How to Become a Chiropractor in British Columbia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Complementary Health Professionals of BC to work as a chiropractor in British Columbia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“In order to practice in British Columbia, chiropractic doctors must be licenced through the College.”
From cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/applicants, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 2 steps
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
-
- Full Licence renewal fee: $1,600
Source
“Licence Renewal Fees Full Licence: $1,600”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/fees-chiropractors - Non-practising licence renewal fee: $75
Source
“Non-practising licence: $75”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/fees-chiropractors - Chiropractors renewal fee for July 31, 2026 (8 months): $1,066.67 (for the 8-month renewal period ending July 31, 2026)
Source
“Chiropractors July 31, 2026 8 Months Stage one $1,066.67”
cchpbc.ca/the-college-of-complementary-health-professionals-is-upda... - Chiropractors renewal fee for March 31, 2027 (12 months): $1,650 (for the 12-month renewal period ending March 31, 2027)
Source
“Chiropractors March 31, 2027 12 Months Stage two $1,650”
cchpbc.ca/the-college-of-complementary-health-professionals-is-upda... - Health profession corporation permit renewal: $75
- Annual Renewal Fee (Stage One, 2025-2026): $1,600
Source
“| Annual Renewal Fee | $1,600 | $890 | $2645\* | $990 |”
cchpbc.ca/the-college-of-complementary-health-professionals-is-upda... - Current Annual Fee: $1,550
Source
“| Current Annual Fee | $1,550 | $750 | $2,090 | $850 |”
cchpbc.ca/the-college-of-complementary-health-professionals-is-upda...
- Full Licence renewal fee: $1,600
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $4,900
-
The applicant graduates from a recognized chiropractic education program.
Source
“There are several requirements to become a chiropractor in BC including graduation from a recognized chiropractic education program”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/applicants -
The applicant completes the Canadian Chiropractic Examining Board exams.
Source
“completion of the Canadian Chiropractic Examining Board (CCEB) exams”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/applicants
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CCHPBC
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $4,900 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Full Licence renewal fee: $1,600
Source
“Licence Renewal Fees Full Licence: $1,600”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/fees-chiropractors - Non-practising licence renewal fee: $75
Source
“Non-practising licence: $75”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/fees-chiropractors - Chiropractors renewal fee for July 31, 2026 (8 months): $1,066.67 (for the 8-month renewal period ending July 31, 2026)
Source
“Chiropractors July 31, 2026 8 Months Stage one $1,066.67”
cchpbc.ca/the-college-of-complementary-health-professionals-is-upda... - Chiropractors renewal fee for March 31, 2027 (12 months): $1,650 (for the 12-month renewal period ending March 31, 2027)
Source
“Chiropractors March 31, 2027 12 Months Stage two $1,650”
cchpbc.ca/the-college-of-complementary-health-professionals-is-upda... - Health profession corporation permit renewal: $75
- Annual Renewal Fee (Stage One, 2025-2026): $1,600
Source
“| Annual Renewal Fee | $1,600 | $890 | $2645\* | $990 |”
cchpbc.ca/the-college-of-complementary-health-professionals-is-upda... - Current Annual Fee: $1,550
Source
“| Current Annual Fee | $1,550 | $750 | $2,090 | $850 |”
cchpbc.ca/the-college-of-complementary-health-professionals-is-upda...
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $4,900
-
The applicant holds licensure equivalent to a licensee in good standing in the other jurisdiction and is not subject to any practice limitations, restrictions, or conditions there.
Source
“I. holds licensure as the equivalent of a Licensee in good standing in the other jurisdiction II. is not subject to any practice limitations, restrictions, or conditions in the other jurisdiction”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/applicants -
The submitted application is reviewed by staff from the CCHPBC licensure team, and any outstanding requirements are communicated by email.
Source
“All applications submitted will be reviewed by staff from the CCHPBC licensure team. All outstanding requirements will be communicated via email.”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/applicants
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CCHPBC
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $4,900 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Full Licence renewal fee: $1,600
Source
“Licence Renewal Fees Full Licence: $1,600”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/fees-chiropractors - Non-practising licence renewal fee: $75
Source
“Non-practising licence: $75”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/fees-chiropractors - Chiropractors renewal fee for July 31, 2026 (8 months): $1,066.67 (for the 8-month renewal period ending July 31, 2026)
Source
“Chiropractors July 31, 2026 8 Months Stage one $1,066.67”
cchpbc.ca/the-college-of-complementary-health-professionals-is-upda... - Chiropractors renewal fee for March 31, 2027 (12 months): $1,650 (for the 12-month renewal period ending March 31, 2027)
Source
“Chiropractors March 31, 2027 12 Months Stage two $1,650”
cchpbc.ca/the-college-of-complementary-health-professionals-is-upda... - Health profession corporation permit renewal: $75
- Annual Renewal Fee (Stage One, 2025-2026): $1,600
Source
“| Annual Renewal Fee | $1,600 | $890 | $2645\* | $990 |”
cchpbc.ca/the-college-of-complementary-health-professionals-is-upda... - Current Annual Fee: $1,550
Source
“| Current Annual Fee | $1,550 | $750 | $2,090 | $850 |”
cchpbc.ca/the-college-of-complementary-health-professionals-is-upda...
