How to Become a Social Worker in British Columbia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the BC College of Social Workers to work as a social worker in British Columbia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Registered Social Worker
Show the source
“Pursuant to s. 9 (1) of the Social Workers Act, the BC College of Social Workers has established qualifications to become a Registered Social Worker in BC.”
From bccsw.ca/douglas-college, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 5 steps
- Annual fees
-
- Annual Registration Fee: $373.25
Source
“Annual Registration Fee: $373.25”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration - Annual Registration Fee for New Graduates: $292.20 (for applicants who completed their studies in the current year or the preceding year)
Source
“Annual Registration Fee for New Graduates*: $292.20 *The new graduate annual registration fee is a discounted initial registration fee for applicants who completed their studies in the current year or the preceding year.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration
- Annual Registration Fee: $373.25
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $373.25
-
The applicant creates an online application profile once all requirements have been gathered.
Source
“Step 1: Please create an online application profile once you have gathered all requirements. Incomplete applications will expire after three (3) months”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio... -
Source
“Applicants must submit: Proof of identity Official transcript”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio... -
Once all required documents are received, the College reviews the application and, if it meets the registration requirements, emails the applicant approval to take the licensure exam.
Source
“Once all of the required documents have been received, the College will review the application in its entirety. If it is determined that the application meets the registration requirements, the applicant will receive an email from the College notifying that they have been approved to take the licensure exam by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB).”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio... -
After receiving the exam approval email, the applicant registers for the exam through the ASWB.
Source
“After receiving the exam approval email from the College, the applicant can register for the exam through the ASWB.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio... -
Once exam registration is complete, ASWB sends an Authorization to Test and the applicant schedules an exam appointment at a designated test centre.
Source
“Once registration for the exam is complete, ASWB will send the applicant an Authorization to Test. When the applicant receives this authorization, they can schedule an appointment for the exam through the test centre designated by ASWB.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with BCCSW
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $373.25 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- Annual Registration Fee: $373.25
Source
“Annual Registration Fee: $373.25”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration - Annual Registration Fee for New Graduates: $292.20 (for applicants who completed their studies in the current year or the preceding year)
Source
“Annual Registration Fee for New Graduates*: $292.20 *The new graduate annual registration fee is a discounted initial registration fee for applicants who completed their studies in the current year or the preceding year.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $373.25
-
A social worker already registered in another Canadian jurisdiction applies to the BC College.
Source
“Under the provision of the Agreement on Internal Trade and other labour mobility agreements, the College cannot impose additional education or examination on an applicant who is registered in an equivalent class in another Canadian jurisdiction.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/licensure-exam/who-must-write-the-exam -
The applicant arranges for verification of registration/licensure to be completed by each regulatory body with which they have been registered.
Source
“Verification of Registration/Licensure completed by each regulatory body with which you have been registered, licensed or certified.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/full-registration/us...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with BCCSW
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $373.25 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- Annual Registration Fee: $373.25
Source
“Annual Registration Fee: $373.25”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration - Annual Registration Fee for New Graduates: $292.20 (for applicants who completed their studies in the current year or the preceding year)
Source
“Annual Registration Fee for New Graduates*: $292.20 *The new graduate annual registration fee is a discounted initial registration fee for applicants who completed their studies in the current year or the preceding year.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration
Trained outside Canada
0 of 5 done
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $373.25
-
The applicant creates an online application profile once all requirements have been gathered.
Source
“Step 1: Please create an online application profile once you have gathered all requirements.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio... -
The applicant provides two reference letters submitted directly by referees and professional registration verification from each regulatory body they have been registered with.
Source
“All applicants must provide two (2) reference letters, submitted directly to the College by the referees.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/full-registration/us... -
Once all required documents are received, the College reviews the application and, if it meets the requirements, emails the applicant approval to take the licensure exam.
Source
“Once all of the required documents have been received, the College will review the application in its entirety. If it is determined that the application meets the registration requirements, the applicant will receive an email from the College notifying that they have been approved to take the licensure exam by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB).”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/full-registration/us... -
After receiving the exam approval email, the applicant registers for the exam through the ASWB.
Source
“After receiving the exam approval email from the College, the applicant can register for the exam through the ASWB.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/full-registration/us... -
Once exam registration is complete, ASWB sends an Authorization to Test and the applicant schedules an exam appointment at a designated test centre.
