How to Become a Registered Psychiatric Nurse in Saskatchewan
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Saskatchewan to work as a registered psychiatric nurse in Saskatchewan or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- psychiatric nurse, registered psychiatric nurse, graduate psychiatric nurse, PN, RPN, GPN
Show the source
“The title of “psychiatric nurse”, “registered psychiatric nurse”, and “graduate psychiatric nurse” and the abbreviations PN, RPN and GPN are protected titles. Anyone using the in Saskatchewan who is not licensed with the CRPNS is subject to legal action.”
From crpns.ca/applicants/registration-faq, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps, listed one-time fees $542.87
- Licensed in another province: no separate route
- Trained outside Canada: 7 steps, listed one-time fees $250 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
-
- Practicing License: $1,028.60
- Professional Liability Protection: $71.40 (Required with any license that entitles a person to work as an RPN)
Source
“Professional Liability Protection $71.40 Required with any license that entitles a person to work as an RPN.”
crpns.ca/members/regulatory-requirements
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- Listed one-time fees: $542.87
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,028.60
-
Submit an online application for RPNCE exam eligibility, which becomes available 12-14 weeks before the exam date.
- Application Fee: $200
Source
“Submit an online application for exam eligibility. Access to the online application will be provided 12-14 weeks in advance of the exam date via your program.”
crpns.ca/applicants/studentsandgraduatenurses -
Submit proof of identification and a Criminal Record Check with Vulnerable Sector Check through the online application.
Source
“To be eligible, you must submit the following: - Online application - Proof of identification - Criminal Record Check – Vulnerable Sector Check (CRC-VSC)”
crpns.ca/applicants/studentsandgraduatenurses -
Have any required verification of registration forms sent directly to CRPNS by the regulatory authorities, and have the program completion reference sent after the program is finished.
Source
“R-02b forms must be returned directly to CRPNS by regulatory authorities. They cannot be accepted from any other source.”
crpns.ca/applicants/studentsandgraduatenurses -
Once all documentation is reviewed, CRPNS will email you advising of your eligibility and next steps.
Source
“Once all documentation is reviewed, an email will be received advising you of eligibility and next steps for obtaining a GPN license.”
crpns.ca/applicants/studentsandgraduatenurses -
Log into the online portal, select redirect payment, and once payment is submitted the temporary graduate psychiatric nurse license information is generated automatically.
- Graduate Psychiatric Nurse Temporary License: $342.87
Source
“Graduate Psychiatric Nurse Temporary License $342.87”
crpns.ca/members/regulatory-requirements
Source
“Log into the online portal using the same email address and password used when applying for the RPNCE. Select ‘Redirect Payment’ Once payment is submitted, the temporary license information will be generated automatically.”
crpns.ca/applicants/studentsandgraduatenurses - Graduate Psychiatric Nurse Temporary License: $342.87
-
Write the Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Canada Examination, which must be completed successfully for practicing registration.
Source
“Successful completion of the RPNCE is a requirement for practicing registration as a registered psychiatric nurse (RPN).”
crpns.ca/applicants/studentsandgraduatenurses
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $542.87
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $542.87 | 100% |
| One-time total | $542.87 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,028.60 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- Practicing License: $1,028.60
- Professional Liability Protection: $71.40 (Required with any license that entitles a person to work as an RPN)
Source
“Professional Liability Protection $71.40 Required with any license that entitles a person to work as an RPN.”
crpns.ca/members/regulatory-requirements
Licensed in another province
- Annual fees: $1,028.60
No separate route for this group. Source
“Other Canadian provinces and territoriess have legislation that regulates psychiatric nursing. Your license in Saskatchewan does not extend beyond the provincial borders, however if you maintain eligibility with CRPNS you may become licensed as an RPN in the other provinces and territories.”
crpns.ca/applicants/registration-faq
Trained outside Canada
0 of 7 done
- Listed one-time fees: $250
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,028.60
- Listed time: 26.8 months (only 2 of 7 steps state a time)
-
Create an online account with NNAS and complete the application, which is the mandatory first step for all internationally educated applicants.
- RPN Pathway Main Application: $845 (for one profession and one regulator)
Source
“NNAS is the mandatory first step for any international applicant Before applying to CRPNS, all internationally educated nurses must first apply through NNAS.”
crpns.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-nurses-iens -
After payment is verified, download forms and have the required documents sent to NNAS by third parties.
Source
“After your payment has been verified, you will gain access to the document submission screens. Here, you will be able to download forms and submit certain documents to NNAS.”
nnas.ca/application-process-timeline -
Monitor your application status and receive the NNAS Advisory Report, which is issued once all documents are received.
Time: 12 weeksTime source
“Once all documents are received, your Advisory Report will be issued in 12 weeks provided no further clarification is needed.”
nnas.ca/application-process-timelineSource
“Once all documents are received, your Advisory Report will be issued in 12 weeks provided no further clarification is needed.”
nnas.ca/application-process-timeline -
After the NNAS Advisory Report is generated, email CRPNS with your name and NNAS numbers to receive a link to the RPN registration application.
- International Application Fee: $250
Source
“After your NNAS Advisory Report has been generated, you are welcome to submit an application for RPN registration directly to CRPNS. Email [email protected] and provide your legal name, NNAS ID Number and NNAS Application Number and a link to the application will be provided.”
crpns.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-nurses-iens -
If the College finds your education is not comparable, bridging education may be required before you become eligible to apply for the RPNCE.
Time: 2 yearsTime source
“If you are referred for bridging education, you will be required to complete all course work within 2 years.”
crpns.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-nurses-iensSource
“Depending on the outcome, bridging education may be required before eligibility to apply for the Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Canada Exam (RPNCE) is granted.”
crpns.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-nurses-iens -
Once CRPNS determines you are eligible, follow the RPNCE application steps for submitting the online application and supporting documents.
