How to Become an Interior Designer in Ontario
Do you need a licence?
Title protected
Registration is needed to use the protected title in Ontario. The work itself does not need a licence.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Certification by a provincial institute or association is required to use protected titles related to interior designers in all provinces except Prince Edward Island.”
From noc.esdc.gc.ca/Structure/NocProfile, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Title protected See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 8 steps, listed one-time fees $1,347
- Licensed in another province: no separate route
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with ARIDO
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 8 done
- Listed one-time fees: $1,347
- 7 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 12.1 months (only 2 of 8 steps state a time)
-
You must successfully complete ARIDO's supervised work experience requirement to be eligible for the examination requirement.
Source
“To be eligible to meet the examination requirement in Ontario, members must successfully complete ARIDO's supervised work experience requirement.”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design -
You report your supervised work experience through the competency-based Interior Design Experience Requirement (IDER).
Source
“The competency-based Interior Design Experience Requirement (IDER) reporting »”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design -
You pass the NCIDQ examinations, which together with ARIDO's education and supervised work experience requirements qualifies you to apply for Registered membership.
Source
“Successfully passing the NCIDQ examinations along with meeting ARIDO’s requirements for education and supervised work experience will qualify for application for Registered membership with ARIDO.”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design/nci... -
After passing the exams and meeting the other requirements, you apply for Registered membership with ARIDO.
Source
“Successfully passing the NCIDQ examinations along with meeting ARIDO’s requirements for education and supervised work experience will qualify for application for Registered membership with ARIDO.”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design/nci... -
As an alternative to the NCIDQ exams, you can apply to the RIDA Practice Readiness Program and pay the assessment fee and, if you are not an ARIDO member, the enrollment fee.
- RIDA Part 1 assessment fee: $1,347
Source
“Total Cost: $1347 + HST (Assessment Fee) + $75 + HST (Enrollment Fee\*)”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design/reg...
Time: 1 yearTime source
“Candidates can Register to participate in RIDA at any point when they meet the eligibility requirements and will have one year to complete both parts 1 and Parts 2 of the program from the date their application is submitted to ARIDO.”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design/reg...Source
“Complete the RIDA Application Form - Pay the assessment fee for Part 1 and enrollment fee (for non-ARIDO members) by the applicable deadline”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design/reg... - RIDA Part 1 assessment fee: $1,347
-
You complete the program modules at your own pace on the online learning platform.
Source
“3. Candidate completes modules at their own pace”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design/reg... -
After completing all modules, you request an Entrance Interview and pay the Part 2 assessment fee.
Source
“- Complete Part 1 by the due date - Submit a Practice Plan - Pay the assessment fee for Part 2 by the applicable deadline”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design/reg... -
You take part in an interview with competency-based questions and a presentation of your Practice Plan, and then receive a Decision Report by email within 2 business days.
Time: 2 daysTime source
“Registrar issues a Decision Report via email within 2 business days”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design/reg...Source
“9. Registrar issues a Decision Report via email within 2 business days”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design/reg...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $1,347
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $1,347 | 100% |
| One-time total | $1,347 | 100% |
7 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
No separate route for this group. Source
“ARIDO is seeking senior-level practitioners of interior design, who are qualified in Ontario or another Provincial jurisdiction, to participate in the development of content for the Canadian Alternative.”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design/exa...
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
You complete the Intern Competencies Review System so your education qualifies under ARIDO's education requirement.
Source
“Intern members who completed the ICRS process to qualify their education to meet ARIDO’s education requirement will then complete the IDER Report to track their supervised work experience to qualify to write ARIDO’s exam alternative (EAP).”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design/nci... -
You complete the IDER Report to track your supervised work experience so you can qualify to write ARIDO's exam alternative.
Source
“Intern members who completed the ICRS process to qualify their education to meet ARIDO’s education requirement will then complete the IDER Report to track their supervised work experience to qualify to write ARIDO’s exam alternative (EAP).”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design/nci... -
You write ARIDO's exam alternative (EAP), such as RIDA, to meet the examination requirement.
Source
“Intern members who completed the ICRS process to qualify their education to meet ARIDO’s education requirement will then complete the IDER Report to track their supervised work experience to qualify to write ARIDO’s exam alternative (EAP).”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design/nci... -
Once the education, experience and examination requirements are met, you apply for Registered membership with ARIDO.
Source
“An ARIDO Intern member who has met the education and experience requirements must complete the final step along the path to becoming a Registered member: the examination requirement.”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with ARIDO
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Intern reinstatement fee: $50
Source
“Remit the full current year annual Intern membership dues plus a reinstatement fee of $50.+ HST”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/reinstatement-of-membership - Registered membership reinstatement fee: $100
Source
“Remit the full current year annual Registered membership dues plus a reinstatement fee of $100 + HST”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/reinstatement-of-membership
Requirements
Education
Applicants for Registered Membership must meet the minimum education requirement through a CIDA accredited degree or by successfully passing the Intern Competencies Review System.
Source
“Individuals applying for Registered Membership must meet the minimum education requirement. There are currently two pathways to meet the education requirement; a CIDA accredited degree or by successfully passing the Intern Competencies Review System.”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design
Experience
Members must successfully complete ARIDO's supervised work experience requirement to be eligible to meet the examination requirement.
Source
“To be eligible to meet the examination requirement in Ontario, members must successfully complete ARIDO’s supervised work experience requirement.”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Ontario. Source
“ARIDO is seeking senior-level practitioners of interior design, who are qualified in Ontario or another Provincial jurisdiction, to participate in the development of content for the Canadian Alternative.”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design/exa...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with ARIDO
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with ARIDO
Exams
-
NCIDQ exams
Source
“Successfully passing the NCIDQ examinations along with meeting ARIDO’s requirements for education and supervised work experience will qualify for application for Registered membership with ARIDO.”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design/nci... -
Registered Interior Designer Assessment (RIDA)
Source
“The Registered Interior Designer Assessment (RIDA) is a Canadian‑designed examination alternative that allows qualified candidates to meet ARIDO’s examination requirement for registration as a Registered Interior Designer in Ontario.”
arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design/reg...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with ARIDO
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with ARIDO
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with ARIDO
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | $17.60 | $27.40 | $50.00 | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Canada | $18.35 | $28.85 | $48.72 | — |
Interior designers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Title protected
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Title protected
- Quebec Title protected
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Title protected
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- noc.esdc.gc.ca/Structure/NocProfile noc.esdc.gc.ca/Structure/NocProfile
- Pathway to Interior Design - ARIDO arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design · fetched October 10, 2026
- NCIDQ Exam Eligibility - ARIDO arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design/nci... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registered Interior Designer Assessment (RIDA)* - ARIDO arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design/reg... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Examination Alternative Project* - ARIDO arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/pathway-to-interior-design/exa... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Reinstatement of Membership - ARIDO arido.ca/become-an-interior-designer/reinstatement-of-membership · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an interior designer in Ontario?
No. Only the title is protected in Ontario. Registration with the Association of Registered Interior Designers of Ontario is needed to use the protected title.
Which exams are required?
NCIDQ exams, Registered Interior Designer Assessment (RIDA).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.