At a glance

Licence status
Title protected See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with IDIBC

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  1. Register in a recognized interior design program and complete a bachelor's degree in interior design from a CIDA accredited program.

    Source
    “Register in a recognized Interior Design program, completing a bachelor’s degree in Interior Design (from a CIDA accredited program)”
    idibc.org/public-resources/becoming-a-pro
  2. While still in school, apply to become a student member of IDIBC.

    Source
    “While in school, apply to be a student member of IDIBC.”
    idibc.org/public-resources/becoming-a-pro
  3. After graduating with an accredited interior design degree, apply for Intern member status in IDIBC.

    Source
    “Upon graduation with an accredited degree in Interior Design, apply for Intern member status in IDIBC”
    idibc.org/public-resources/becoming-a-pro
  4. Within five years of becoming an Intern Member, apply for and obtain confirmation of eligibility to write the NCIDQ and begin writing the NCIDQ exams.

    Source
    “Within 5 years of becoming an Intern Member of IDIBC, members are required to apply for and obtain confirmation of eligibility to write the NCIDQ, and commence writing of the NCIDQ exams.”
    idibc.org/public-resources/becoming-a-pro
  5. Once the required experience, educational and examination requirements are successfully completed, an Intern Member may apply for Registered Member status in IDIBC.

    Source
    “Upon successful completion of required experience, educational and examination requirements, Intern Member may then apply for Registered Member status in IDIBC.”
    idibc.org/public-resources/becoming-a-pro

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with IDIBC

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

No separate route for this group.

Source
“IDIBC, supported by its registrants and interior design regulatory bodies across other provincial jurisdictions, is actively advocating for formal acknowledgement and stronger regulation of the practice of interior design throughout Canada.”
idibc.org/initiatives/the-professional-governance-act

Trained outside Canada

No separate route for this group.

Source
“To become a member of the Interior Designers Institute of British Columbia, individuals must meet the minimum standards set by IDIBC. These standards include specific education, experience, and examination requirements.”
idibc.org/professional-resources/education-standards

Requirements

Education

  • Candidates must have a bachelor's degree in interior design accredited by the Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA).

    Source
    “To be eligible for membership, candidates must have a Bachelors degree in interior design that is CIDA (Council for Interior Design Accreditation).”
    idibc.org/professional-resources/education-standards

Experience

  • After graduating from a recognized interior design program, individuals must obtain a prescribed amount of supervised work experience from an approved supervisor.

    Source
    “Upon graduating from a recognized interior design program, individuals must obtain a prescribed amount of supervised work experience.”
    idibc.org/professional-resources/education-standards
  • Applicants using the Alternative Review Program must have at least 8,800 hours (approximately 5 years) of interior design work experience and document competencies based on current CIDA standards in eight key areas.

    Source
    “Applicants must have a minimum of 8,800 hours (approximately 5 years) of work experience in interior design and must be able to document competencies based on current CIDA standards in eight key areas.”
    idibc.org/professional-resources/education-standards

Other

  • Registered interior designers are required to carry liability insurance.

    Source
    “In addition, Registered interior designers are required to: • Carry liability insurance”
    idibc.org/public-resources

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages do not state how someone licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in British Columbia.

Source
“IDIBC, supported by its registrants and interior design regulatory bodies across other provincial jurisdictions, is actively advocating for formal acknowledgement and stronger regulation of the practice of interior design throughout Canada.”
idibc.org/initiatives/the-professional-governance-act

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with IDIBC

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with IDIBC

Exams

Language tests

No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with IDIBC

Exemptions: The pages do not state any language test exemptions.

Source
“To become a member of the Interior Designers Institute of British Columbia, individuals must meet the minimum standards set by IDIBC.”
idibc.org/professional-resources/education-standards

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

The pages do not state any Canadian experience requirement.

Source
“Upon graduating from a recognized interior design program, individuals must obtain a prescribed amount of supervised work experience.”
idibc.org/professional-resources/education-standards

Supervised practice

Required

After graduating, prospective interior designers must gain a prescribed amount of supervised work experience under an approved supervisor.

Source
“After graduating from a recognized interior design program, prospective interior designers must gain supervised work experience to ensure that they acquire the skills they will need to practice interior design.”
idibc.org/professional-resources/education-standards

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in British Columbia and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
British Columbia $20.00 $31.25 $64.18 Limited (2 of 5)
Canada $18.35 $28.85 $48.72 —

Wages by region and job outlook in British Columbia

Wages in every province and territory

Interior designers in other provinces and territories

Compare interior designer licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. noc.esdc.gc.ca/Structure/NocProfile noc.esdc.gc.ca/Structure/NocProfile
  2. Becoming a Pro | Interior Designers Institute of British Columbia idibc.org/public-resources/becoming-a-pro · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. The Professional Governance Act  | Interior Designers Institute of British Columbia idibc.org/initiatives/the-professional-governance-act · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Education Standards | Interior Designers Institute of British Columbia idibc.org/professional-resources/education-standards · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. Public Resources | Interior Designers Institute of British Columbia idibc.org/public-resources · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as an interior designer in British Columbia?

No. Only the title is protected in British Columbia. Registration with the Interior Designers Institute of British Columbia is needed to use the title Registered Interior Designer.

Which exams are required?

NCIDQ examinations.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.