialty)
Source
“The application fee for a certificate of registration for each specialty is $141.25 ($125.00 + HST).”
cmrito.org/applicants/application-and-registration-fees
Source
“Complete the CMRITO application form, pay the application fee and submit the application”
cmrito.org/applicants/international-applicants - Application fee: $141.25 (for a certificate of registration for each specialty)
-
Receive notification from the CMRITO on next steps.
Source
“Receive notification from the CMRITO on next steps”
cmrito.org/applicants/international-applicants -
Complete any remaining requirements for registration, including passing the approved examination(s).
Source
“Complete any remaining requirements for registration including passing the approved examination(s)”
cmrito.org/applicants/international-applicants -
Complete your registration online and pay the registration fee.
Source
“Complete your registration online and pay the registration fee”
cmrito.org/applicants/international-applicants -
Receive confirmation from the CMRITO that you are registered.
Source
“Receive confirmation from the CMRITO that you are registered”
cmrito.org/applicants/international-applicants
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
8 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,563.64 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- Annual registration fee: $694.95
Source
“The annual registration fee is $694.95 ($615.00 + $79.95 HST).”
cmrito.org/applicants/application-and-registration-fees - Late penalty: $173.74 (if you do not pay your annual registration fee within 14 days after the due date)
Source
“If you do not pay your annual registration fee within 14 days after the due date (your birthday), your fee will be subject to a late penalty of $173.74 ($153.75 + $19.99 HST).”
cmrito.org/applicants/application-and-registration-fees - Late registration fee, including penalties: $868.69
Source
“Late registration fee, including penalties | $868.69<br> ($615.00 annual registration fee, $153.75 late fee, $99.94 HST)”
cmrito.org/applicants/application-and-registration-fees
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Evaluation fee: $282.50 (if your application requires an evaluation of your educational program by the Registration Committee)
Source
“If your application requires an evaluation of your educational program by the Registration Committee, there is an evaluation fee of $282.50 ($250.00 + $32.50 HST) in addition to the application fee.”
cmrito.org/applicants/application-and-registration-fees - Reinstatement following suspension (minimum): $1,042.43
Source
“The fee for reinstatement following suspension will be no less than $1042.43 and no more than $1,389.90, depending on your individual circumstances.”
cmrito.org/applicants/application-and-registration-fees - Reinstatement following suspension (maximum): $1,389.90
Source
“The fee for reinstatement following suspension will be no less than $1042.43 and no more than $1,389.90, depending on your individual circumstances.”
cmrito.org/applicants/application-and-registration-fees
Requirements
Experience
You must have clinical practice in the specialty or have successfully completed the program within the five years immediately before the application.
Source
“Clinical practice in the specialty, or successful completion of a medical radiation and imaging technology program referred to above, within the five years immediately before the application”
cmrito.org/applicants/registration-requirements
Police check
You must provide details of any finding of guilt for a criminal offence or of any offence related to the regulation of the practice of the profession.
Source
“You must provide details of any of the following: - a finding of guilt for a criminal offence or of any offence related to the regulation of the practice of the profession”
cmrito.org/applicants/registration-requirements
Insurance
Applicants practising under the As of Right provisions must hold professional liability insurance or similar protection that extends coverage to Ontario.
Source
“hold professional liability insurance or similar protection that extends coverage to Ontario.”
cmrito.org/applicants/practising-under-as-of-right
Good character
Applicants practising under the As of Right provisions must have no finding of professional misconduct, incompetence, or incapacity in relation to the profession in another jurisdiction and must not be the subject of any current such proceeding.
Source
“have no finding of professional misconduct, incompetence, or incapacity made about or against them because of a proceeding in relation to the profession of medical radiation and imaging technology in another jurisdiction. - are not the subject of any current professional misconduct, incompetence, or incapacity proceeding or any similar proceeding in relation to the profession of medical radiation and imaging technology in another jurisdiction.”
cmrito.org/applicants/practising-under-as-of-right
Residency
Applicants practising under the As of Right provisions may only provide professional services to Ontario residents while physically present in Ontario.
Source
“only provide professional services to Ontario residents while the person is physically present in Ontario”
cmrito.org/applicants/practising-under-as-of-right
Other
You must successfully complete an examination set or approved by the CMRITO Council, such as the CAMRT certifying examination or the Sonography Canada certifying examination(s).
Source
“Successful completion of an examination(s) set or approved by the CMRITO Council - for medical radiation technology, the certifying examination of the Canadian Association of Medical Radiation Technologists or, - the Ordre des technologues en imagerie medicale en radio-oncologie et en electrophysiologie medicale du Québec and - for diagnostic medical sonography, the certifying examination(s) of Sonography Canada”
cmrito.org/applicants/registration-requirementsYou must have successfully completed a course in jurisprudence set or approved by the CMRITO.
