How to Become a Chiropractor in Alberta
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Chiropractors of Alberta to work as a chiropractor in Alberta or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Under Alberta’s Health Professions Act [pdf] and Chiropractors Profession Regulation [pdf], registration with the College of Chiropractors of Alberta CCOA is mandatory.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/chiropractor, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps
- Licensed in another province: 6 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 6 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Chiropractors of Alberta
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
-
You fill out and submit the application form.
-
You submit a copy of your Canadian birth certificate, passport, or proof that you are eligible to work in Canada.
Source
“A copy of your Canadian birth certificate, passport, or proof of eligibility to work in Canada, such as a Visa or permanent resident card.”
theccoa.ca/new-graduates-or-practicing-internationally -
You pay the application fee, which is posted to your Portal after your application is received and is not refundable.
Source
“Pay the application fee (will be posted to your Portal once application is received). Application fee is non-refundable.”
theccoa.ca/new-graduates-or-practicing-internationally -
You complete the online jurisprudence examination, with the link sent to you once the application fee has been paid.
Source
“Complete the online jurisprudence examination. (A link will be sent to you once application fee has been paid.)”
theccoa.ca/new-graduates-or-practicing-internationally -
After receiving the decision letter, you must have proof of professional liability protection of at least $5,000,000 per claim and $5,000,000 aggregate sent directly from the insurance provider to the College.
Source
“Upon receipt of this letter, proof of professional liability protection (PLP) or insurance (PLI) of at least $5,000,000 per claim and $5,000,000 aggregate will be required.”
theccoa.ca/new-graduates-or-practicing-internationally -
Once your insurance proof is received, you pay the registration dues posted to your Portal, which is the last step before a practice permit is approved.
Source
“Upon receipt of your PLP/PLI, your registration dues will be posted to your Portal. Payment of these dues is the last step before being approved for a practice permit.”
theccoa.ca/new-graduates-or-practicing-internationally
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Chiropractors of Alberta
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
-
You fill out and submit the application form.
-
You submit a copy of your Canadian birth certificate, passport, or proof that you are eligible to work in Canada.
Source
“A copy of your Canadian birth certificate, passport, or proof of eligibility to work in Canada, such as a Visa or permanent resident card.”
theccoa.ca/registration-for-individuals-registered-in-canada -
You pay the application fee, which is posted to your Portal after your application is received and is not refundable.
Source
“Pay the application fee (will be posted to your Portal once application is received). Application fee is non-refundable.”
theccoa.ca/registration-for-individuals-registered-in-canada -
You complete the online jurisprudence examination, with the link sent to you once the application fee has been paid.
Source
“Complete the online jurisprudence examination. (A link will be sent to you once application fee has been paid)”
theccoa.ca/registration-for-individuals-registered-in-canada -
After receiving the decision letter, you must have proof of professional liability protection of at least $5,000,000 per claim and $5,000,000 aggregate sent directly from the insurance provider to the College.
Source
“Upon receipt of this letter, proof of professional liability protection (PLP) or insurance (PLI) of at least $5,000,000 per claim and $5,000,000 aggregate will be required.”
theccoa.ca/registration-for-individuals-registered-in-canada -
Once your insurance proof is received, you pay the registration dues posted to your Portal, which is the last step before a practice permit is approved.
Source
“Upon receipt of your PLP/PLI, your registration dues will be posted to your Portal. Payment of these dues is the last step before being approved for a practice permit.”
theccoa.ca/registration-for-individuals-registered-in-canada
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Chiropractors of Alberta
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
-
You fill out and submit the application form.
-
You submit a copy of your Canadian birth certificate, passport, or proof that you are eligible to work in Canada.
Source
“A copy of your Canadian birth certificate, passport, or proof of eligibility to work in Canada, such as a Visa or permanent resident card.”
theccoa.ca/new-graduates-or-practicing-internationally -
You pay the application fee, which is posted to your Portal after your application is received and is not refundable.
Source
“Pay the application fee (will be posted to your Portal once application is received). Application fee is non-refundable.”
theccoa.ca/new-graduates-or-practicing-internationally -
You complete the online jurisprudence examination, with the link sent to you once the application fee has been paid.
Source
“Complete the online jurisprudence examination. (A link will be sent to you once application fee has been paid.)”
theccoa.ca/new-graduates-or-practicing-internationally -
After receiving the decision letter, you must have proof of professional liability protection of at least $5,000,000 per claim and $5,000,000 aggregate sent directly from the insurance provider to the College.
Source
“Upon receipt of this letter, proof of professional liability protection (PLP) or insurance (PLI) of at least $5,000,000 per claim and $5,000,000 aggregate will be required.”
theccoa.ca/new-graduates-or-practicing-internationally -
Once your insurance proof is received, you pay the registration dues posted to your Portal, which is the last step before a practice permit is approved.