Trained outside Canada
- Annual fees: $4,900
No separate route for this group. Source
“Chiropractors who have never practised before or who have practised in a jurisdiction other than British Columbia can apply for full registration (practising).”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/applicants
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Reinstatement to Full licence application fee (after three years or less): $225 (after three years or less)
Source
“Reinstatement to Full licence (after three years or less): $225”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/fees-chiropractors - Reinstatement to Full Licence application fee (after more than three years): $300 (after more than three years)
Source
“Reinstatement to Full Licence (after more than three years): $300”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/fees-chiropractors - Transfer from Non-Practising to Full Licensure: $225 (on or before March 1, 2027)
Source
“Transfer from Non-Practising to Full Licensure on or before March 1, 2027: $225”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/fees-chiropractors - Equivalency Determination Fee: $300
Source
“Equivalency Determination Fee: $300”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/fees-chiropractors - Certificate of Standing Fee: $50
Source
“Certificate of Standing Fee: $50”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/fees-chiropractors - Change of licence status: Full licence to Non-Practising licence: $75
Source
“Full licence to Non-Practising licence: $75”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/fees-chiropractors - Change of licence status: Non-Practising licence to Full licence: $225
Source
“Non-Practising licence to Full licence $225”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/fees-chiropractors - Health profession corporation permit application: $150
- Health profession corporation late permit renewal: $125 (when the permit is renewed late)
Source
“Late permit renewal: $125”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/fees-chiropractors
Requirements
Education
The applicant must provide evidence of graduation from a Recognized Education Program confirming graduation no more than three years prior to the date of application.
Source
“Original documentation, notarized copy, or other evidence satisfactory to the Registrar of graduation from a Recognized Education Program for the Licence applied for as specified in Schedule 4: Part 1 Chiropractic confirming graduation no more than three years prior to the date of Application”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/applicants
Police check
The applicant must provide a Criminal Record Check Authorization, and if they have practised a health profession in another jurisdiction, an authorization for a criminal record check in that jurisdiction and/or a criminal record report.
Source
“Criminal Record Check Authorization, and, in the case of a Licence Applicant who has practised a Health Profession in another jurisdiction, an authorization for a Criminal Record Check in that jurisdiction and/or a criminal record report”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/applicants
Insurance
The applicant must have professional liability protection or liability insurance coverage of at least $5,000,000 per claim or occurrence.
Source
“Confirmation of compliance, with requirement to have professional liability protection or liability insurance coverage in an amount of at least $5,000,000 per claim or occurrence”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/applicants
Good character
The applicant must declare or otherwise demonstrate they are of good character and will practise chiropractic in an ethical manner.
Source
“Declaration or other information demonstrating the Licence Applicant is of good character and will practise Chiropractic in an ethical manner”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/applicants
Other
The applicant must hold current first aid certification as required for the chiropractic class of licence.
Source
“Current first aid certification as required for Chiropractic class of Licence in accordance with Schedule 4: Part 1 Chiropractic”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/applicantsThe applicant must provide information confirming their English language proficiency in accordance with the Registrar's English Language Proficiency policy.
Source
“information confirming the Licence Applicant’s English language proficiency in a form satisfactory to, or in accordance with, the English Language Proficiency policy established by the Registrar”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/applicantsThe applicant must confirm they are a Canadian citizen, permanent resident of Canada, or otherwise authorized to work in Canada.
Source
“information confirming the Licence Applicant is a Canadian citizen, permanent resident of Canada, or is otherwise authorized to work in Canada”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/applicantsThe applicant must provide information confirming mandatory vaccinations against transmissible illnesses required by or under an act or regulation other than the bylaws.
Source
“information confirming the Licence Applicant’s mandatory vaccinations against transmissible illnesses required by or under an act or regulation other than these Bylaws”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/applicantsThe applicant must pay any outstanding amount owed to the College, including amounts accrued to a former regulatory college.
Source
“payment of any outstanding amount owed or owing by the Licence Applicant to the College, including without limitation any amount accrued or accruing to a Former Regulatory College prior to its amalgamation with the College”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/applicants
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
An applicant who currently holds a practising chiropractic licence in another Canadian jurisdiction must be in good standing and free of practice limitations there, and provides all full licence requirements except the eligibility standards, the graduation documentation, and possibly the English language proficiency information. Source
“Applicants who currently hold practising Chiropractic licence in another Canadian Jurisdiction Eligibility: I. holds licensure as the equivalent of a Licensee in good standing in the other jurisdiction II. is not subject to any practice limitations, restrictions, or conditions in the other jurisdiction; and III. Provides all requirements under full licence, with the exception of:”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/applicants
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CCHPBC
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with CCHPBC
Exams
-
Canadian Chiropractic Examining Board (CCEB) exams
Source
“completion of the Canadian Chiropractic Examining Board (CCEB) exams”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/applicants -
jurisprudence Examination
Source
“proof of successful completion of the jurisprudence Examination and any other Examinations required and approved by the Licence Committee”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/applicants
Language tests
No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with CCHPBC
Exemptions: Subject to English language proficiency requirements in their current jurisdiction, an applicant licensed in another Canadian jurisdiction may not need to provide information regarding the ELP requirement. Source
“Subject to English language proficiency (ELP) requirements required in current jurisdiction, applicant may not need to provide information regarding ELP requirement.”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/applicants
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with CCHPBC
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with CCHPBC
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $37,929 | $60,000 | $130,000 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $32,867 | $62,000 | $138,000 | — |
Chiropractors in other provinces and territories
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Licence required
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Chiropractors - Applicants - CCHPBC cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/applicants · fetched October 10, 2026
- Fees: Chiropractors - CCHPBC cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/chiropractic-doctors/fees-chiropractors · fetched October 10, 2026
- The College of Complementary Health Professionals is updating its fee structure in the 2025-2026 fiscal year - CCHPBC cchpbc.ca/the-college-of-complementary-health-professionals-is-upda... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a chiropractor in British Columbia?
Yes. Registration with the College of Complementary Health Professionals of BC is required to practise in British Columbia.
Which exams are required?
Canadian Chiropractic Examining Board (CCEB) exams, jurisprudence Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.