How to Become a Carpenter in Saskatchewan
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Carpenter is a voluntary trade in Saskatchewan. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Carpenter Construction Sector Red Seal”
From saskapprenticeship.ca/designated-trades-searchable, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: no separate route
- Licensed in another province: no separate route
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
No separate route for this group. Source
“A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...
Licensed in another province
No separate route for this group. Source
“This list is provided as a part of Saskatchewan’s commitment to the New West Partnership agreement to support greater mobility for apprentices between British Columbia, Alberta and Saskatchewan.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/note-if-the-trade-you-are-looking-for-is-not-...
Trained outside Canada
No separate route for this group. Source
“While completing Grade 12 is encouraged, it is not a requirement for apprenticeship entry.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- registration fee: $200 (increased from $175 to $200)
Source
“registration fee will increase from $175 to $200;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - written exam fee: $125 (increased from $100 to $125)
Source
“written exam fee will increase from $100 to $125;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - practical exam fee: $175 (increased from $160 to $175)
Source
“practical exam fee will increase from $160 to $175;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - examination review fee: $125 (increased from $100 to $125)
Source
“examination review fee will increase from $100 to $125.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - tuition fees: $105 (per week, for most programs)
Source
“Tuition fees are increasing by $10 per week, from $95 per week to $105 per week for most programs.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
Requirements
Education
A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan, though completing Grade 12 is not required for entry.
Source
“A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...
Other
Modified or general math and science classes do not meet entry requirements.
Source
“However, “modified” or “general” math and science classes don’t meet entry requirements.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...Former Canadian military personnel must provide a QL5 certificate and an MPRR to be deemed to have full trade time.
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Saskatchewan. Source
“This list is provided as a part of Saskatchewan’s commitment to the New West Partnership agreement to support greater mobility for apprentices between British Columbia, Alberta and Saskatchewan.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/note-if-the-trade-you-are-looking-for-is-not-...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Exams
-
Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination
Source
“may apply to challenge the Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination”
saskapprenticeship.ca/former-canadian-military-personnel -
written exam
Source
“written exam fee will increase from $100 to $125;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates -
practical exam
Source
“practical exam fee will increase from $160 to $175;”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates -
Level One Examination
-
Level Two Examination
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saskatchewan | $19.00 | $30.00 | $40.00 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $22.00 | $32.12 | $44.23 | — |
Carpenters in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Designated Trades | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/designated-trades-searchable · fetched October 11, 2026
- Entrance Requirements for Apprenticeship Training | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai... · fetched October 9, 2026
- NOTE: IF THE TRADE YOU ARE LOOKING FOR IS NOT IN THIS LIST, REVIEW THE DESIGNATED TRADES OFFERED IN ALBERTA AND BC. | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/note-if-the-trade-you-are-looking-for-is-not-... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Former Canadian Military Personnel | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/former-canadian-military-personnel · fetched October 9, 2026
- APPRENTICESHIP FEE UPDATES | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates · fetched October 9, 2026
- Carpenter | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/carpenter · fetched October 11, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a carpenter in Saskatchewan?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Saskatchewan. Certification is managed by the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.
Which exams are required?
Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination, written exam, practical exam, Level One Examination, Level Two Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.