At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Annual fees

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 6 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $146
  1. You complete and submit the online application form and declarations to ACSLPA.

    Source
    “Complete the online application form and declarations.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-new-canadi...
  2. You ask your university to send an official transcript confirming the dates you received your Clinical Masters directly to ACSLPA.

    Source
    “To show evidence of competence to practice, have your university send an official transcript confirming the date(s) on which you received your Clinical Masters directly to ACSLPA.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-new-canadi...
  3. You email a current reference letter to ACSLPA using its Reference Request Form.

    Source
    “To show evidence of good character and reputation, email a current reference letter to ACSLPA . Please use ACSLPA’s Reference Request Form”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-new-canadi...
  4. You have an original Police Information Check digitally shared with ACSLPA by your local police service, or mailed to ACSLPA if digital sharing is not available.

    Source
    “To show evidence of good character and reputation, have an original Police Information Check (PIC) digitally shared with ACSLPA by your local police service or, if your local police service is not setup to share digital PICs with ACSLPA, have your original PIC mailed to ACSLPA.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-new-canadi...
  5. When completing the online application form, you provide information about your professional liability insurance that meets ACSLPA's requirements.

    Source
    “When completing the online application form, provide information about your Professional Liability Insurance that meets ACSLPA’s requirements.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-new-canadi...
  6. You pay the applicable application fee, and after approval the registration and practice permit fees, in the application portal.

    Source
    “Applicable application and credential assessment fees must be paid before your application will be reviewed:”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-new-canadi...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with ACSLPA

6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $146 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

Licensed in another province

  • 6 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $146
  1. You provide a letter verifying your regulatory history from each regulator with which you have been registered.

    Source
    “Provide a letter verifying your regulatory history from each regulator with which you have been registered. Please contact your previous regulator(s) and request a verification of registration”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-canadian-l...
  2. You complete the online application form and declarations.

    Source
    “Complete the online application form and declarations.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-canadian-l...
  3. You have an original Police Information Check digitally shared with ACSLPA by your local police service, or mailed to ACSLPA if digital sharing is not available.

    Source
    “To show evidence of good character and reputation, have an original Police Information Check (PIC) digitally shared with ACSLPA by your local police service or, if your local police service is not setup to share digital PICs with ACSLPA, have your original PIC mailed to ACSLPA.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-canadian-l...
  4. When completing the online application form, you provide information about your professional liability insurance that meets ACSLPA's requirements.

    Source
    “When completing the online application form, provide information about your Professional Liability Insurance that meets ACSLPA’s requirements.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-canadian-l...
  5. You pay the applicable application fee, and after approval the registration and practice permit fees, in the application portal.

    Source
    “Applicable application and credential assessment fees must be paid before your application will be reviewed:”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-canadian-l...
  6. If you are registered in a province where the official language is French or both French and English, and have not already shown English language proficiency in another Canadian province, you must provide evidence of English language proficiency.

    Source
    “Are you registered in a province where the official language is French or both French and English? You must provide evidence of English language proficiency if you have not already provided evidence of English language proficiency in another Canadian province.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-canadian-l...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with ACSLPA

6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $146 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

Trained outside Canada

  • 6 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $146
  1. Source
    “Complete the online application form and declarations.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-graduate-o...
  2. You have the universities where you obtained your undergraduate and graduate degrees send official transcripts confirming the dates you received your Clinical degree(s) directly to ACSLPA.

    Source
    “To facilitate determining whether your coursework is substantially equivalent to a Canadian accredited program, have the universities where you obtained your undergraduate and graduate degrees send an official transcript confirming the date(s) on which you received your Clinical degree(s) directly to ACSLPA.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-graduate-o...
  3. You have an original Police Information Check digitally shared with ACSLPA by your local police service, or mailed to ACSLPA if digital sharing is not available.

    Source
    “To show evidence of good character and reputation, have an original Police Information Check (PIC) digitally shared with ACSLPA by your local police service or, if your local police service is not setup to share digital PICs with ACSLPA, have your original PIC mailed to ACSLPA.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-graduate-o...
  4. When completing the online application form, you provide information about your professional liability insurance that meets ACSLPA's requirements.

    Source
    “When completing the online application form, provide information about your Professional Liability Insurance that meets ACSLPA’s requirements.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-graduate-o...
  5. You pay the application fee and credential assessment fee when your application form is submitted, and the registration and practice permit fees once your application is approved.

    Source
    “Applicable application and credential assessment fees must be paid before your application will be reviewed:”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-graduate-o...
  6. Applicants trained outside of a Canadian accredited program must pass an approved entry-to-practice examination.

    Source
    “Applicants trained outside of a Canadian accredited program seeking to become a Registered Speech-Language Pathologist (R.SLP) or Audiologist (R.Aud) in Alberta must pass an approved entry-to-practice examination.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with ACSLPA

6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $146 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

  • Police Information Check (PIC): $60 (approximately $60 to $80, paid to your local police service; confirm actual cost with the police service where you reside)
    Source
    “The cost of a PIC is approximately $60 to $80. Please confirm actual cost with the police service in the area in which you reside.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered

Requirements

Education

Police check

  • All applicants for registration must submit a current Police Information Check at the time of their initial and any subsequent registration application.

    Source
    “All applicants for registration must submit a current PIC at the time of their initial and any subsequent registration application.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered

Insurance

  • You cannot be registered, volunteer, or work as a speech-language pathologist in Alberta without having professional liability insurance in place.