Source
“Once CRPNS has determined that the applicant is eligible to apply to write the RPNCE, the applicant will need to follow the RPNCE application steps found here”
crpns.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-nurses-iens -
Write the RPNCE within Canada at an approved test center.
Source
“The RPNCE must be written within Canada at an approved test center.”
crpns.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-nurses-iens
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $250
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $250 | 100% |
| One-time total | $250 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,028.60 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- Practicing License: $1,028.60
- Professional Liability Protection: $71.40 (Required with any license that entitles a person to work as an RPN)
Source
“Professional Liability Protection $71.40 Required with any license that entitles a person to work as an RPN.”
crpns.ca/members/regulatory-requirements
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Pro-rated Practicing License: $617.16 (available until Dec 31, 2022)
Source
“Pro-rated Practicing License $617.16 The pro-rated amount for a practicing license comes into effect on July 1, 2022 and is available until Dec 31, 2022.”
crpns.ca/members/regulatory-requirements - Late Fee: $150
- Reinstatement Fee: $200
- RPNCE Hand Scoring Fee: $70
- Documentation Fee: $75
- NSF Fee: $50
- Ported Advisory Report to additional regulators, same profession: $60 (up to, for the same profession)
Source
“Ported Advisory Report to additional regulators, same profession Up to $45 USD ($60 CAD)”
nnas.ca/fees
Requirements
Education
You must have successfully completed an approved psychiatric nursing education program within the last four years.
Source
“You have successfully completed an approved psychiatric nursing education program within the last four years.”
crpns.ca/applicants/registration-faq
Police check
You must provide a current criminal record check with vulnerable sector search.
Source
“You have provided a current criminal record check with vulnerable sector search.”
crpns.ca/applicants/registration-faq
Insurance
All members must have professional liability protection through the Canadian Nurses Protective Society.
Source
“CRPNS bylaws state that all members must have PLP through CNPS.”
crpns.ca/applicants/studentsandgraduatenurses
Good character
Documentation verifying an applicant's character and successful completion of an entry-level RPN program is required.
Source
“Documentation verifying an applicants character and successful completion of an entry-level RPN program is required.”
crpns.ca/new-graduate-information
Other
You must have passed the registration examination (RPNCE) within a two-year period following program completion.
Source
“You have passed the registration examination (RPNCE) within a two-year period following program completion.”
crpns.ca/applicants/registration-faq
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Saskatchewan. Source
“Other Canadian provinces and territoriess have legislation that regulates psychiatric nursing. Your license in Saskatchewan does not extend beyond the provincial borders”
crpns.ca/applicants/registration-faq
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Saskatchewan
Credential assessment
NNAS Advisory Report
Assesses how the internationally educated applicant's education compares to a Canadian psychiatric nursing education program.
Source
“The College will review the application along with the NNAS report and academic documents using the critical dimensions and gaps analysis set out in the NNAS report to determine how the applicant’s education compares to a Canadian psychiatric nursing education program.”
crpns.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-nurses-iens
Exams
-
Register Psychiatric Nurses of Canada Exam (RPNCE)
Source
“Successful completion of the RPNCE is a requirement for practicing registration as a registered psychiatric nurse (RPN).”
crpns.ca/applicants/studentsandgraduatenurses
Language tests
No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Saskatchewan
Exemptions: The language proficiency requirement can be met through education, practice experience, registration in another Canadian jurisdiction, or language testing. Source
“The language proficiency requirement can be met in one of four ways: Education ... Practice Experience ... Registration ... Language Testing”
crpns.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-nurses-iens
Canadian experience
Applicants returning to Saskatchewan who worked in a jurisdiction that does not license RPNs must provide proof of having worked in approved psychiatric nursing activities for at least 1400 hours in the five-year period, or 560 hours in the two-year period immediately preceding the application. Source
“Provide proof of having worked in psychiatric nursing activities approved by the College for at least 1400 hours in the five-year period, or 560 hours in the two-year period immediately preceding the date of application for the year in which licensure is sought.”
crpns.ca/applicants/registration-faq
Supervised practice
Not required
Graduate psychiatric nurse (GPN) registration is a temporary license with restrictions and limitations while practicing as a GPN. Source
“The applicant will be provided a registration number and information pertaining to restrictions and limitations while practicing as a GPN via email.”
crpns.ca/applicants/studentsandgraduatenurses
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saskatchewan | $38.00 | $47.13 | $52.20 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $30.00 | $43.27 | $54.37 | — |
Registered psychiatric nurses in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Licence required
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare registered psychiatric nurse licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Registration FAQ - CRPNS crpns.ca/applicants/registration-faq · fetched October 10, 2026
- Students and Graduate Nurses - CRPNS crpns.ca/applicants/studentsandgraduatenurses · fetched October 10, 2026
- Regulatory Requirements - CRPNS crpns.ca/members/regulatory-requirements · fetched October 10, 2026
- Internationally Educated Nurses (IENs) - CRPNS crpns.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-nurses-iens · fetched October 10, 2026
- Fees - National Nursing Assessment Service nnas.ca/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
- Application Process & Timeline - National Nursing Assessment Service nnas.ca/application-process-timeline · fetched October 9, 2026
- New Graduate Information - CRPNS crpns.ca/new-graduate-information · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a registered psychiatric nurse in Saskatchewan?
Yes. Registration with the College of Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Saskatchewan is required to practise in Saskatchewan, and to use the title psychiatric nurse, registered psychiatric nurse or graduate psychiatric nurse.
Which exams are required?
Register Psychiatric Nurses of Canada Exam (RPNCE).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.