How to Become a Cabinetmaker in Yukon
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Cabinetmaker is a voluntary trade in Yukon. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Compulsory/Voluntary (C/V) Certification Required by Apprenticeship Authority Provinces and Territories designate each trade as compulsory or voluntary. Work in Compulsory trades can only be performed by certified journeypersons or registered apprentices. Work in Voluntary trades may legally be performed with or without certification or apprenticeship training V V V V V V V V V V V V V”
From ellischart.ca/eng/trades/cabinetmaker/ellis-chart.shtml, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: no separate route
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
You must work for an employer who employs a journeyperson certified in the trade and is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.
- Application fee: $10 (when you apply to register as an apprentice)
Source
“You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Source
“work for an employer who: - employs a journeyperson certified in the trade you’re applying to register in; and - is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... - Application fee: $10 (when you apply to register as an apprentice)
-
You apply to register as an apprentice and pay a $10 non-refundable application fee.
Source
“You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
As a registered apprentice you spend 80 per cent of your time learning on the job from a certified journeyperson and 20 per cent in in-school technical training.
Source
“80 per cent of your time learning from a certified journeyperson on the job while getting paid; and - 20 per cent of your time learning at in-school technical training.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
You write the apprenticeship level 1 exam and the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade.
Source
“the apprenticeship level 1 exam based on: - your previous experience and training; - the requirements of your trade; and - recommendation from your employer. - the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
When you finish your apprenticeship you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.
Source
“When you finish your apprenticeship, you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
No separate route for this group. Source
“Find out more about challenging the certification exam”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Trained outside Canada
No separate route for this group. Source
“You will not be able to register in the apprenticeship program for a trade that is not designated in the Yukon.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Requirements
Education
You must meet the entrance requirements for your trade.
Source
“meet the entrance requirements for your trade; and”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Residency
You must be a Yukon resident to register as an apprentice.
Other
You must be at least 16 years old to register as an apprentice.
Source
“be at least 16 years old;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...You must work for an employer who employs a certified journeyperson in the trade and is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.
Source
“work for an employer who: - employs a journeyperson certified in the trade you’re applying to register in; and - is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in the Yukon. Source
“Changing employers or moving to, or away from, the Yukon”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Exams
-
apprenticeship level 1 exam
Source
“the apprenticeship level 1 exam based on: - your previous experience and training;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam
Source
“the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade based on: - your previous experience and training; and - the requirements of your trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yukon | — | — | — | Undetermined |
| Canada | $19.00 | $24.00 | $31.00 | — |
Cabinetmakers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Cabinetmaker - Ellis Chart ellischart.ca/eng/trades/cabinetmaker/ellis-chart.shtml · fetched October 9, 2026
- Learn about the apprenticeship program | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a cabinetmaker in Yukon?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Yukon. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Training.
Which exams are required?
apprenticeship level 1 exam, journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.