How to Become a Speech-language Pathologist in Ontario
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario to work as a speech-language pathologist in Ontario or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- speech-language pathologist, speech therapist
Show the source
“As a Non-Practising registrant, you may use the restricted titles “audiologist”, “speech-language pathologist” and “speech therapist” as well as their abbreviations but must include the qualifier “Non-practising””
From caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 2 steps
- Licensed in another province: 6 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 0 steps
- Annual fees
-
- General annual fee: $780
Source
“The difference between the General fee ($780) and the Non-Practising fee ($390), which is $390.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... - Non-Practising fee: $390
Source
“The difference between the General fee ($780) and the Non-Practising fee ($390), which is $390.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
- General annual fee: $780
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,170
-
Applicants must successfully complete the Canadian Entry to Practice (CETP) Exam.
Source
“Registration Examination – You must successfully complete the Canadian Entry to Practice (CETP) Exam.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... -
Applicants must either have completed 750 hours of patient care or related work outside Ontario within the past three years or within three years of earning their degree, or have successfully completed six months of mentored practice in Ontario.
Source
“Completed 750 hours of patient care or related work outside Ontario within the past three years or within three years of earning their degree in audiology or speech-language pathology, or Successfully completed six months of mentored practice in Ontario.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,170 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- General annual fee: $780
Source
“The difference between the General fee ($780) and the Non-Practising fee ($390), which is $390.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... - Non-Practising fee: $390
Source
“The difference between the General fee ($780) and the Non-Practising fee ($390), which is $390.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
Licensed in another province
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,170
-
The applicant applies to the College as a Labour Mobility applicant using the online application process.
Source
“Applying as a Labour Mobility applicant with the College is now an online process.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other... -
The applicant must have a Verification of Registration form sent directly to the College from every jurisdiction where they currently or previously held registration.
Source
“To verify your good standing, a completed Verification of Registration (VOR) form must be submitted from all of the jurisdictions where you currently or have previously held registration or licensure as a speech-language pathologist or an audiologist or where you hold or have previously held registration or licensure in another health profession.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other... -
The applicant must submit a completed Verification of Employment form from an employer or colleague outside Ontario verifying their practice outside Ontario.
Source
“To verify your currency of practice, a completed Verification of Employment (VOE) form from your employer or colleague outside of Ontario verifying your practice outside Ontario is sufficient.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other... -
The applicant must pay all applicable Ontario fees.
Source
“Pay all applicable Ontario fees. Click here to see Fee Chart.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other... -
The applicant must obtain professional liability insurance that meets CASLPO requirements.
Source
“Obtain professional liability insurance that meets CASLPO requirements”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other... -
Before beginning practice in Ontario, the applicant confirms their registration status on the Public Register.
Source
“Before beginning practice in Ontario, confirm your registration status by searching your name or registration number on the Public Register.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,170 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- General annual fee: $780
Source
“The difference between the General fee ($780) and the Non-Practising fee ($390), which is $390.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... - Non-Practising fee: $390
Source
“The difference between the General fee ($780) and the Non-Practising fee ($390), which is $390.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
Trained outside Canada
- Annual fees: $1,170
Steps not listed by the regulator Check with College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Application Fee: $150 (due and payable with the submission of an application)
Source
“The application fee is due and payable with the submission of an application. The application fee is $150.00.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/cross-provincial-practic... - Registration Fee: $50 (to complete registration with CASLPO)
Source
“To complete registration with CASLPO, a $50.00 registration fee is required.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/cross-provincial-practic... - Application fee for change from General to Non-Practising: $150
Source
“There is a $150 application fee for the change.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... - Fee for accessing registration file: $50 (covers up to the first 25 pages of a registration file)
- Fee for each additional page of registration file: $1
- Application fee to change status to General mid-year: $150 (if you change your status after November 1st)
Source
“However, if you change your status after November 1st, you will be required to pay a $150 application fee and the difference between the general and non-practising annual fees (i.e., $390).”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... - Difference between general and non-practising annual fees: $390 (if you change your status after November 1st)
Source
“However, if you change your status after November 1st, you will be required to pay a $150 application fee and the difference between the general and non-practising annual fees (i.e., $390).”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
Requirements
Education
Applicants must have a professional master's degree in audiology or speech-language pathology that satisfies the requirements outlined in the Academic Equivalency Framework.
Source
“Education – You must have a professional master’s degree in audiology or speech-language pathology which satisfies the requirements outlined in the Academic Equivalency Framework (AEF) for audiology and speech-language pathology.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
Experience
Applicants must have completed at least 750 hours of patient care or related work as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist within the past three years.
Source
“Verification of Employment – You must show evidence of your recent experience practising as an audiologist or a speech-language pathologist. You must have completed at least 750 hours of patient care or related work as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist withi n the past three years.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...Labour Mobility applicants must provide evidence that they have practised audiology or speech-language pathology within the past three years outside of Ontario.
Source
“Currency of Practice – You must provide evidence that you have practised audiology or speech-language pathology within the past three years outside of Ontario.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other...General-CPP applicants must provide evidence of patient care or related work in audiology or speech-language pathology within the three years immediately before the College receives their application or Verification of Employment form.
