How to Become a Registered Psychiatric Nurse in Yukon
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Government of Yukon, Department of Community Services (Professional Licensing) to work as a registered psychiatric nurse in Yukon or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“All psychiatric nurses in the Yukon must: - register; - hold a Yukon licence; and - renew their certificate every year.”
From yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-..., checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $40
- Licensed in another province: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $40
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $40
- Annual fees
-
- Annual licence fee (full certificate): $200
Source
“Annual licence fee: $200”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-... - Annual licence fee (inactive certificate): $40
Source
“Annual licence fee: $40”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-...
- Annual licence fee (full certificate): $200
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $40
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $240
-
Create a profile on the online portal so you can log in, upload documents, view your registration information and apply for a licence.
Source
“1. Create a profile. With your profile you'll be able to: - log in to the portal at any time; - upload documents; - view your registration information; and - apply for a licence”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-... -
Apply for a licence by following the steps after selecting "Apply for a licence" under the "Licensing" tab.
Source
“2. Apply for a licence. Follow the steps after selecting "Apply for a licence" under the "Licensing" tab.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-... -
Pay the one-time registration fee by credit card when you submit your online application, before the application is reviewed.
- Registration (one-time fee): $40
Source
“Registration (one-time fee): $40”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-...
Source
“When you submit your application online, you must pay your one-time registration fee. - You must pay this fee before we'll review and approve your application. - The online system will prompt you to pay this by credit card. - This fee is non-refundable.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-... - Registration (one-time fee): $40
-
Provide the required documents electronically, including photo ID, your RPN diploma, your criminal record check and proof of registration for the RPNCE.
Source
“- Your current government-issued photo ID (not a health care card) - A copy of your RPN diploma - Your criminal record check - Proof of registration of RPNCE”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-... -
After your application is approved, pay the annual licence fee through the portal once you receive the invoice by email.
Source
“If we approve your application, we'll email you an invoice for your annual licensing fee. Once you receive this invoice, you can pay through the portal.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $40
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $40 | 100% |
| One-time total | $40 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $240 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual licence fee (full certificate): $200
Source
“Annual licence fee: $200”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-... - Annual licence fee (inactive certificate): $40
Source
“Annual licence fee: $40”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-...
Licensed in another province
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $40
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $240
-
Create a profile on the online portal so you can log in, upload documents, view your registration information and apply for a licence.
Source
“1. Create a profile. With your profile you'll be able to: - log in to the portal at any time; - upload documents; - view your registration information; and - apply for a licence”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-... -
Apply for a licence by following the steps after selecting "Apply for a licence" under the "Licensing" tab.
Source
“2. Apply for a licence. Follow the steps after selecting "Apply for a licence" under the "Licensing" tab.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-... -
Pay the one-time registration fee by credit card when you submit your online application, before the application is reviewed.
- Registration (one-time fee): $40
Source
“Registration (one-time fee): $40”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-...
Source
“When you submit your application online, you must pay your one-time registration fee. - You must pay this fee before we'll review and approve your application. - The online system will prompt you to pay this by credit card. - This fee is non-refundable.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-... - Registration (one-time fee): $40
-
After your application is approved, pay the annual licence fee through the portal once you receive the invoice by email.
Source
“If we approve your application, we'll email you an invoice for your annual licensing fee. Once you receive this invoice, you can pay through the portal.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $40
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $40 | 100% |
| One-time total | $40 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $240 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual licence fee (full certificate): $200
Source
“Annual licence fee: $200”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-... - Annual licence fee (inactive certificate): $40
Source
“Annual licence fee: $40”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-...
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $40
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $240
-
Create a profile on the online portal so you can log in, upload documents, view your registration information and apply for a licence.
Source
“1. Create a profile. With your profile you'll be able to: - log in to the portal at any time; - upload documents; - view your registration information; and - apply for a licence”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-... -
Apply for a licence by following the steps after selecting "Apply for a licence" under the "Licensing" tab.
Source
“2. Apply for a licence. Follow the steps after selecting "Apply for a licence" under the "Licensing" tab.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-... -
Pay the one-time registration fee by credit card when you submit your online application, before the application is reviewed.
- Registration (one-time fee): $40
Source
“Registration (one-time fee): $40”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-...
Source
“When you submit your application online, you must pay your one-time registration fee. - You must pay this fee before we'll review and approve your application. - The online system will prompt you to pay this by credit card. - This fee is non-refundable.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-... - Registration (one-time fee): $40
-
After your application is approved, pay the annual licence fee through the portal once you receive the invoice by email.
Source
“If we approve your application, we'll email you an invoice for your annual licensing fee. Once you receive this invoice, you can pay through the portal.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $40
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $40 | 100% |
| One-time total | $40 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $240 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual licence fee (full certificate): $200
Source
“Annual licence fee: $200”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-... - Annual licence fee (inactive certificate): $40
Source
“Annual licence fee: $40”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-...
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Late fee: $40 (charged to applications received between February 1 and March 31)
Source
“Late fee: $40 (charged to applications we receive between February 1 and March 31.)”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/renew-registered-...
Requirements
Education
Applicants who are not already licensed elsewhere must have graduated from an approved registered psychiatric nursing program in the past 4 years.
Source
“You have: - graduated from an approved registered psychiatric nursing program (RPN) in the past 4 years; and - passed the Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Canada Examination (RPNCE).”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-...
Police check
Applicants must provide a criminal record check with their application.
Source
“- Your current government-issued photo ID (not a health care card) - A copy of your RPN diploma - Your criminal record check - Proof of registration of RPNCE”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-...
Good character
Applicants who have had complaints or disciplinary or criminal action against them are assessed case by case and may not be approved.
Source
“If you've had any complaints or disciplinary or criminal action against you: - we'll assess your eligibility on a case-by-case basis; and - we may not approve your registration or licensing.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-...
Other
Applicants applying under the other-jurisdiction option must hold a full certificate in another jurisdiction and be in good standing there.
Source
“You: - hold a full certificate in another jurisdiction; and - are in good standing in that jurisdiction.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Applicants who hold a full certificate in another jurisdiction and are in good standing there can apply under that option, with no additional exam or competence assessment stated. Source
“You: - hold a full certificate in another jurisdiction; and - are in good standing in that jurisdiction.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Yukon, Department of Community Services (Professional Licensing)
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Yukon, Department of Community Services (Professional Licensing)
Exams
-
Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Canada Examination (RPNCE)
Source
“You have: - graduated from an approved registered psychiatric nursing program (RPN) in the past 4 years; and - passed the Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Canada Examination (RPNCE).”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Yukon, Department of Community Services (Professional Licensing)
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Yukon, Department of Community Services (Professional Licensing)
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Yukon, Department of Community Services (Professional Licensing)
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yukon | $33.00 | $48.50 | $60.88 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $30.00 | $43.27 | $54.37 | — |
Registered psychiatric nurses in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare registered psychiatric nurse licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Apply for a registered psychiatric nurse certificate | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-registered-... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Renew a registered psychiatric nurse certificate | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/renew-registered-... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a registered psychiatric nurse in Yukon?
Yes. Registration with the Government of Yukon, Department of Community Services (Professional Licensing) is required to practise in Yukon.
Which exams are required?
Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Canada Examination (RPNCE).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.