How to Become an Auto Body and Collision Technician in Yukon
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Auto body and collision technician is a voluntary trade in Yukon. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Compulsory/Voluntary (C/V) Certification Required by Apprenticeship Authority Provinces and Territories designate each trade as compulsory or voluntary. Work in Compulsory trades can only be performed by certified journeypersons or registered apprentices. Work in Voluntary trades' may legally be performed with or without certification or apprenticeship training”
From ellischart.ca/eng/trades/auto-body-collision/ellis-chart.shtml, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: no separate route
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 5 steps without a listed fee
-
You must be at least 16 years old, a Yukon resident, meet your trade's entrance requirements, and work for an employer who employs a certified journeyperson in the trade and is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.
Source
“To register as an apprentice in the apprenticeship program, you must: - be at least 16 years old; - be a Yukon resident; - meet the entrance requirements for your trade; and - work for an employer who: - employs a journeyperson certified in the trade you’re applying to register in; and - is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
You pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.
- Application fee: $10 (when you apply to register as an apprentice)
Source
“You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Source
“You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... - Application fee: $10 (when you apply to register as an apprentice)
-
As a registered apprentice you spend 80 per cent of your time learning on the job from a certified journeyperson and 20 per cent at in-school technical training, with in-class training ranging from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.
Source
“As a registered apprentice in the program, you’ll spend: - 80 per cent of your time learning from a certified journeyperson on the job while getting paid; and - 20 per cent of your time learning at in-school technical training. In-class training ranges from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
The time to complete your apprenticeship depends on the apprenticeship level 1 exam, which is based on your previous experience and training, the requirements of your trade, and a recommendation from your employer.
Source
“The time to complete an apprenticeship and become a certified journeyperson depends on: - the apprenticeship level 1 exam based on: - your previous experience and training; - the requirements of your trade; and - recommendation from your employer.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
The time to complete your apprenticeship also depends on the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade, which is based on your previous experience and training and the requirements of your trade.
Source
“- the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade based on: - your previous experience and training; and - the requirements of your trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
When you finish your apprenticeship, you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.
Source
“When you finish your apprenticeship, you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
No separate route for this group. Source
“Trade Qualifier Challenge Option (Yes/No) Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada. This indicates if the province or territory allows these experienced but uncertified workers to challenge certification examinations once they have demonstrated proof of eligible trade experience”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/auto-body-collision/ellis-chart.shtml
Trained outside Canada
No separate route for this group. Source
“Trade Qualifier Challenge Option (Yes/No) Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada. This indicates if the province or territory allows these experienced but uncertified workers to challenge certification examinations once they have demonstrated proof of eligible trade experience”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/auto-body-collision/ellis-chart.shtml
Requirements
Experience
A trade qualifier must demonstrate a minimum number of required hours working in the trade to be eligible to challenge the certification examination.
Source
“Required Hours for Trade Qualifier Provinces and Territories dictate a minimum number of required hours working in a trade for a trade qualifier to be eligible to challenge any certification examination; candidates must also demonstrate experience that covers the trade’s practices”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/auto-body-collision/ellis-chart.shtml
Residency
You must be a Yukon resident to register as an apprentice.
Source
“- be a Yukon resident;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Other
You must be at least 16 years old to register as an apprentice.
Source
“- be at least 16 years old;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...You must meet the entrance requirements for your trade.
Source
“- meet the entrance requirements for your trade; and”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...You must work for an employer who employs a journeyperson certified in the trade and is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.
Source
“- work for an employer who: - employs a journeyperson certified in the trade you’re applying to register in; and - is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in the Yukon. Source
“Trade Qualifier Challenge Option (Yes/No) Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/auto-body-collision/ellis-chart.shtml
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Exams
-
apprenticeship level 1 exam
Source
“- the apprenticeship level 1 exam based on: - your previous experience and training; - the requirements of your trade; and - recommendation from your employer.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam
Source
“- the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade based on: - your previous experience and training; and - the requirements of your trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
Written Certification Examination
Source
“Written Certification Examination Indicates if there is a written examination required for certification. In many provinces and territories, the Red Seal examination is used for both certification and Red Seal endorsement.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/auto-body-collision/ellis-chart.shtml -
Written Level Examinations
Source
“Written Level Examinations Indicates if written examinations are required to successfully complete and advance past each level of training”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/auto-body-collision/ellis-chart.shtml
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yukon | $28.45 | $36.46 | $47.47 | Undetermined |
| Canada | $18.50 | $27.00 | $40.00 | — |
Auto bodies and collision technicians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Certification required
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Certification required
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Certification required
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Compare auto body and collision technician licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Auto Body and Collision Technician - Ellis Chart ellischart.ca/eng/trades/auto-body-collision/ellis-chart.shtml · fetched October 9, 2026
- Learn about the apprenticeship program | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an auto body and collision technician in Yukon?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Yukon. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Training.
Which exams are required?
apprenticeship level 1 exam, journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam, Written Certification Examination, Written Level Examinations.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.