How to Become a Carpenter in New Brunswick
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Carpenter is a voluntary trade in New Brunswick. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“New Brunswick has 12 compulsory trades under the Apprenticeship and Occupational Certification Act (AOC Act). In these trades, workers must hold the appropriate trade certification or be registered as an apprentice to perform the work.”
From gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr..., checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $275
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps, listed one-time fees $250
- Trained outside Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $250 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $275
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 48 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
-
You get a job in the trade and register as an apprentice.
- Apprentice registration: $25
Source
“Apprentice registration | $25”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Apprenticeship — obtain employment and register as an apprentice, successfully complete all apprenticeship program requirements such as the on-the-job, technical training requirements and examinations to achieve a Diploma of Apprenticeship and Certificate of Qualification.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... - Apprentice registration: $25
-
You successfully complete the on-the-job and technical training requirements of the apprenticeship program.
Time: 4 yearsTime source
“average time to complete apprenticeship is 4 years”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fast-facts...Source
“Apprenticeship — obtain employment and register as an apprentice, successfully complete all apprenticeship program requirements such as the on-the-job, technical training requirements and examinations to achieve a Diploma of Apprenticeship and Certificate of Qualification.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
You pass the final examination after completing the required training hours.
- Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Source
“Certificate of qualification examination | $250”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“A New Brunswick Diploma of Apprenticeship and a Certificate of Qualification are awarded upon successful completion of 7,200 hours of on the job and technical training and the final examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated... - Certificate of qualification examination: $250
-
After completing the training hours and the final examination, you are awarded a New Brunswick Diploma of Apprenticeship and a Certificate of Qualification.
Source
“A New Brunswick Diploma of Apprenticeship and a Certificate of Qualification are awarded upon successful completion of 7,200 hours of on the job and technical training and the final examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $275
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $25 | 9% |
| Exams | $250 | 91% |
| One-time total | $275 | 100% |
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- Listed one-time fees: $250
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
You provide proof of a certificate of qualification from a jurisdiction outside New Brunswick along with your application.
Source
“Equivalency Standards — supply proof of a certificate of qualification from a jurisdiction outside New Brunswick and application to challenge the certification examination or to recognize the certification based on equivalent standards.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
You apply either to challenge the certification examination or to have your certification recognized based on equivalent standards.
- Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Source
“Certificate of qualification examination | $250”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Equivalency Standards — supply proof of a certificate of qualification from a jurisdiction outside New Brunswick and application to challenge the certification examination or to recognize the certification based on equivalent standards.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... - Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $250
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $250 | 100% |
| One-time total | $250 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $250
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
You start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience.
Source
“Start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience then, contact Skilled Trades NB to see if you can challenge the certification exam or if the apprenticeship program is the better path for your success.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
You contact Skilled Trades NB to find out whether you can challenge the certification exam or whether the apprenticeship program is the better path.
- Foreign credential assessment fee: $100 (for foreign credential assessment)
Source
“Foreign credential assessment fee | $100”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience then, contact Skilled Trades NB to see if you can challenge the certification exam or if the apprenticeship program is the better path for your success.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... - Foreign credential assessment fee: $100 (for foreign credential assessment)
-
Your international education and work experience are reviewed to identify credit toward New Brunswick certification.
Source
“Assessment of your experience: Your international education and work experience are reviewed to identify credit toward NB certification.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
You develop and complete a personalized learning plan created with Skilled Trades NB and your employer to address differences in language, terminology, safety, and trade practices and standards.
Source
“Personalized learning plan: Develop and complete a plan is created with Skilled Trades NB and your employer to address differences in language, terminology and safety and trade practices and standards.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
You attend training or challenge the certification exam when you are ready.
- Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Source
“Certificate of qualification examination | $250”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Training and certification exam: Attend training or challenge the exam when ready.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... - Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $250
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $250 | 100% |
| One-time total | $250 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Certificate of qualification challenger assessment: $100
Source
“Certificate of qualification challenger assessment | $100”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Certificate of qualification re-examination: $120
Source
“Certificate of qualification re-examination | $120”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Practical examination: $350
Source
“Practical examination | $350”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination: $200
Source
“Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination | $200”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Letter of authenticity: $200
Source
“Letter of authenticity | $200”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Replacement certificate: $20
Source
“Replacement certificate | $20”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Work permit in a compulsory occupation: $200
Source
“Work permit in a compulsory occupation | $200”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Assessment for prior learning: $100
Source
“Assessment for prior learning | $100”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Photo identification card replacement: $20
Source
“Photo identification card replacement | $20”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Progress record book replacement: $25
Source
“Progress record book replacement | $25”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Requirements
Education
To receive a New Brunswick Diploma of Apprenticeship and a Certificate of Qualification, you must successfully complete 7,200 hours of on the job and technical training and the final examination.
Source
“A New Brunswick Diploma of Apprenticeship and a Certificate of Qualification are awarded upon successful completion of 7,200 hours of on the job and technical training and the final examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...
Experience
To challenge the certification examination, you must have gained the equivalent of 10,800 hours of practical experience in the carpenter occupation.
Source
“A person who has gained the equivalent of 10,800 hours of practical experience in the carpenter occupation may apply to challenge the certification examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Tradespeople with a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification or Red Seal endorsement can work in New Brunswick using their existing credential without first obtaining a New Brunswick Certificate of Qualification. Source
“Tradespeople with a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification (C of Q) or Red Seal endorsement can work in New Brunswick using their existing credential.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Credential assessment
Assessment of your experience
Your international education and work experience are reviewed to identify credit toward NB certification.
Source
“Assessment of your experience: Your international education and work experience are reviewed to identify credit toward NB certification.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...
Exams
-
Certification examination
Source
“A person who has gained the equivalent of 10,800 hours of practical experience in the carpenter occupation may apply to challenge the certification examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated... -
Final examination
Source
“A New Brunswick Diploma of Apprenticeship and a Certificate of Qualification are awarded upon successful completion of 7,200 hours of on the job and technical training and the final examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated... -
Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination
Source
“Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination | $200”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...Which provinces ask for the Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Brunswick | $18.00 | $24.00 | $34.00 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $22.00 | $32.12 | $44.23 | — |
Carpenters in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Internationally and nationally trained or certified trades people - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... · fetched October 11, 2026
- The apprenticeship and occupational certification program - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... · fetched October 11, 2026
- Fees and forms - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... · fetched October 11, 2026
- Fast facts about Skilled Trades NB - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fast-facts... · fetched October 11, 2026
- List of designated occupations - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated... · fetched October 11, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a carpenter in New Brunswick?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in New Brunswick. Certification is managed by the New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour.
Which exams are required?
Certification examination, Final examination, Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.