At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. You apply to register as an apprentice in the apprenticeship program.

    Source
    “You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  2. As a registered apprentice you spend 80 per cent of your time learning from a certified journeyperson on the job while getting paid.

    Source
    “80 per cent of your time learning from a certified journeyperson on the job while getting paid”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  3. You spend 20 per cent of your time learning at in-school technical training, which ranges from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.

    Source
    “20 per cent of your time learning at in-school technical training. In-class training ranges from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  4. You write the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade.

    Source
    “the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade based on: your previous experience and training; and the requirements of your trade.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  5. When you finish your apprenticeship you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.

    Source
    “When you finish your apprenticeship, you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...

Listed fees for this route

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

No separate route for this group.

Source
“Trade Qualifier Challenge Option (Yes/No) Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/painter-decorator/ellis-chart.shtml

Trained outside Canada

No separate route for this group.

Source
“Trade Qualifier Challenge Option (Yes/No) Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/painter-decorator/ellis-chart.shtml

Requirements

Experience

Residency

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in the Yukon.

Source
“Compulsory/Voluntary (C/V) Certification Required by Apprenticeship Authority Provinces and Territories designate each trade as compulsory or voluntary.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/painter-decorator/ellis-chart.shtml

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Yukon and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Yukon — — — Moderate (3 of 5)
Canada $20.00 $28.00 $40.99 —

Wages in every province and territory

Painters and decorators in other provinces and territories

Compare painter and decorator licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Painter and Decorator – Ellis Chart ellischart.ca/eng/trades/painter-decorator/ellis-chart.shtml · fetched October 9, 2026
  2. Learn about the apprenticeship program | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a painter and decorator in Yukon?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Yukon. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Training.

Which exams are required?

apprenticeship level 1 exam, journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam, Written Certification Examination.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.