Source
“You must have successfully completed a course in jurisprudence set or approved by the CMRITO”
cmrito.org/applicants/registration-requirementsYou must demonstrate verbal and written fluency in either English or French, unless you are a labour mobility applicant whose out-of-province regulator had equivalent language proficiency requirements.
Source
“You must demonstrate that you have verbal and written fluency in either English or French, unless you are a labour mobility applicant and the out-of-province regulatory authority with which you are registered had language proficiency requirements for registration that are equivalent to the requirements of the CMRITO.”
cmrito.org/applicants/registration-requirementsYou must be a Canadian citizen, a permanent resident of Canada, or authorized under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act to engage in the practice of the profession.
Source
“You must be a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident of Canada or authorized under the *Immigration and Refugee Protection Act* (Canada) to engage in the practice of the profession”
cmrito.org/applicants/registration-requirementsYou must pay the applicable fees.
Applicants practising under the As of Right provisions must not have been refused registration by a Canadian regulatory body within the two years preceding the date of the application to the CMRITO.
Source
“not have been refused registration by a Canadian regulatory body within the two years preceding the date of the application to the CMRITO.”
cmrito.org/applicants/practising-under-as-of-right
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Applicants relocating from another Canadian province must meet all the requirements for registration, including the non-exemptible requirement to successfully complete an examination set or approved by the CMRITO Council, or qualify under the labour mobility provisions of the Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991. Source
“If you are relocating from another Canadian province you could become registered once you have provided evidence of having met all the requirements for registration or the requirements for registration in accordance with the labour mobility provisions of the *Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991*.”
cmrito.org/applicants
Submit attestation and application
Source
“have submitted the following to the CMRITO prior to providing professional services in Ontario: - an attestation - an application for registration with CMRITO for a Canadian labour mobility applicant”
cmrito.org/applicants/practising-under-as-of-rightComplete registration requirements
Source
“can practice for up to six months while completing their registration requirements with the CMRITO”
cmrito.org/applicants/practising-under-as-of-right
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Medical Radiation and Imaging Technologists of Ontario
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Medical Radiation and Imaging Technologists of Ontario
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Medical Radiation and Imaging Technologists of Ontario
Language tests
No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with College of Medical Radiation and Imaging Technologists of Ontario
Exemptions: Labour mobility applicants are exempt from the language fluency requirement if the out-of-province regulatory authority with which they are registered had language proficiency requirements equivalent to those of the CMRITO. Source
“unless you are a labour mobility applicant and the out-of-province regulatory authority with which you are registered had language proficiency requirements for registration that are equivalent to the requirements of the CMRITO”
cmrito.org/applicants/registration-requirements
Canadian experience
You must have clinical practice in the specialty or have successfully completed a medical radiation and imaging technology program within the five years immediately before the application. Source
“Clinical practice in the specialty, or successful completion of a medical radiation and imaging technology program referred to above, within the five years immediately before the application”
cmrito.org/applicants/registration-requirements
Supervised practice
Not required
Applicants already registered in another regulated Canadian province who meet the eligibility criteria can practise in Ontario for up to six months while completing their registration requirements under the As of Right legislation. Source
“medical radiation and imaging technologists already registered in another regulated Canadian province, who meet the eligibility criteria, can practice for up to six months while completing their registration requirements with the CMRITO.”
cmrito.org/applicants/practising-under-as-of-right
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | $35.00 | $45.00 | $52.04 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $29.81 | $40.00 | $51.12 | — |
Medical radiation technologists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare medical radiation technologist licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Applicants · CMRITO Portal cmrito.org/applicants · fetched October 10, 2026
- Ontario Graduates · CMRITO Portal cmrito.org/applicants/ontario-graduates · fetched October 10, 2026
- Practising in Ontario under As of Right · CMRITO Portal cmrito.org/applicants/practising-under-as-of-right · fetched October 10, 2026
- Application and Registration Fees · CMRITO Portal cmrito.org/applicants/application-and-registration-fees · fetched October 10, 2026
- International Applicants · CMRITO Portal cmrito.org/applicants/international-applicants · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration Requirements · CMRITO Portal cmrito.org/applicants/registration-requirements · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as a medical radiation technologist in Ontario?
Yes. Registration with the College of Medical Radiation and Imaging Technologists of Ontario is required to practise in Ontario, and to use the title medical radiation and imaging technologist.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.