    Source
    “You are not able to be registered, volunteer, or work as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist in Alberta without having PLI in place.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered

Good character

  • You must give evidence of good character and reputation, including a current reference letter.

    Source
    “To show evidence of good character and reputation, email a current reference letter to ACSLPA .”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-new-canadi...
  • You must give evidence of having good character and reputation, and a criminal conviction may raise questions about a professional's character and reputation.

    Source
    “Under the *Health Professions Act* and the* Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists Profession Regulations,* you must give evidence of having good character and reputation.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

Applicants registered with a practice permit on the equivalent of ACSLPA's General Register in another province apply through the Canadian Labour Mobility stream by providing verification of registration, an application form, a police information check, liability insurance and fees, with no entry-to-practice exam or competence assessment listed.

Source
“An applicant registered with a practice permit on the equivalent of ACSLPA’s General Register in another province (e.g., not provisionally registered).”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-canadian-l...

  1. Provide registration verification

    Source
    “Provide a letter verifying your regulatory history from each regulator with which you have been registered.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-canadian-l...
  2. Complete application form

    Source
    “Complete the online application form and declarations.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-canadian-l...
  3. Provide police information check

    Source
    “To show evidence of good character and reputation, have an original Police Information Check (PIC) digitally shared with ACSLPA by your local police service or, if your local police service is not setup to share digital PICs with ACSLPA, have your original PIC mailed to ACSLPA.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-canadian-l...
  4. Provide liability insurance

    Source
    “When completing the online application form, provide information about your Professional Liability Insurance that meets ACSLPA’s requirements.”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-canadian-l...
  5. Pay required fees

    Source
    “Applicable application and credential assessment fees must be paid before your application will be reviewed:”
    acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-canadian-l...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with ACSLPA

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with ACSLPA

Exams

Not stated by the regulator Check with ACSLPA

Language tests

Test OverallListeningReadingWritingSpeakingCLB Source
OET — — — — — 9
Source
“OET and TOEFL equivalencies are mapped to the IELTS CLB 9 equivalency charts as these tests are not currently accepted by IRCC.”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered
TOEFL — — — — — 9
Source
“OET and TOEFL equivalencies are mapped to the IELTS CLB 9 equivalency charts as these tests are not currently accepted by IRCC.”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered

Exemptions: You can show English language proficiency by graduating from a CACUP-accredited English language program or by completing at least three years of full-time post-secondary education in English.

Source
“Completion of studies in English. Proficiency is confirmed if the applicant has completed at least three years of full-time post-secondary education in English, regardless of whether the years were consecutive”
acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with ACSLPA

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with ACSLPA

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $32.05 $55.00 $64.66 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $33.33 $46.15 $59.52 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Speech-language pathologists in other provinces and territories

Compare speech-language pathologist licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Application Area - Alberta College of Speech-Language Pathologists and AudiologistsAccessibility ToolsAccessibility ToolsIncrease TextIncrease TextDecrease TextDecrease TextGrayscaleGrayscaleHigh ContrastHigh ContrastNegative ContrastNegative ContrastLight BackgroundLight BackgroundLinks UnderlineLinks UnderlineReadable FontReadable FontResetReset acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/application-area · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Registration Stream: New Canadian Graduate - Alberta College of Speech-Language Pathologists and AudiologistsAccessibility ToolsAccessibility ToolsIncrease TextIncrease TextDecrease TextDecrease TextGrayscaleGrayscaleHigh ContrastHigh ContrastNegative ContrastNegative ContrastLight BackgroundLight BackgroundLinks UnderlineLinks UnderlineReadable FontReadable FontResetReset acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-new-canadi... · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Registration Stream: Canadian Labour Mobility - Alberta College of Speech-Language Pathologists and AudiologistsAccessibility ToolsAccessibility ToolsIncrease TextIncrease TextDecrease TextDecrease TextGrayscaleGrayscaleHigh ContrastHigh ContrastNegative ContrastNegative ContrastLight BackgroundLight BackgroundLinks UnderlineLinks UnderlineReadable FontReadable FontResetReset acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-canadian-l... · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Registration Stream: Graduate of ASHA - Alberta College of Speech-Language Pathologists and AudiologistsAccessibility ToolsAccessibility ToolsIncrease TextIncrease TextDecrease TextDecrease TextGrayscaleGrayscaleHigh ContrastHigh ContrastNegative ContrastNegative ContrastLight BackgroundLight BackgroundLinks UnderlineLinks UnderlineReadable FontReadable FontResetReset acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered/registration-stream-graduate-o... · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. Apply to Become Registered - Alberta College of Speech-Language Pathologists and AudiologistsAccessibility ToolsAccessibility ToolsIncrease TextIncrease TextDecrease TextDecrease TextGrayscaleGrayscaleHigh ContrastHigh ContrastNegative ContrastNegative ContrastLight BackgroundLight BackgroundLinks UnderlineLinks UnderlineReadable FontReadable FontResetReset acslpa.ca/apply-to-become-registered · fetched October 10, 2026
  6. Speech-Language Pathologist: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/speech-language-p... · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

1

Do you need a licence to work as a speech-language pathologist in Alberta?

Yes. Registration with the Alberta College of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists is required to practise in Alberta, and to use the title speech-language pathologist.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.