How to Become a Carpenter in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Carpenter is a voluntary trade in Alberta. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“4-Period Apprenticeship Program Optional Certification”
From tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/002, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps
- Licensed in another province: 6 steps, listed one-time fees $355
- Trained outside Canada: 2 steps, listed one-time fees $205
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
Before applying to become a registered apprentice, you must make sure you meet the eligibility requirements.
Source
“Before you apply to become a registered apprentice, make sure you are eligible.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Before enrolling in classroom instruction, you must meet the entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses or alternatives such as an entrance exam.
Source
“Before you enroll in classes as a registered apprentice, you'll need to meet the entrance requirements.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
You complete the 4-period apprenticeship education program in the trade.
-
After completing your apprenticeship in this trade, you may take the Red Seal Exam.
Source
“You may take the Red Seal Exam upon the completion of your apprenticeship in this trade.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/002
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 6 done
- Listed one-time fees: $355
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.9 to 1.4 months (only 1 of 6 steps state a time)
-
You begin your application by applying online.
Source
“Begin your application by clicking Apply Now”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... -
You upload and attach a clear copy of your trade certificate to your application, translated into English if needed.
Source
“Upload and attach a clear copy of your trade certificate to your application.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... -
You pay the non-refundable application fee of $150 CAD.
- Application fee: $150
Source
“Pay the non-refundable $150 (CAD) application fee.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
Source
“Pay the non-refundable $150 (CAD) application fee.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... - Application fee: $150
-
Time: 4 to 6 weeks
Time source
“Processing time is approximately 4 to 6 weeks.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...Source
“We review your application and verify your trade certificate with the issuing jurisdiction.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... -
You must pass a practical exam that costs $205.00.
- Practical exam: $205
-
If you complete all program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card are mailed to you.
Source
“If you complete all Trades Qualifier – Recognized Credential program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card is mailed to you.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $355
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $150 | 42% |
| Exams | $205 | 58% |
| One-time total | $355 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 2 done
- Listed one-time fees: $205
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
You must complete 72 months and 9360 hours of verifiable Carpenter work experience.
Source
“1. Complete 72 months and 9360 hours of verifiable Carpenter work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/002 -
You must pass a practical exam that costs $205.00.
- Practical exam: $205
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $205
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $205 | 100% |
| One-time total | $205 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Entrance exam fee: $150
Source
“There is a $150 fee for writing an entrance exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent...
Requirements
Education
Applicants to the Recognized Credentials Program must submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/002Entrance requirements for apprenticeship include specific high school courses that you must have passed.
Source
“Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
Experience
Applicants to the Work Experience Program must complete 72 months and 9360 hours of verifiable Carpenter work experience.
Source
“1. Complete 72 months and 9360 hours of verifiable Carpenter work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/002
Other
Documents written in a language other than English must be translated into English by a member of a recognized translator association.
Source
“Documents written in a language other than English must be translated into English by a member of a recognized translator association.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Carpenters trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta or have the skills and knowledge expected of an Alberta journeyperson, and recognized credential applicants must pass a theory exam and a practical exam. Source
“Carpenters trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta or have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/carpenter
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Exams
-
practical exam
-
Red Seal Exam
Source
“You may take the Red Seal Exam upon the completion of your apprenticeship in this trade.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/002 -
entrance exam
Source
“There is a $150 fee for writing an entrance exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $22.22 | $34.00 | $42.00 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $22.00 | $32.12 | $44.23 | — |
Carpenters in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Tradesecrets - Carpenter tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/002 · fetched October 10, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Trades Qualifier- Recognized Credential Program Details tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Entrance Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Carpenter: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/carpenter · fetched October 8, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a carpenter in Alberta?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.
Which exams are required?
practical exam, Red Seal Exam, entrance exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.