How to Become a Glazier in Saskatchewan
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Glazier is a voluntary trade in Saskatchewan. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“The Saskatchewan Youth Apprenticeship (SYA) program gives high school students the opportunity to learn more about skilled trades careers and get a head start on apprenticeship should they register as one after graduation.”
From saskapprenticeship.ca/sask-youth-apprenticeship, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $500 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $500
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 1 step without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.3 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
-
You register as an apprentice in Saskatchewan and pay the registration fee.
- Registration fee: $200
Source
“registration fee will increase from $175 to $200;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
Source
“registration fee will increase from $175 to $200;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - Registration fee: $200
-
You must accumulate the hours of experience required for your trade before you can register for training.
Source
“To self-register for training in MyATC, apprentices must meet the required hours of experience for their trade.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/2026-27-apprenticeship-training-schedule -
You register yourself for any technical training you are eligible for, and your employer or Joint Training Committee must approve the registration before tuition is paid.
- Tuition fees: $105 (per week for most programs)
Source
“Tuition fees are increasing by $10 per week, from $95 per week to $105 per week for most programs.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
Time: 10 daysTime source
“The seat will be held for apprentices for up to 10 business days – until the employer/Joint Training Committee approves the request and tuition is paid for.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/2026-27-apprenticeship-training-scheduleSource
“Apprentices are responsible for registering for any technical training they are eligible for.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/2026-27-apprenticeship-training-schedule - Tuition fees: $105 (per week for most programs)
-
You write the required written and practical examinations and pay the exam fees.
- Written exam fee: $125
Source
“written exam fee will increase from $100 to $125;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - Practical exam fee: $175
Source
“practical exam fee will increase from $160 to $175;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
Source
“written exam fee will increase from $100 to $125;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - Written exam fee: $125
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $500
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $300 | 60% |
| Registration | $200 | 40% |
| One-time total | $500 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Examination review fee: $125
Source
“examination review fee will increase from $100 to $125.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
Requirements
Education
A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan, though Grade 12 is not required.
Source
“A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...
Experience
Apprentices must meet the required hours of experience for their trade to self-register for training.
Source
“To self-register for training in MyATC, apprentices must meet the required hours of experience for their trade.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/2026-27-apprenticeship-training-schedule
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory can register in Saskatchewan. Source
“Glazier cut, prepare, fabricate and install glass in residential, commercial and industrial structures, and in furniture and motor vehicles.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/glazier
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Exams
-
Level Two Examination
-
Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination
Source
“Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination Information”
saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/glazier -
Red Seal Written Examination
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saskatchewan | — | — | — | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $22.00 | $30.16 | $43.09 | — |
Glaziers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Sask Youth Apprenticeship | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/sask-youth-apprenticeship · fetched October 11, 2026
- Entrance Requirements for Apprenticeship Training | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai... · fetched October 9, 2026
- APPRENTICESHIP FEE UPDATES | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates · fetched October 9, 2026
- 2026-27 Apprenticeship Training Schedule | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/2026-27-apprenticeship-training-schedule · fetched October 9, 2026
- Glazier | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/glazier · fetched October 11, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a glazier in Saskatchewan?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Saskatchewan. Certification is managed by the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.
Which exams are required?
Level Two Examination, Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination, Red Seal Written Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.