Province comparison
Glazier Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Certification required
- Voluntary certification
- British Columbia: Voluntary certification
- Alberta: Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan: Voluntary certification
- Manitoba: Voluntary certification
- Ontario: Voluntary certification
- Quebec: Certification required
- New Brunswick: Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia: Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island: Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Voluntary certification
- Yukon: Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories: Voluntary certification
- Nunavut: Voluntary certification
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| Alberta | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 5 |
| Saskatchewan | $500 | Trained in Canada | 1 |
| Manitoba | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| Ontario | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| Quebec | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| New Brunswick | $350 | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| Nova Scotia | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 2 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not listed | Licensed in another province | 2 |
| Yukon | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 4 |
| Northwest Territories | Not listed | — | — |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Yukon, and Northwest Territories.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification exam, Practical assessment, Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | 25.8 to 26.3 months (partial) | $30.00 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | Theory exam, Red Seal exam, Entrance exam, Challenge exam, Prior Learning Assessment (PLA) exam, Practical exam | — | Not listed | — | $28.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Trained in Canada | Level Two Examination, Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination, Red Seal exam | — | $500 (Trained in Canada) | 0.3 months (partial) | — | Good (4 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Level Placement Exam, Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | — | — | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | certifying exam, in-school exemption test | — | Not listed | — | $30.00 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Quebec | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Provincial qualification examination, Erector Mechanic (Glazier) qualification examination | — | Not listed | 0.7 months (partial) | $35.00 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification examination | — | $350 (Trained outside Canada) | — | — | Undetermined |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada | Provincial Certification Exam, trade qualifier exam | — | Not listed | — | $26.51 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Licensed in another province | certification exam, Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
| Yukon | Trained in Canada | apprenticeship level 1 exam, journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam | — | Not listed | 24.9 to 50.3 months (partial) | — | Undetermined |
| Northwest Territories | — | Written Level Examinations, Written Certification Examination | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (60)
- Extra steps (12)
- Not stated (84)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $22.00 | $30.16 | $43.09 |
| British Columbia | $23.00 | $30.00 | $39.00 |
| Alberta | $20.00 | $28.00 | $37.00 |
| Saskatchewan | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Manitoba | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Ontario | $20.68 | $30.00 | $44.70 |
| Quebec | $24.00 | $35.00 | $43.94 |
| New Brunswick | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nova Scotia | $18.00 | $26.51 | $33.66 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Alberta | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Good (4 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Ontario | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Quebec | Limited (2 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Outlook not determined |
| Nova Scotia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Outlook not determined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Outlook not determined |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.