How to Become a Speech-language Pathologist in British Columbia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Health and Care Professionals of BC to work as a speech-language pathologist in British Columbia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Speech-Language Pathologist, SLP
Show the source
“To practise as a Speech-Language Pathologist (SLP) in British Columbia, you must hold a licence with the College of Health and Care Professionals of BC (CHCPBC).”
From chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 3 steps
- Annual fees
-
- Registration renewal fee (full practising registration): $1,000
Source
“Speech-Language Pathologists | $1,000 | $1,075 | -7% | March 31, 2026”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Annual renewal of certification: $50 (for speech-language pathologists holding a certification)
Source
“Audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists | | | --- | --- | | Application for certification | $250 | | Annual renewal of certification | $50 | | Reinstatement of certification | $100 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
- Registration renewal fee (full practising registration): $1,000
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,000
-
After the master's degree has been conferred, the applicant arranges for official master's program transcripts showing Awarded or Conferred to be sent directly from the university to CHCPBC.
Source
“After your master’s degree has been conferred (i.e., awarded), arrange to have your official master’s program transcripts sent directly from the university to CHCPBC, either by email to [email protected] or by mail to CHCPBC.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology -
The applicant completes a criminal record check, with payment accepted by credit card in the Licensee Portal.
Source
“2. Criminal record check Payment is accepted by credit card (Visa or Mastercard) in the Licensee Portal.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology -
The applicant creates an account on the CHCPBC Licensee Portal and submits the application with the required documents.
Source
“may apply for licensure as a speech-language pathologist (SLP) by having the documents listed below ready and creating an account on the CHCPBC Licensee Portal to submit your application.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology -
Staff conduct an initial review of the application and, if satisfactory, submit it to the Registrar for final approval.
Source
“After you have submitted your application, staff will conduct an initial review of the application. The sooner all of your required documentation is received by CHCPBC, the sooner the College can process your application. If satisfactory, your application will be submitted to the Registrar for final approval.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CHCPBC
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,000 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- Registration renewal fee (full practising registration): $1,000
Source
“Speech-Language Pathologists | $1,000 | $1,075 | -7% | March 31, 2026”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Annual renewal of certification: $50 (for speech-language pathologists holding a certification)
Source
“Audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists | | | --- | --- | | Application for certification | $250 | | Annual renewal of certification | $50 | | Reinstatement of certification | $100 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,000
-
The applicant has the required documents ready and creates an account on the CHCPBC Licensee Portal to submit the application.
Source
“To apply, have the documents listed below ready and create an account on the CHCPBC Licensee Portal to submit your application.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/audiology -
Staff conduct an initial review of the application and, if satisfactory, submit it to the Registrar for final approval.
Source
“After you have submitted your application, staff will conduct an initial review of the application. The sooner all of your required documentation is received by CHCPBC, the sooner the College can process your application. If satisfactory, your application will be submitted to the Registrar for final approval.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CHCPBC
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,000 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- Registration renewal fee (full practising registration): $1,000
Source
“Speech-Language Pathologists | $1,000 | $1,075 | -7% | March 31, 2026”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Annual renewal of certification: $50 (for speech-language pathologists holding a certification)
Source
“Audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists | | | --- | --- | | Application for certification | $250 | | Annual renewal of certification | $50 | | Reinstatement of certification | $100 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
Trained outside Canada
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,000
- Listed time: 1.4 to 1.8 months (only 1 of 3 steps state a time)
-
Once the assessment fee and required supporting documentation have been received, the applicant's education, clinical training, and/or professional practice experience is reviewed by the Licence Committee.
Time: 6 to 8 weeksTime source
“Estimated timeline: Approximately 6–8 weeks after all required documentation and fees have been received.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathologySource
“Once the assessment fee and required supporting documentation have been received, your education, clinical training, and/or professional practice experience will be reviewed by the Licence Committee.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology -
If the Licence Committee determines substantial equivalency, the applicant may be eligible to apply for licensure as an SLP with CHCPBC and will be invited to do so.
Source
“If your equivalency assessment is complete and the Licence Committee determines that you have demonstrated substantial equivalency to the entry-to-practice requirements in British Columbia, you may be eligible to apply for licensure as a Speech-Language Pathologist with CHCPBC and will be invited to:”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology -
Once all licensure requirements have been met, the applicant is invited to pay the applicable licence fee through the CHCPBC Portal.