Source
“If you are applying for a General-CPP Certificate in Ontario, you must provide evidence that you have completed patient care or related work in audiology or speech-language pathology within the three years immediately before the date CASLPO receives your application or your Verification of Employment form.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/cross-provincial-practic...
Insurance
Labour Mobility applicants must obtain professional liability insurance that meets CASLPO requirements.
Source
“Obtain professional liability insurance that meets CASLPO requirements”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other...CPP applicants must maintain professional liability insurance that covers practice in the secondary province.
Source
“- Maintain professional liability insurance (PLI) that covers practice in the secondary province.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/cross-provincial-practic...
Good character
Applicants must declare any denial of registration, offences or professional misconduct findings, or current proceedings related to their practice.
Source
“Past Offences and Findings – You must declare if you have ever been denied registration by a health regulatory body, found guilty of any offences or professional misconduct, or are currently involved in a proceeding related to your practise as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...Applicants must declare any physical or mental condition that could affect safe practice, and the College must be satisfied they will practise with decency, honesty and integrity and in accordance with the law.
Source
“Health and Conduct – You must declare if you suffer from any physical or mental condition or disorder that could affect your ability to practise audiology or speech-language pathology in a safe manner. The College must also be satisfied that you will practise with decency, honesty and integrity, and in accordance with the law.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
Other
Applicants must be a Canadian citizen, a permanent resident of Canada, or authorized under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (Canada) to practise in Ontario.
Source
“Eligibility to Work in Canada – You must be a Canadian citizen, a permanent resident of Canada or authorized under the *Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (Canada)* to engage in practice of audiology or speech-language pathology in Ontario.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...Applicants must demonstrate proficiency in English or French if they did not complete their professional master's degree in either language.
Source
“Proficiency in English or French – You must demonstrate your proficiency in English or French if you did not complete your professional master’s degree in either English or French.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...Labour Mobility applicants must be registered in a regulated Canadian province and show all current licences are in good standing and past licences were in good standing when held.
Source
“- Be registered as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist in a regulated Canadian province - Provide evidence that all current licences or registrations are in good standing and any past licences or registration were in good standing when held”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other...Labour Mobility applicants must provide proof of eligibility to work in Canada.
Source
“Provide proof of eligibility to work in Canada”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other...CPP applicants must be registered as a fully practising speech-language pathologist or audiologist in Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, or New Brunswick and meet the CPP good standing requirements in their primary province.
Source
“- Be registered as a fully practising Speech-Language Pathologist or Audiologist in Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, or New Brunswick. - Meet the CPP “good standing” requirements in your primary province.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/cross-provincial-practic...Applicants must disclose any complaints, investigations, disciplinary or fitness-to-practise proceedings, findings, conditions, suspensions, revocations, or other proceedings related to their competence, conduct or character in any jurisdiction.
Source
“- Any complaints, investigations, disciplinary or fitness-to-practise proceedings. - Any findings, conditions, suspensions, or revocations. - Any other proceedings related to your competence, conduct, or character, in any jurisdiction, inside or outside Canada.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/cross-provincial-practic...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Source
“Labour Mobility allows audiologists and speech-language pathologists registered or licensed in other Canadian provinces to have their qualifications recognized in Ontario without further assessments.”
caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario
Exams
-
Canadian Entry to Practice (CETP) Exam
Source
“Registration Examination – You must successfully complete the Canadian Entry to Practice (CETP) Exam.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
Language tests
No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario
Exemptions: Applicants who completed their professional master's degree in English or French do not need to demonstrate language proficiency. Source
“Proficiency in English or French – You must demonstrate your proficiency in English or French if you did not complete your professional master’s degree in either English or French.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
Canadian experience
Applicants must have completed at least 750 hours of patient care or related work as an audiologist or speech-language pathologist within the past three years, or six months of mentored practice in Ontario. Source
“Completed 750 hours of patient care or related work outside Ontario within the past three years or within three years of earning their degree in audiology or speech-language pathology, or Successfully completed six months of mentored practice in Ontario.”
caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie...
Supervised practice
Not required
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | $29.00 | $46.70 | $59.35 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $33.33 | $46.15 | $59.52 | — |
Speech-language pathologists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Non-Practising Certificate - Caslpo - College of audiologists and speech-language pathologists of Ontario caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Reinstatement - Caslpo - College of audiologists and speech-language pathologists of Ontario caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/reinstatement · fetched October 10, 2026
- General Certificate - Caslpo - College of audiologists and speech-language pathologists of Ontario caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/registration-categorie... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Professionals from Other Regulated Provinces - Caslpo - College of audiologists and speech-language pathologists of Ontario caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/professionals-from-other... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Cross Provincial Practice Certificate - Caslpo - College of audiologists and speech-language pathologists of Ontario caslpo.com/applicants/apply-to-the-college/cross-provincial-practic... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Resignation - Caslpo - College of audiologists and speech-language pathologists of Ontario caslpo.com/registrants/registration-services/resignation · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a speech-language pathologist in Ontario?
Yes. Registration with the College of Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists of Ontario is required to practise in Ontario, and to use the title speech-language pathologist or speech therapist.
Which exams are required?
Canadian Entry to Practice (CETP) Exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.