Source
“Upon receipt of your PLP/PLI, your registration dues will be posted to your Portal. Payment of these dues is the last step before being approved for a practice permit.”
theccoa.ca/new-graduates-or-practicing-internationally
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Chiropractors of Alberta
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Education
You must have obtained a degree from an accredited Doctor of Chiropractic program approved by the CCOA Council, including two years of treating patients in a supervised clinic setting.
Source
“Have obtained a degree from an accredited Doctor of Chiropractic program, including treating patients in a supervised clinic setting for two years, approved by the CCOA Council.”
theccoa.ca/registration-and-competence
Police check
You must provide a Canadian Police Information Check with Vulnerable Sector Search through a local police agency or RCMP detachment.
Source
“A Canadian Police Information Check with Vulnerable Sector Search through a local police agency or RCMP detachment”
theccoa.ca/registration-for-individuals-registered-in-canada
Insurance
You must personally hold professional liability insurance of $5 million per claim and $5 million aggregate as a condition of registration.
Source
“Personally hold professional liability insurance/protectionin the amount of $5 million per claim and $5 million aggregate.”
theccoa.ca/new-graduates-or-practicing-internationally
Good character
You must meet good character requirements and advise CCOA immediately of any criminal charges or complaints and discipline from other regulators or associations.
Source
“Meet good character requirements and advise CCOA immediately of any criminal charges or complaints and discipline from other regulators or associations.”
theccoa.ca/registration-and-competence
Other
You must pass the national two-part written and clinical competency examination.
Source
“Pass the national two-part written and clinical competency examination.”
theccoa.ca/registration-and-competenceNew graduates applying must have completed the Canadian Chiropractic Examining Board (CCEB) exams.
Source
“new graduates that have NOT been registered in another jurisdiction before and who have completed the Canadian Chiropractic Examining Board (CCEB) exams”
theccoa.ca/new-graduates-or-practicing-internationallyYou must demonstrate proficiency in English, which can be done by completing your chiropractic education in English, submitting employer letters confirming fluent English communication, or passing an approved English language test.
Source
“All applicants must demonstrate proficiency in the English language to be able to safely and competently practice as a chiropractor.”
theccoa.ca/new-graduates-or-practicing-internationallyYou must be trained in trauma-informed care.
You must maintain certification in Basic Life Support including CPR.
Source
“Maintain certification in Basic Life Support including CPR”
theccoa.ca/registration-and-competenceYou must participate in the CCOA continuing competence program for professional development.
Source
“Participate in the CCOA continuing competence program for professional development.”
theccoa.ca/registration-and-competenceYou must renew your practice permit annually.
Applicants who have been out of practice for a period of time may also have to demonstrate that they are currently competent to practice.
Source
“Applicants who have been out of practice for a period of time also may have to demonstrate that they are currently competent to practice.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/chiropractor
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Applicants registered as chiropractors in another Canadian province or territory with a similar register type may be eligible for a streamlined registration process, completing the application, fee and jurisprudence exam without retaking an entry-to-practice exam or competence assessment. Source
“If you are registered in Canada, you may be eligible for a streamlined registration process.”
theccoa.ca/registration-for-individuals-registered-in-canada
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Chiropractors of Alberta
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Chiropractors of Alberta
Exams
-
online jurisprudence examination
Source
“Complete the online jurisprudence examination. (A link will be sent to you once application fee has been paid.)”
theccoa.ca/new-graduates-or-practicing-internationally -
national two-part written and clinical competency examination
Source
“Pass the national two-part written and clinical competency examination.”
theccoa.ca/registration-and-competence -
Canadian Chiropractic Examining Board (CCEB) exams
Source
“new graduates that have NOT been registered in another jurisdiction before and who have completed the Canadian Chiropractic Examining Board (CCEB) exams”
theccoa.ca/new-graduates-or-practicing-internationally
Language tests
No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with College of Chiropractors of Alberta
Exemptions: You may meet the language requirement by completing your chiropractic education in English, submitting letters from previous employers confirming your ability to fluently communicate in English, or passing an approved English language test by a CCOA-designated exam provider. Source
“You may meet the language requirement in one of three ways:”
theccoa.ca/new-graduates-or-practicing-internationally
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Chiropractors of Alberta
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Chiropractors of Alberta
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $32,867 | $53,600 | $134,000 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $32,867 | $62,000 | $138,000 | — |
Chiropractors in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Licence required
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Chiropractor: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/chiropractor · fetched October 10, 2026
- New Graduates and Internationally Educated Chiropractors - CCOA theccoa.ca/new-graduates-or-practicing-internationally · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration for Canadian Chiropractors Moving to Alberta - CCOA theccoa.ca/registration-for-individuals-registered-in-canada · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration and Competence for Alberta Chiropractors - CCOA theccoa.ca/registration-and-competence · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a chiropractor in Alberta?
Yes. Registration with the College of Chiropractors of Alberta is required to practise in Alberta.
Which exams are required?
online jurisprudence examination, national two-part written and clinical competency examination, Canadian Chiropractic Examining Board (CCEB) exams.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.