How to Become a Medical Radiation Technologist in Saskatchewan
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Medical Radiation and Imaging Professionals of Saskatchewan to work as a medical radiation technologist in Saskatchewan or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“To practice in Saskatchewan as an MRIP, you must be registered as a practicing member of CMRIPS.”
From cmrips.org/registration, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 7 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 5 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Trained outside Canada: 8 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
-
- Full Practicing Membership/Licensure: $460
- Non-Practicing Membership: $260
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 7 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 6 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $720
-
Fill out the membership application form online.
-
Pay the initial application fee with the application.
- Initial Application Fee: $130 (Waived for student members)
-
Complete the College-approved jurisprudence course, which is required of all registrants and has no charge.
Source
“all registrants are required to complete a course in jurisprudence approved by the College. This Jurisprudence Course ensures that applicants are aware of the legislation that governs their practice in Saskatchewan. There is no charge to complete this course.”
cmrips.org/registration -
Upload proof of successful completion of an accredited educational program in medical radiation technology (diploma or degree).
Source
“✔ Proof of successful completion of an accredited educational program in medical radiation technology (diploma or degree).”
cmrips.org/registration -
Upload proof of successful completion of the CAMRT or Sonography Canada national certification exam.
Source
“✔ Proof of successful completion of the national examination of medical radiation technology administered by the Canadian Association of Medical Radiation Technologists (CAMRT) or the Sonography Canada national certification exam.”
cmrips.org/registration -
Submit a criminal record check performed within the last 3 months.
-
Provide verification of professional liability insurance.
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $720 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Full Practicing Membership/Licensure: $460
- Non-Practicing Membership: $260
Licensed in another province
0 of 5 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $720
-
Fill out the membership application form online.
-
Pay the initial application fee.
- Initial Application Fee: $130 (Waived for student members)
-
Request a Canadian Free Trade Agreement certificate from your current licensing body.
Source
“✔ A Canadian Free Trade Agreement (CFTA) certificate from your current licensing body. *Contact your current licensing body to request* *this.*”
cmrips.org/registration -
Submit a criminal record check performed within the last 3 months.
-
Provide verification of professional liability insurance.
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $720 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Full Practicing Membership/Licensure: $460
- Non-Practicing Membership: $260
Trained outside Canada
0 of 8 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 7 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $720
-
Begin the registration application with CMRIPS to determine whether you are eligible to have your credentials assessed.
- Initial Application Fee: $130 (Waived for student members)
Source
“Apply to the College of Medical Radiation and Imaging Professionals of Saskatchewan (CMRIPS) to determine whether you are eligible to have your credentials assessed:”
cmrips.org/registration/international-applicants -
Pay the non-refundable application fee online by credit card.
Source
“✔ Pay the non-refundable application fee online (credit card only).”
cmrips.org/registration/international-applicants -
Upload a current criminal record check done within the last 90 days to the application.
Source
“✔ Upload a current criminal record check (done within the last 90 days) to the application (Supporting Documents).”
cmrips.org/registration/international-applicants -
If your first language is not English, provide evidence that you meet the English proficiency requirements recognized by the CMRIPS Council.
Source
“✔ In the case of an applicant whose first language is not English, evidence is required that the applicant meets the requirements for proficiency in English as recognized by the CMRIPS Council.”
cmrips.org/registration/international-applicants -
Complete the six-module CMRIPS Jurisprudence Course and pass its final 40-question multiple choice exam with at least 75%, then upload the certificate of completion.
Source
“Complete the CMRIPS Jurisprudence Course. The course consists of six modules that provide an overview of relevant regulations and laws. Once all modules have been completed applicants are required to complete a final 40-question multiple choice exam. Once an applicant has successfully challenged the exam with a pass rate of 75% or higher, they will be able to access a certificate of completion.”
cmrips.org/registration/international-applicants -
If the CMRIPS Registrar advises you are eligible, apply to the CAMRT to have your credentials assessed and to determine whether you can write the national certification exam.
Source
“If the CMRIPS Registrar advises you that you are eligible to do so (you will be considered eligible if you have an acceptable criminal record check and meet the English language proficiency and practice hour requirements), apply to the Canadian Association of Medical Radiation Technologists (CAMRT) to have your credentials assessed and to determine whether you are eligible to write the national certification exam.”
cmrips.org/registration/international-applicants -
If the CAMRT advises you are eligible, apply to the CAMRT to write the national certification exam.
Source
“If the CAMRT advises you that you are eligible to do so, apply to CAMRT to write the national certification exam.”
cmrips.org/registration/international-applicants -
If you pass the national certification exam, apply to CMRIPS for membership and licensure.
Source
“If you successfully complete the national certification exam, apply to CMRIPS for membership and licensure.”
cmrips.org/registration/international-applicants
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
7 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $720 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Full Practicing Membership/Licensure: $460
- Non-Practicing Membership: $260
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Student Membership (Covers 2 years): $130
- Graduate License for 4 months: $195 (Must work under supervision)
Source
“Graduate License for 4 months (Must work under supervision) $195.00”
cmrips.org/registration/fees - Life Membership: $200
- Late renewal fee: $100 (after the November 30 renewal deadline)
Source
“The deadline for renewal is November 30 of each year, after which a late fee of $100.00 will be required prior to issuing a licence.”
cmrips.org/registration/annual-renewal
Requirements
Education
Applicants must show that their medical radiation technology program is the equivalent of a program from an accredited school in Canada, which requires that the program be a minimum of two years in length with both academic and clinical components.
