How to Become an Auto Body and Collision Technician in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification required
Auto body and collision technician is a compulsory trade in Alberta. You need a certificate, or registration as an apprentice, to work in the trade.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Under Alberta’s Skilled Trades and Apprenticeship Education Act [pdf], you must have a certificate that is recognized by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training or be a registered apprentice to repair or replace or refinish damaged motor vehicle structures or body parts, or interior or exterior finishes.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/auto-body-technician, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Certification required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps
- Licensed in another province: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $186 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Trained outside Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $186 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
-
Apprentices must find a suitable employer who is willing to hire and train them.
Source
“Apprentices must find suitable employers who are willing to hire and train apprentices.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/auto-body-technician -
You apply to become a registered apprentice once you confirm you meet the registration eligibility requirements.
Source
“Before you apply to become a registered apprentice, make sure you are eligible.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Before enrolling in your first period of classroom instruction you must meet the entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses or alternatives such as an entrance exam.
Source
“You can register as an apprentice before you meet the entrance requirements. - You must meet them before you enroll in your first period [classroom instruction]”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Each year of the apprenticeship usually includes a minimum number of hours of on-the-job training plus weeks of classroom instruction.
Source
“Each year usually includes a minimum number of hours of on-the-job training (1,590 to 1,800 hours) and includes 4 to 7 weeks of classroom instruction.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/auto-body-technician -
A theory exam is required to complete each period of the apprenticeship program.
Source
“Theory exam required to complete each period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0104 -
In the final period you may take the Red Seal exam as an option.
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $186
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 18.9 to 19.4 months (only 2 of 5 steps state a time)
-
You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0104 -
You begin your application online, upload a clear copy of your trade certificate, and pay the non-refundable application fee.
- Application fee: $150 (non-refundable)
Source
“Pay the non-refundable $150 (CAD) application fee.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
Source
“Begin your application by clicking Apply Now [here]”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... - Application fee: $150 (non-refundable)
-
Time: 4 to 6 weeks
Time source
“Processing time is approximately 4 to 6 weeks.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...Source
“We review your application and verify your trade certificate with the issuing jurisdiction.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... -
You pass two practical exams, Exam A and Exam B.
- Practical Exam A: $78
- Practical Exam B: $108
Source
“3. Pass two practical exams: - $78.00 (Exam A) and - $108.00 (Exam B)”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0104 -
If you complete all program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card are mailed to you.
Time: 18 monthsTime source
“If you complete all Trades Qualifier – Recognized Credential program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card is mailed to you.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...Source
“If you complete all Trades Qualifier – Recognized Credential program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card is mailed to you.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $186
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $186 | 100% |
| One-time total | $186 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $186
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 18.9 to 19.4 months (only 2 of 5 steps state a time)
-
You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0104 -
You begin your application online using an Alberta.ca Account and Alberta Student Number, upload a clear copy of your trade certificate (translated into English if needed), and pay the non-refundable application fee.
- Application fee: $150 (non-refundable)
Source
“Pay the non-refundable $150 (CAD) application fee.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
Source
“You will need a basic Alberta.ca Account and an Alberta Student Number to begin your application.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... - Application fee: $150 (non-refundable)
-
The regulator reviews your application and verifies your trade certificate with the issuing jurisdiction, which takes about 4 to 6 weeks, and may take longer if the credential is from outside Canada.
Time: 4 to 6 weeksTime source
“Processing time is approximately 4 to 6 weeks.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...Source
“Processing time is approximately 4 to 6 weeks. - If your recognized credential is from outside Canada, it may take longer.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... -
You pass two practical exams, Exam A and Exam B.
- Practical Exam A: $78
- Practical Exam B: $108
Source
“3. Pass two practical exams: - $78.00 (Exam A) and - $108.00 (Exam B)”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0104 -
If you complete all program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card are mailed to you.
Time: 18 monthsTime source
“If you complete all Trades Qualifier – Recognized Credential program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card is mailed to you.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...Source
“If you complete all Trades Qualifier – Recognized Credential program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card is mailed to you.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $186
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $186 | 100% |
| One-time total | $186 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Auto Body Technician: Exam A: $78
Source
“Auto Body Technician | Exam A $78.00 Exam B $108.00”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... - Auto Body Technician: Exam B: $108
Source
“Auto Body Technician | Exam A $78.00 Exam B $108.00”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... - Auto Body Technician – Auto Body Repairer: Exam A: $78
Source
“Auto Body Technician – Auto Body Repairer | Exam A $78.00 Exam B $108.00”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... - Auto Body Technician – Auto Body Repairer: Exam B: $108
Source
“Auto Body Technician – Auto Body Repairer | Exam A $78.00 Exam B $108.00”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
Requirements
Education
Entrance requirements for classroom instruction include specific high school courses that you must have passed, or alternatives such as an entrance exam, a GED or CAEC certificate, a recognized training program, or a recognized trade certificate.
Source
“Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Auto body technicians from other provinces can work in Alberta if they hold a recognized certificate, but through the Recognized Credentials Program they must submit their certificate and pass a theory exam and two practical exams. Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta. 2. Pass a theory exam. 3. Pass two practical exams:”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0104
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Exams
-
Theory exam
Source
“Theory exam required to complete each period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0104 -
Red Seal exam
-
Entrance exam
Source
“Take an entrance exam to show you’re ready.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $17.00 | $28.75 | $36.00 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $18.50 | $27.00 | $40.00 | — |
Auto bodies and collision technicians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Certification required
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Certification required
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Compare auto body and collision technician licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Auto Body Technician: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/auto-body-technician · fetched October 8, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Auto Body Technician tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0104 · fetched October 10, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Trades Qualifier- Recognized Credential Program Details tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Trades with Practical Exams and Fees tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an auto body and collision technician in Alberta?
Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.
Which exams are required?
Theory exam, Red Seal exam, Entrance exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.