How to Become a Cabinetmaker in Saskatchewan
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Cabinetmaker is a voluntary trade in Saskatchewan. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Cabinetmaker Construction Sector Red Seal”
From saskapprenticeship.ca/designated-trades-searchable, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $625 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $625
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
-
The applicant registers with the apprenticeship system in Saskatchewan and pays the registration fee.
- registration fee: $200
Source
“registration fee will increase from $175 to $200;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
Source
“registration fee will increase from $175 to $200;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - registration fee: $200
-
- Tuition fees: $105 (per week of technical training for most programs)
Source
“Tuition fees are increasing by $10 per week, from $95 per week to $105 per week for most programs.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
Source
“To self-register for training in MyATC, apprentices must meet the required hours of experience for their trade.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/2026-27-apprenticeship-training-schedule - Tuition fees: $105 (per week of technical training for most programs)
-
The apprentice writes the level examinations and the interprovincial journeyperson examination, paying the applicable exam fees.
- written exam fee: $125
Source
“written exam fee will increase from $100 to $125;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - practical exam fee: $175
Source
“practical exam fee will increase from $160 to $175;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - examination review fee: $125
Source
“examination review fee will increase from $100 to $125.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
Source
“written exam fee will increase from $100 to $125;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - written exam fee: $125
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $625
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $625 | 100% |
| One-time total | $625 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
Requirements
Education
A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan, and modified or general math and science classes do not meet entry requirements.
Source
“A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan. However, “modified” or “general” math and science classes don’t meet entry requirements.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...
Experience
Apprentices must meet the required hours of experience for their trade before they can self-register for technical training.
Source
“To self-register for training in MyATC, apprentices must meet the required hours of experience for their trade.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/2026-27-apprenticeship-training-schedule
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Exams
-
Level One Examination
-
Level Two Examination
-
Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination
Source
“Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination Information”
saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/cabinetmaker
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saskatchewan | — | — | — | Undetermined |
| Canada | $19.00 | $24.00 | $31.00 | — |
Cabinetmakers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Designated Trades | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/designated-trades-searchable · fetched October 11, 2026
- Entrance Requirements for Apprenticeship Training | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai... · fetched October 9, 2026
- APPRENTICESHIP FEE UPDATES | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates · fetched October 9, 2026
- 2026-27 Apprenticeship Training Schedule | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/2026-27-apprenticeship-training-schedule · fetched October 9, 2026
- Cabinetmaker | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/cabinetmaker · fetched October 11, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a cabinetmaker in Saskatchewan?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Saskatchewan. Certification is managed by the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.
Which exams are required?
Level One Examination, Level Two Examination, Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.