How to Become a Painter and Decorator in Quebec
Do you need certification?
Certification required
Painter and decorator is a compulsory trade in Quebec. You need a certificate, or registration as an apprentice, to work in the trade.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“The journeyman competency certificate (JCC) indicates the trade and, if applicable, the specialty or activities of the trade that the person may practise.”
From ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Certification required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $100
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $10
- Trained outside Canada: 6 steps, listed one-time fees $200
- Annual fees
-
- Certificate renewal fee: $100
Source
“Pay the required $100 fee, if applicable (cheque, postal money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
- Certificate renewal fee: $100
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $100
-
Submit the application form and supporting documents to the CCQ by mail or at a regional office to obtain an apprentice competency certificate.
Source
“The form Application for registration or modification of identification file or choice of union association and all copies of supporting documents required must be sent by mail to the following address ... You can also go to one of the CCQ’s regional offices with all of your documentation.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
Complete the apprenticeship in the trade, which is divided into periods of 2,000 hours each.
Source
“Apprenticeship in a trade in the construction industry is calculated in hours in the trade and in hours of training and upgrading. The duration of the apprenticeship is divided into apprenticeship periods of 2,000 hours each.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
Contact Customer Services or write to a regional office to register for the provincial qualification examination and pay the registration fee.
- Exam registration fee: $100
Source
“They must pay the $100 registration fee with a credit card”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Source
“Contact Customer Services at 1 888 842-8282 to determine the date and location of their examination. They must pay the $100 registration fee with a credit card”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... - Exam registration fee: $100
-
Take and pass the provincial qualification examination in the trade.
Source
“Have passed the qualification examination”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp... -
Apprentices who pass the provincial qualification examination automatically obtain their journeyman competency certificate free of charge.
Source
“Apprentice candidates who have passed their provincial qualification examination automatically obtain their competency certificate free of charge.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Certificate renewal fee: $100
Source
“Pay the required $100 fee, if applicable (cheque, postal money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $10
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $100
-
Collect proof of residential address in the other province, an official document, proof of qualification or apprentice card, and proof of passing the health and safety course.
Source
“Supply proof of residential address in New Brunswick from among the following list ... Provide proof of qualification or of possession of an apprentice card ... Prove that they have passed the course Santé et sécurité générale sur les chantiers de construction”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-... -
Send the completed application form with all documents to the CCQ to register for a registration certificate.
Source
“Attach the form Application for registration or modification of identification file or choice of union association, duly filled out”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-... -
Pay the fee for attestation of recognition of a health and safety equivalence where required under the agreement.
- Health and safety equivalence attestation fee: $10
Source
“Pay the $10 fee required for attestation of recognition of a health and safety equivalence (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Source
“Pay the $10 fee required for attestation of recognition of a health and safety equivalence (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-... - Health and safety equivalence attestation fee: $10
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $10
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $10 | 100% |
| One-time total | $10 | 100% |
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Certificate renewal fee: $100
Source
“Pay the required $100 fee, if applicable (cheque, postal money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
Trained outside Canada
0 of 6 done
- Listed one-time fees: $200
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $100
- Listed time: 0.7 months (only 1 of 6 steps state a time)
-
Send the preliminary analysis application form and all required documentation by email to have work hours and training hours recognized.
Time: 20 daysTime source
“The CCQ will send its decision to you by email about 20 working days after it receives the form, duly completed, and all the documents required.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr...Source
“The form Application for preliminary analysis – Recognition of work hours and training hours (international recruitment) for a trade (except crane operator) and all the documentation required must be sent”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
Once the preliminary analysis is accepted and after arriving in Québec, apply to obtain an apprentice competency certificate from the CCQ.
Source
“After the preliminary analysis is accepted, you may apply to obtain an ACC from the CCQ. IMPORTANT: This application can be made only once you arrive in Québec, even if some steps have been initiated before you immigrate to Canada.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
Complete the 30-hour general health and safety on construction sites course offered through schools or industry associations.
Source
“The 30-hour course Santé et sécurité générale sur les chantiers de construction is offered through the schools in the different school boards or through the construction industry’s employer and union associations.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
Register for the provincial qualification examination and pay the registration fee.
- Exam registration fee: $100
Source
“They must pay the $100 registration fee with a credit card”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Source
“Contact Customer Services at 1 888 842-8282 to determine the date and location of their examination. They must pay the $100 registration fee with a credit card”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... - Exam registration fee: $100
-
Take and pass the provincial qualification examination in the trade.
Source
“Have passed the qualification examination”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp... -
Non-apprentice candidates who have passed the provincial qualification examination must apply to the CCQ and pay the required fee to obtain the journeyman competency certificate.
- Journeyman competency certificate fee: $100
Source
“Pay the required $100 fee to the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ), if applicable, by postal or bank money order, personal cheque, credit card, or debit card, or in cash if the application is presented at a CCQ Customer Services counter”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
Source
“However, non-apprentice candidates who have passed their provincial qualification examination must apply to the CCQ and pay the required fee.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp... - Journeyman competency certificate fee: $100
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $200
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $100 | 50% |
| Exams | $100 | 50% |
| One-time total | $200 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Certificate renewal fee: $100
Source
“Pay the required $100 fee, if applicable (cheque, postal money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Red Seal endorsement application fee: $100
Source
“Payment of the $100 fee required (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge - Exemption from competency certificate fee: $100
Source
“Pay the $100 fee required (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Requirements
Experience
Candidates must demonstrate, with supporting documents, that they have practised the trade and acquired experience in hours worked and, if applicable, in training credits at least equal to the total duration of the apprenticeship for the trade.
Source
“Candidates must demonstrate, with supporting documents, that they have practised a trade or specialty and acquired experience in hours worked and, if applicable, in training credits, at least equal to the total duration of the apprenticeship for the trade or specialty covered.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Other
Applicants must be at least 16 years old.
Source
“Be at least 16 years old”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...Applicants must have a social insurance number.
Source
“Have a social insurance number”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...Applicants must provide their home address.
Source
“Provide their home address”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...Applicants must demonstrate that they have passed the general health and safety course for construction sites.
Source
“Demonstrate that they have passed the course Santé et sécurité générale sur les chantiers de construction”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Holders of a certificate in a trade or occupation recognized under the interprovincial agreements must register with the CCQ to obtain a registration certificate, providing proof of qualification without retaking an examination. Source
“Holders of a New Brunswick certificate in a trade or occupation recognized under the agreement must register with the CCQ to obtain a registration certificate.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Register with the CCQ
Source
“Holders of a New Brunswick certificate in a trade or occupation recognized under the agreement must register with the CCQ to obtain a registration certificate.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Exams
-
Provincial qualification examination
Source
“Apprentices are informed by the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) that they are eligible for the provincial qualification examination in their trade when they have completed 85% of their apprenticeship.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quebec | $24.00 | $34.98 | $41.83 | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| Canada | $20.00 | $28.00 | $40.99 | — |
Painters and decorators in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Journeyperson ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Eligibility ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprentice ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Intergovernmental Agreements (ON, NB, NL) ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Red Seal ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a painter and decorator in Quebec?
Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Quebec. Certification is managed by the Commission de la construction du Québec.
Which exams are required?
Provincial qualification examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.