Source
“Once registration for the exam is complete, ASWB will send the applicant an Authorization to Test. When the applicant receives this authorization, they can schedule an appointment for the exam through the test centre designated by ASWB.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with BCCSW
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $373.25 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- Annual Registration Fee: $373.25
Source
“Annual Registration Fee: $373.25”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration - Annual Registration Fee for New Graduates: $292.20 (for applicants who completed their studies in the current year or the preceding year)
Source
“Annual Registration Fee for New Graduates*: $292.20 *The new graduate annual registration fee is a discounted initial registration fee for applicants who completed their studies in the current year or the preceding year.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Application Fee (Clinical Registration): $315
Source
“Application Fee: $315.00”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration - Criminal Record Check Fee: $28
Source
“Criminal Record Check Fee: $28.00”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration - Substantial Equivalency Assessment Fees: $367.50 (for applicants without a master’s degree in social work approved by the board)
Source
“Substantial Equivalency Assessment Fees: $367.50 (For applicants without a master’s degree in social work approved by the board).”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration - Application fee (Temporary Registration): $175.35
Source
“Application fee: $175.35”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/temporary-registration
Requirements
Education
The qualification for education is graduation with a degree in social work, or a credential equivalent to a degree in social work, from an academic program approved by the Board.
Source
“The qualification for education is graduation with a degree in social work (or credential equivalent to a degree in social work) from an academic program approved by the Board.”
bccsw.ca/douglas-collegeTemporary registration applicants must possess at least a bachelor's degree in social work.
Source
“Applicants must possess at least a bachelor’s degree in social work”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/temporary-registrationClinical registration applicants without a master's degree in social work approved by the board must demonstrate that their qualifying education is substantially equivalent to a master's level social work degree.
Source
“Applicants without a master’s degree in social work approved by the board, must additionally demonstrate that their qualifying education is substantially equivalent to a master’s level social work degree from an academic program approved by the board.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration
Experience
Temporary registration applicants must provide evidence that a minimum of 700 hours of social work practice has been completed.
Source
“provide evidence that a minimum of 700 hours of social work practice has been completed by the applicant.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/temporary-registrationClinical registration applicants must complete at least 100 hours of supervision distributed across the period of supervised practice.
Source
“Complete at least 100 hours of supervision, which must: 1.Be distributed across the period of supervised practice”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio...
Police check
Temporary registration applicants must provide a criminal record check authorization to receive clearance to work with minors and vulnerable adults.
Source
“Applicants must provide BCCSW with a criminal record check authorization to receive a criminal record check clearance from the Criminal Records Review Program of the Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General, confirming clearance to work with minors and vulnerable adults.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/temporary-registration
Good character
Temporary registration applicants must be in good standing with a social work regulatory body from another Canadian jurisdiction or another jurisdiction approved by the Board.
Source
“Applicants must be in good standing with a social work regulatory body from another Canadian jurisdiction or other jurisdiction approved by the Board”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/temporary-registration
Other
Clinical registration applicants must provide one character reference and one clinical supervision reference.
Source
“clinical registration applicants must provide one character reference and one clinical supervision reference.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio...Applicants must complete verification of registration/licensure forms for each regulatory body with which they have been registered, licensed or certified.
Source
“Verification of Registration/Licensure completed by each regulatory body with which you have been registered, licensed or certified.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/full-registration/us...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
A person registered in an equivalent class in another Canadian jurisdiction may move to BC without having to meet the examination requirement. Source
“a person applying to the BC College who is a registered social worker with a social work degree or equivalent, may move to BC without having to meet the requirement of the examination.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/licensure-exam/who-must-write-the-exam
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCSW
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCSW
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCSW
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCSW
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCSW
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCSW
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $26.18 | $36.81 | $52.00 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $25.00 | $38.46 | $50.26 | — |
Social workers in other provinces and territories
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Douglas College – bccsw.ca bccsw.ca/douglas-college · fetched October 10, 2026
- Canadian MSW/Doctorial Degree in SW – bccsw.ca bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Who Must Write the Exam? – bccsw.ca bccsw.ca/for-applicants/licensure-exam/who-must-write-the-exam · fetched October 10, 2026
- US BSW/MSW/Doctorial Degree in SW – bccsw.ca bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/full-registration/us... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Temporary Registration – bccsw.ca bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/temporary-registration · fetched October 10, 2026
- Clinical Registration – bccsw.ca bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as a social worker in British Columbia?
Yes. Registration with the BC College of Social Workers is required to practise in British Columbia, and to use the title Registered Social Worker.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.