How to Become a Social Worker in Nova Scotia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Nova Scotia College of Social Workers to work as a social worker in Nova Scotia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Nova Scotia College of Social Workers”
From novascotia.ca/sites/default/files/documents/1-3973/health-professio..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $100
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $100 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
-
- Active registrant: $476
Source
“The fees for social worker registration in 2026/27 are: - Active registrant: $476”
nscsw.org/applicants/registration-fees - Clinical specialist: $526
- Associate: $238
- Retired associate: $50
- Electronic practice from outside NS: $230
- Active registrant: $509
Source
“The fees for social worker registration in 2027/28 will be: - Active registrant: $509”
nscsw.org/applicants/registration-fees - Clinical specialist: $559
- Associate: $255
- Electronic practice from outside NS: $246
- Clinical specialist additional annual fee: $50 (clinical specialists)
Source
“Clinical specialists pay an additional annual fee of $50 for their registration.”
nscsw.org/applicants/registration-fees - Annual fee for registration renewal: Active registrant (2026/27): $476
- Annual fee for registration renewal: Active registrant (2027/28): $509
- Annual fee to engage in private practice of the clinical specialization: $50 (registrants engaging in private practice of the clinical specialization)
Source
“The additional annual fee to engage in private practice of the clinical specialization is $50.”
nscsw.org/applicants
- Active registrant: $476
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $4,074
-
Start and complete the application in the online Application Portal.
- Application fee: $100
Source
“The application fee for registration as an active or associate Registered Social Worker, Social Worker Candidate, Registered Social Worker (Provisional) or Registered Social Worker (Telepractice) is $100.00.”
nscsw.org/applicants/registration-fees
Source
“Applicants may use the online applicant portal to start an application, add new information or check on the status of their application.”
nscsw.org/applicants/registered-from-another-province - Application fee: $100
-
Complete the application process to confirm with the College that you are in good standing with the regulatory authority in your former region.
Source
“Applicants will need to complete the application process below to confirm that they are in good standing with the regulatory authority in their former region.”
nscsw.org/applicants/registered-from-another-province -
Your credentials are assessed and reviewed by the Board of Examiners, which determines whether you are registered as a Registered Social Worker or a Social Worker Candidate.
Source
“Applicants from a CASWE accredited program will have their credentials assessed and reviewed by the Board of Examiners. Based on the information provided in your application, the Board will determine your registration status as a Registered Social Worker or Social Worker Candidate.”
nscsw.org/applicants/registered-from-another-province
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $4,074 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Active registrant: $476
Source
“The fees for social worker registration in 2026/27 are: - Active registrant: $476”
nscsw.org/applicants/registration-fees - Clinical specialist: $526
- Associate: $238
- Retired associate: $50
- Electronic practice from outside NS: $230
- Active registrant: $509
Source
“The fees for social worker registration in 2027/28 will be: - Active registrant: $509”
nscsw.org/applicants/registration-fees - Clinical specialist: $559
- Associate: $255
- Electronic practice from outside NS: $246
- Clinical specialist additional annual fee: $50 (clinical specialists)
Source
“Clinical specialists pay an additional annual fee of $50 for their registration.”
nscsw.org/applicants/registration-fees - Annual fee for registration renewal: Active registrant (2026/27): $476
- Annual fee for registration renewal: Active registrant (2027/28): $509
- Annual fee to engage in private practice of the clinical specialization: $50 (registrants engaging in private practice of the clinical specialization)
Source
“The additional annual fee to engage in private practice of the clinical specialization is $50.”
nscsw.org/applicants
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $4,074
-
Have your social work academic credentials evaluated by the Canadian Association of Social Workers as equivalent to at least a Canadian Bachelor of Social Work from a CASWE-accredited program.
- CASW credential assessment: $339 (applicants are responsible for any fees that apply to have their credentials assessed)
Source
“At the time of writing, the CASW assessment currently costs $339, and applicants are responsible for any fees that apply to have their credentials assessed.”
nscsw.org/applicants/international-bswmsw
Source
“Applicants will need to have their social work academic credentials evaluated by The Canadian Association of Social Workers (CASW) as equivalent to a minimum of a Bachelor of Social Work obtained from a social work program accredited by the Canadian Association for Social Work Education.”
nscsw.org/applicants/international-bswmsw - CASW credential assessment: $339 (applicants are responsible for any fees that apply to have their credentials assessed)
-
Ensure that the CASW forwards a signed and dated letter confirming the outcome of the credential evaluation directly to the College.