Source
“Once all licensure requirements have been met, you will be invited to pay the applicable licence fee outlined in the CHCPBC Fee Schedule through the CHCPBC Portal.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/audiology
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CHCPBC
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,000 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- Registration renewal fee (full practising registration): $1,000
Source
“Speech-Language Pathologists | $1,000 | $1,075 | -7% | March 31, 2026”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Annual renewal of certification: $50 (for speech-language pathologists holding a certification)
Source
“Audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists | | | --- | --- | | Application for certification | $250 | | Annual renewal of certification | $50 | | Reinstatement of certification | $100 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Application for certification: $250 (for speech-language pathologists applying for a certification)
Source
“Audiologists, dietitians, hearing instrument practitioners, and speech-language pathologists | | | --- | --- | | Application for certification | $250 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Reinstatement of certification: $100
Source
“| Reinstatement of certification | $100 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Certified practice application fee: $250
Source
“If eligible, you will be invoiced the $250 application fee.”
chcpbc.org/licensees/certified-practices - Initial application for registration: $380 (any profession regulated by CHCPBC)
Source
“One fee of $380 for initial application for registration of any profession regulated by CHCPBC.”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Late renewal fee: $350 (registrants who fail to renew on or before March 31 but renew their registration within 30 days of that deadline)
Source
“A late renewal fee of $350 will be charged to registrants who fail to renew on or before March 31 but renew their registration within 30 days of that deadline.”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
Requirements
Education
Internationally educated applicants must have completed a post-secondary speech-language pathology program and education and clinical training that meets or exceeds the requirements in Schedule 8 of the CHCPBC Bylaws.
Source
“You may be eligible to apply for licensure as an SLP under the CHCPBC Bylaws, effective April 1, 2026, if you: - completed a post-secondary speech-language pathology program; and - completed education and clinical training that meets or exceeds the requirements set out in Schedule 8 of the CHCPBC Bylaws.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology
Police check
Canadian-educated applicants must complete a criminal record check as part of the application.
Source
“2. Criminal record check Payment is accepted by credit card (Visa or Mastercard) in the Licensee Portal.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology
Other
Applicants for labour mobility must be in good standing with the relevant regulatory body in their current jurisdiction.
Source
“Full licensure to practise in BC to speech-language pathologists (SLPs) with an equivalent licensure status in another Canadian jurisdiction, who are in good standing with the relevant regulatory body in that jurisdiction and who meet the licensure requirements set out below; and”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathologyApplicants for Full licensure must successfully complete the required entry-to-practice examination.
Source
“Passing an approved CHCPBC entry-to-practice examination is a mandatory requirement under the CHCPBC Bylaws for Full licensure as a Speech-Language Pathologist (SLP).”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
The College grants Full licensure to practise in BC to speech-language pathologists with an equivalent licensure status in another Canadian jurisdiction who are in good standing with that jurisdiction's regulatory body and meet the licensure requirements. Source
“Full licensure to practise in BC to speech-language pathologists (SLPs) with an equivalent licensure status in another Canadian jurisdiction, who are in good standing with the relevant regulatory body in that jurisdiction and who meet the licensure requirements set out below; and”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Exams
-
CETP Exam
Source
“Passing an approved CHCPBC entry-to-practice examination is a mandatory requirement under the CHCPBC Bylaws for Full licensure as a Speech-Language Pathologist (SLP). The following examinations are currently approved by CHCPBC for this requirement: CETP Exam Speech-Language & Audiology Canada (SAC) administers the CETP Examination.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Supervised practice
Required
Once a Provisional Licence has been issued, the licensee must practise under the supervision of a College-approved supervisor. Source
“Once your Provisional Licence has been issued, you must practise under the supervision of a College-approved supervisor.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $38.46 | $47.00 | $75.00 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $33.33 | $46.15 | $59.52 | — |
Speech-language pathologists in other provinces and territories
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Speech-Language Pathology | CHCPBC chcpbc.org/applicants/speech-language-pathology · fetched October 10, 2026
- Audiology | CHCPBC chcpbc.org/applicants/audiology · fetched October 10, 2026
- Questions and answers about the CHCPBC Fee Restructuring Project | CHCPBC chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Certified Practices | CHCPBC chcpbc.org/licensees/certified-practices · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a speech-language pathologist in British Columbia?
Yes. Registration with the College of Health and Care Professionals of BC is required to practise in British Columbia, and to use the title Speech-Language Pathologist or SLP.
Which exams are required?
CETP Exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.