Source
“Applicants must show that the medical radiation technology program is the equivalent of a program from an accredited school in Canada, which requires that the program be a minimum of two years in length with both academic and clinical components.”
cmrips.org/registration/international-applicants
Experience
To be eligible for a full practice licence, members must have worked 1,200 practice hours in their declared primary discipline and 300 practice hours in any secondary discipline in the previous five years or any longer period the registrar may approve in writing.
Source
“Section 14(1)(a)(i) of the Regulatory Bylaws provides that in order to be eligible for a full practice licence, members must have worked 1,200 practice hours in the member’s declared primary discipline and 300 practice hours in any secondary discipline in the previous five years or any longer period that the registrar may approve in writing.”
cmrips.org/registration/annual-renewalA full practising licence is available after passing the national exam only if the applicant graduated within the three years prior to the licence application or has at least 1200 hours of work experience in the discipline within the five years prior to the application.
Source
“A full practicing licence is available to you after you successfully complete the national exam, BUT ONLY IF you either graduated from a medical radiation technology or diagnostic medical sonography program within the three years prior to your licence application at step 4 OR have at least 1200 hours of work experience in the discipline in which you want to work within the five years prior to your licence application at step 4.”
cmrips.org/registration/international-applicants
Police check
Applicants must submit a criminal record check performed within the last 3 months.
Insurance
Applicants must provide verification of professional liability insurance.
All members who practice must be insured against liability for professional negligence of at least $5,000,000 per incident and $5,000,000 per year.
Source
“Section 19 of the Regulatory Bylaws states all members who practice are required to be insured against liability for professional negligence in an amount that is at least $5,000,000 per incident and $5,000,000 per year.”
cmrips.org/registration/annual-renewal
Good character
Applicants must provide evidence of good character by answering the self-disclosure questions on the IEMRIP application form.
Source
“Applicants must provide evidence of good character by answering the self-disclosure questions on the IEMRIP application form.”
cmrips.org/registration/international-applicants
Other
Applicants must be proficient in English.
Applicants must have successfully completed the MRT exam administered by the CAMRT.
Source
“Applicants must have successfully completed the MRT exam administered by the Canadian Association of Medical Radiation Technologists (CAMRT).”
cmrips.org/registration/international-applicantsMembers must earn a minimum of ten Medical Radiation and Imaging Professional continuing education credits annually.
Source
“Each member must earn a minimum of ten (10) Medical Radiation and Imaging Professional credits annually.”
cmrips.org/registration/annual-renewal
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Applicants transferring from a regulated Canadian province submit a Canadian Free Trade Agreement certificate from their current licensing body along with the standard application documents, and the pages do not require them to retake the entry-to-practice exam or complete a competence assessment. Source
“All applicants transferring from a regulated province require the following documents:”
cmrips.org/registration
Obtain CFTA certificate
Source
“✔ A Canadian Free Trade Agreement (CFTA) certificate from your current licensing body. *Contact your current licensing body to request* *this.*”
cmrips.org/registration
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Medical Radiation and Imaging Professionals of Saskatchewan
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Medical Radiation and Imaging Professionals of Saskatchewan
Exams
-
Canadian Association of Medical Radiation Technologists (CAMRT) national certification exam
Source
“who has successfully passed the Canadian Association of Medical Radiation Technologists (CAMRT) national certification exam or the Sonography Canada national certification exam”
cmrips.org/registration -
Sonography Canada national certification exam
Source
“who has successfully passed the Canadian Association of Medical Radiation Technologists (CAMRT) national certification exam or the Sonography Canada national certification exam”
cmrips.org/registration
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Medical Radiation and Imaging Professionals of Saskatchewan
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Medical Radiation and Imaging Professionals of Saskatchewan
Supervised practice
Required
A holder of a graduate practice license must practice only under the direct supervision of a full practice member in the same discipline. Source
“A holder of a graduate practice license must practice only under the direct supervision of a full practice member in the same discipline”
cmrips.org/registration
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saskatchewan | $23.17 | $41.00 | $45.07 | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Canada | $29.81 | $40.00 | $51.12 | — |
Medical radiation technologists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare medical radiation technologist licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Registration | College of Medical Radiation and Imaging Professionals of Saskatchewan | CMRIPS cmrips.org/registration · fetched October 10, 2026
- CMRIPS Membership/Licensure fees | College of Medical Radiation and Imaging Professionals of Saskatchewan | CMRIPS cmrips.org/registration/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
- International Applicants | College of Medical Radiation and Imaging Professionals of Saskatchewan | CMRIPS cmrips.org/registration/international-applicants · fetched October 10, 2026
- Annual Renewal | College of Medical Radiation and Imaging Professionals of Saskatchewan | CMRIPS cmrips.org/registration/annual-renewal · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a medical radiation technologist in Saskatchewan?
Yes. Registration with the College of Medical Radiation and Imaging Professionals of Saskatchewan is required to practise in Saskatchewan.
Which exams are required?
Canadian Association of Medical Radiation Technologists (CAMRT) national certification exam, Sonography Canada national certification exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.