Source
“Ensure that the CASW forwards a signed and dated letter confirming the outcome of the social work credential evaluation directly to the College.”
nscsw.org/applicants/international-bswmsw -
Submit an application for registration with the College, including the required original documents if your degree is from an unaccredited school.
- Application fee: $100
Source
“The application fee for registration as an active or associate Registered Social Worker, Social Worker Candidate, Registered Social Worker (Provisional) or Registered Social Worker (Telepractice) is $100.00.”
nscsw.org/applicants/registration-fees
Source
“An application for registration with the College with a degree in social work from an unaccredited school shall include the following information:”
nscsw.org/applicants/international-bswmsw - Application fee: $100
-
The Board of Examiners determines whether you are eligible for the Registry of Registered Social Workers or are placed on the Social Worker Candidate Registry.
Source
“The Board of Examiners will determine if an applicant is eligible to be placed on the Registry of Registered Social Workers.”
nscsw.org/applicants/international-bswmsw
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $4,074 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Active registrant: $476
Source
“The fees for social worker registration in 2026/27 are: - Active registrant: $476”
nscsw.org/applicants/registration-fees - Clinical specialist: $526
- Associate: $238
- Retired associate: $50
- Electronic practice from outside NS: $230
- Active registrant: $509
Source
“The fees for social worker registration in 2027/28 will be: - Active registrant: $509”
nscsw.org/applicants/registration-fees - Clinical specialist: $559
- Associate: $255
- Electronic practice from outside NS: $246
- Clinical specialist additional annual fee: $50 (clinical specialists)
Source
“Clinical specialists pay an additional annual fee of $50 for their registration.”
nscsw.org/applicants/registration-fees - Annual fee for registration renewal: Active registrant (2026/27): $476
- Annual fee for registration renewal: Active registrant (2027/28): $509
- Annual fee to engage in private practice of the clinical specialization: $50 (registrants engaging in private practice of the clinical specialization)
Source
“The additional annual fee to engage in private practice of the clinical specialization is $50.”
nscsw.org/applicants
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Clinical specialization application fee: $50
Source
“- $50 application fee – This fee covers the initial processing and review of your application.”
nscsw.org/applicants/registration-fees - Substantial equivalency assessment: $350 (for applicants pursuing the substantial equivalency route)
Source
“- $350 additional fee for substantial equivalency assessment – For applicants pursuing the substantial equivalency route, this additional fee is required for the assessment of qualifications and experiences against the MSW curriculum benchmarks.”
nscsw.org/applicants/registration-fees - Student membership fee: $10 (student members who are not yet registered as social workers)
Source
“Student members *who are not yet registered as social workers* pay a one-time membership fee of $10.”
nscsw.org/applicants/registration-fees - Examination of an applicant: $50
- Hard copy submission of Application or Renewal: $25
- Duplicate copies of receipts: $10
- Reinstatement, late renewal under a week: $25 (under a week past the renewal date)
- Reinstatement, late renewal over a week: $50 (over a week late)
- Reinstatement, late renewal over two weeks: $75 (over two weeks late)
- Reinstatement, late renewal over three weeks: $100 (over three weeks late)
- Reinstatement from retirement or resignation: $25
- Appeal of decision by the Board of Examiners: $100
- Initial registration fee, Active, Feb 1 – Apr 30: $476
- Initial registration fee, Active, May 1 – Jul 31: $357
- Initial registration fee, Active, Aug 1 – Oct 31: $238
- Initial registration fee, Active, Nov 1 – Jan 31: $119
- Initial registration fee, recent graduate Active, Feb 1 – Apr 30: $238
- Initial registration fee, recent graduate Active, Nov 1 – Jan 31: $60
- Initial registration fees for 2026/27 applicants: Associate, February 1 – April 30: $238
- Initial registration fees for 2026/27 applicants: Associate, May 1 – July 31: $179
- Initial registration fees for 2026/27 applicants: Associate, August 1 – October 31: $119
- Initial registration fees for 2026/27 applicants: Associate, November 1 – January 31: $60
- Initial registration fees for 2027/28 applicants: Active, February 1 – April 30: $509
- Initial registration fees for 2027/28 applicants: Associate, February 1 – April 30: $255
- Initial registration fees for 2027/28 applicants: Active, May 1 – July 31: $382
- Initial registration fees for 2027/28 applicants: Associate, May 1 – July 31: $191
- Initial registration fees for 2027/28 applicants: Active, August 1 – October 31: $255
- Initial registration fees for 2027/28 applicants: Associate, August 1 – October 31: $127
- Initial registration fees for 2027/28 applicants: Active, November 1 – January 31: $127
- Initial registration fees for 2027/28 applicants: Associate, November 1 – January 31: $64
- Initial registration fees for recently graduated applicants in 2026/27: Associate, February 1 – April 30: $119
