At a glance

Licence status
Title protected See the source
Routes
Annual fees

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $2,080
  1. The applicant must earn a four-year bachelor's degree in interior design from a CIDA-accredited program.

    Source
    “Applicant must have achieved a minimum education requirement of a four-year bachelor’s degree in interior design from a program accredited by the Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA)”
    pidim.ca/membership/how-become-member-pidim
  2. After graduating, the intern must obtain 3,520 hours (two years full time) of supervised work experience under a registered member, a licensed architect providing interior design services, or an NCIDQ certificate holder.

    Source
    “After graduating from a recognized interior design program, Intern interior designers must gain supervised work experience (3,520 hours – 2 years full time) to ensure that they acquire the skills they will need to practice interior design.”
    pidim.ca/membership/how-become-member-pidim
  3. To become a Professional Member the applicant must successfully complete the NCIDQ examination.

    Source
    “To become a Professional Member of PIDIM must successfully complete NCIDQ examination.”
    pidim.ca/membership/how-become-member-pidim
  4. After membership is confirmed, the PIDIM office invoices the applicant for the outstanding membership dues for the balance of the calendar year.

    Source
    “Upon confirmation of membership The PIDIM office will invoice the outstanding membership dues for the balance of the calendar year.”
    pidim.ca/membership/how-become-member-pidim

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with PIDIM

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $2,080 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

Trained outside Canada

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $2,080
  1. International applicants without a CIDA-accredited degree have their minimum education competencies assessed through ARIDO's Intern Competency Review System to determine if they qualify for Intern or Professional Membership.

    Source
    “The Alternate Pathway into PIDIM Membership is available through ARIDO’s Intern Competency Review System (ICRS)™.”
    pidim.ca/membership/how-become-member-pidim
  2. If applying for Professional Membership, the candidate must also have passed the NCIDQ qualifying examinations.

    Source
    “* If applying for Professional Membership candidate must have also passed the qualifying examinations (NCIDQ Exam).”
    pidim.ca/membership/how-become-member-pidim
  3. After membership is confirmed, the PIDIM office invoices the applicant for the outstanding membership dues for the balance of the calendar year.

    Source
    “Upon confirmation of membership The PIDIM office will invoice the outstanding membership dues for the balance of the calendar year.”
    pidim.ca/membership/how-become-member-pidim

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with PIDIM

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $2,080 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

Requirements

Education

  • Applicants must have a four-year bachelor's degree in interior design from a program accredited by the Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA).

    Source
    “Applicant must have achieved a minimum education requirement of a four-year bachelor’s degree in interior design from a program accredited by the Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA)”
    pidim.ca/membership/how-become-member-pidim

Experience

  • After graduating, applicants must gain 3,520 hours (two years full time) of supervised work experience under a registered provincial association member, a licensed architect providing interior design services, or an NCIDQ certificate holder.

    Source
    “After graduating from a recognized interior design program, Intern interior designers must gain supervised work experience (3,520 hours – 2 years full time) to ensure that they acquire the skills they will need to practice interior design.”
    pidim.ca/membership/how-become-member-pidim

Other

  • Applicants must adhere to the Professional Development Program – Continuing Education.

    Source
    “3. Adhere to the Professional Development Program – Continuing Education”
    pidim.ca/membership/how-become-member-pidim
  • The CIDQ requires at least six years combined of college-level interior design education and interior design work experience for NCIDQ exam eligibility.

    Source
    “The CIDQ requires at least six years combined of college-level Interior Design education and Interior Design work experience for exam eligibility.”
    pidim.ca/membership/pidim-membership-categories

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages list a Professional out of province membership category and dues but do not state how someone licensed in another Canadian province registers in Manitoba.

Source
“Professional Member - Out of Province Dues - $545.00 + GST”
pidim.ca/membership/how-become-member-pidim

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with PIDIM

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

  • Intern Competencies Review System (ICRS)

    Assesses the minimum education competencies of international applicants without a CIDA-accredited bachelor's degree in interior design to determine if they qualify for PIDIM Intern or Professional Membership.

    Source
    “International applicants without a CIDA accredited bachelor’s degree in interior design may have their minimum education competencies assessed via the ICRS in order to determine if they qualify for PIDIM Intern or *Professional Membership.”
    pidim.ca/membership/how-become-member-pidim

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with PIDIM

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with PIDIM

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with PIDIM

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Manitoba and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Manitoba $19.50 $29.45 $42.05 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $18.35 $28.85 $48.72 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Manitoba

Wages in every province and territory

Interior designers in other provinces and territories

Compare interior designer licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Additional Regulated Occupations in Manitoba | Manitoba Immigration immigratemanitoba.com/life/regulated-occupations/additional-occupat... · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. How to Become a Member of PIDIM | Professional Interior Designers Institute of Manitoba pidim.ca/membership/how-become-member-pidim · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. PIDIM Membership Categories | Professional Interior Designers Institute of Manitoba pidim.ca/membership/pidim-membership-categories · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as an interior designer in Manitoba?

No. Only the title is protected in Manitoba. Registration with the Professional Interior Designers Institute of Manitoba is needed to use the title Interior Designer or Professional Interior Designer.

Which exams are required?

NCIDQ examination.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.