How to Become an Auto Body and Collision Technician in New Brunswick
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Auto body and collision technician is a voluntary trade in New Brunswick. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“A New Brunswick Diploma of Apprenticeship and a Certificate of Qualification will be awarded upon successful completion of 7,200 hours of on the job and technical training and the final examination.”
From gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated..., checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $25
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $100
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $25
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
You get a job in the trade so you can begin the apprenticeship pathway.
Source
“obtain employment and register as an apprentice”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
You register as an apprentice to enter the apprenticeship program.
- Apprentice registration: $25
Source
“| Apprentice registration | $25 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“obtain employment and register as an apprentice, successfully complete all apprenticeship program requirements”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... - Apprentice registration: $25
-
You successfully complete all apprenticeship program requirements, including the on-the-job and technical training requirements and examinations.
Source
“successfully complete all apprenticeship program requirements such as the on-the-job, technical training requirements and examinations”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
Upon successful completion you achieve a Diploma of Apprenticeship and Certificate of Qualification.
Source
“to achieve a Diploma of Apprenticeship and Certificate of Qualification”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $25
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Registration | $25 | 100% |
| One-time total | $25 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
You provide proof of a certificate of qualification from a jurisdiction outside New Brunswick.
Source
“supply proof of a certificate of qualification from a jurisdiction outside New Brunswick”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
You apply either to challenge the certification examination or to have your certification recognized based on equivalent standards.
Source
“application to challenge the certification examination or to recognize the certification based on equivalent standards”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
You start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience.
Source
“Start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
You contact Skilled Trades NB to find out whether you can challenge the certification exam or whether the apprenticeship program is the better path.
Source
“contact Skilled Trades NB to see if you can challenge the certification exam or if the apprenticeship program is the better path for your success”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
Your international education and work experience are reviewed to identify credit toward New Brunswick certification.
- Foreign credential assessment fee: $100
Source
“| Foreign credential assessment fee | $100 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Assessment of your experience: Your international education and work experience are reviewed to identify credit toward NB certification.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... - Foreign credential assessment fee: $100
-
A plan is developed and completed with Skilled Trades NB and your employer to address differences in language, terminology, safety, and trade practices and standards.
Source
“Personalized learning plan: Develop and complete a plan is created with Skilled Trades NB and your employer to address differences in language, terminology and safety and trade practices and standards.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
You attend training or challenge the exam when you are ready.
Source
“Training and certification exam: Attend training or challenge the exam when ready.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Assessment | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Certificate of qualification challenger assessment: $100
Source
“| Certificate of qualification challenger assessment | $100 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Certificate of qualification re-examination: $120
Source
“| Certificate of qualification re-examination | $120 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Practical examination: $350
Source
“| Practical examination | $350 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination: $200
Source
“| Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination | $200 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Letter of authenticity: $200
Source
“| Letter of authenticity | $200 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Replacement certificate: $20
Source
“| Replacement certificate | $20 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Work permit in a compulsory occupation: $200
Source
“| Work permit in a compulsory occupation | $200 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Assessment for prior learning: $100
Source
“| Assessment for prior learning | $100 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Photo identification card replacement: $20
Source
“| Photo identification card replacement | $20 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Progress record book replacement: $25
Source
“| Progress record book replacement | $25 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Requirements
Experience
A person who has gained the equivalent of 10,800 hours of practical experience in the auto body and collision technician occupation may apply to challenge the certification examination.
Source
“A person who has gained the equivalent of 10,800 hours of practical experience in the auto body and collision technician occupation may apply to challenge the certification examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...A New Brunswick Diploma of Apprenticeship and a Certificate of Qualification are awarded upon successful completion of 7,200 hours of on the job and technical training and the final examination.
Source
“A New Brunswick Diploma of Apprenticeship and a Certificate of Qualification will be awarded upon successful completion of 7,200 hours of on the job and technical training and the final examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Tradespeople with a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification or Red Seal endorsement can work in New Brunswick using their existing credential without first obtaining a New Brunswick Certificate of Qualification. Source
“Tradespeople with a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification (C of Q) or Red Seal endorsement can work in New Brunswick using their existing credential.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Exams
-
certification examination
Source
“A person who has gained the equivalent of 10,800 hours of practical experience in the auto body and collision technician occupation may apply to challenge the certification examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated... -
final examination
Source
“A New Brunswick Diploma of Apprenticeship and a Certificate of Qualification will be awarded upon successful completion of 7,200 hours of on the job and technical training and the final examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Brunswick | $17.00 | $26.50 | $32.00 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $18.50 | $27.00 | $40.00 | — |
Auto bodies and collision technicians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Certification required
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Certification required
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Certification required
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Compare auto body and collision technician licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- List of designated occupations - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated... · fetched October 11, 2026
- The apprenticeship and occupational certification program - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... · fetched October 11, 2026
- Fees and forms - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... · fetched October 11, 2026
- Internationally and nationally trained or certified trades people - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... · fetched October 11, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an auto body and collision technician in New Brunswick?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in New Brunswick. Certification is managed by the New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour.
Which exams are required?
certification examination, final examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.