- Initial registration fees for recently graduated applicants in 2026/27: Active, May 1 – July 31: $179
- Initial registration fees for recently graduated applicants in 2026/27: Associate, May 1 – July 31: $89
- Initial registration fees for recently graduated applicants in 2026/27: Active, August 1 – October 31: $119
- Initial registration fees for recently graduated applicants in 2026/27: Associate, August 1 – October 31: $60
- Initial registration fees for recently graduated applicants in 2026/27: Associate, November 1 – January 31: $30
- Initial registration fees for recently graduated applicants in 2027/28: Active, February 1 – April 30: $255
- Initial registration fees for recently graduated applicants in 2027/28: Associate, February 1 – April 30: $127
- Initial registration fees for recently graduated applicants in 2027/28: Active, May 1 – July 31: $191
- Initial registration fees for recently graduated applicants in 2027/28: Associate, May 1 – July 31: $95
- Initial registration fees for recently graduated applicants in 2027/28: Active, August 1 – October 31: $127
- Initial registration fees for recently graduated applicants in 2027/28: Associate, August 1 – October 31: $64
- Initial registration fees for recently graduated applicants in 2027/28: Active, November 1 – January 31: $64
- Initial registration fees for recently graduated applicants in 2027/28: Associate, November 1 – January 31: $32
- Initial application fee for clinical specialization: $50 (social workers applying for clinical specialization)
- Fee for an examination of an applicant: $50
- Fee to assess international credentials (through the CASW): $339 (applicants with international credentials)
Source
“- The fee to assess international credentials (through the CASW – learn more here): $339.00”
nscsw.org/applicants - Fee to apply to the Board of Examiners for clinical specialization: $50 (applicants to the Board of Examiners for clinical specialization)
Source
“- The fee to apply to the Board of Examiners for clinical specialization: $50”
nscsw.org/applicants - Additional fee for assessment of qualifications and experiences against the MSW curriculum benchmarks: $350 (applicants pursuing the substantial equivalency route)
Source
“For applicants pursuing the substantial equivalency route, an additional $350 fee is levied for the assessment of qualifications and experiences against the MSW curriculum benchmarks”
nscsw.org/applicants
Requirements
Education
A person is eligible for Registered Social Worker status if they have completed a CASWE accredited Bachelor of Social Work degree or a Masters of Social Work Degree or equivalent.
Source
“A person is eligible for Registered Social Worker status if they have completed a CASWE accredited Bachelor of Social Work degree or a Masters of Social Work Degree or equivalent and an additional 2500 hours of practice experience post-graduation that falls within the scope of practice (Social Worker Act Section 5(a)).”
nscsw.org/applicants/international-bswmswTelepractice applicants must hold a bachelors, masters or doctoral degree in social work accredited by the Canadian Association for Social Work Education, the Council on Social Work Education or international equivalent.
Source
“- hold a bachelors, masters or doctoral degree in social work accredited by the Canadian Association for Social Work Education, the Council on Social Work Education or international equivalent;”
nscsw.org/applicants/telepractice
Experience
Registered Social Worker status requires an additional 2500 hours of post-graduation practice experience within the scope of practice; applicants without this are registered as Social Worker Candidates.
Source
“A person is eligible for Registered Social Worker status if they have completed a CASWE accredited Bachelor of Social Work degree or a Masters of Social Work Degree or equivalent and an additional 2500 hours of practice experience post-graduation that falls within the scope of practice (Social Worker Act Section 5(a)).”
nscsw.org/applicants/international-bswmswTelepractice applicants must have completed at least two years of experience as a social worker that demonstrates competence in the field.
Source
“- have completed at least two years of experience as a social worker that, in the opinion of the Board of Examiners, demonstrates competence in the field of social work;”
nscsw.org/applicants/telepractice
Insurance
Telepractice applicants must obtain a professional liability insurance policy with adequate coverage for electronic social work practice in Nova Scotia.
Source
“Obtain a professional liability insurance policy either independently or through your employer with adequate coverage for electronic social work practice in Nova Scotia.”
nscsw.org/applicants/telepractice
Other
Telepractice applicants must be a registered, licensed and/or permitted social worker in good standing with a Canadian social work regulatory authority outside Nova Scotia and hold an active practising registration.
Source
“- be a registered, licensed, and/or permitted social worker in good standing with a Canadian social work regulatory authority outside Nova Scotia; - hold an active practising registration, license, and/or permit issued by a Canadian social worker regulatory authority;”
nscsw.org/applicants/telepracticeTelepractice applicants must undertake to restrict their practice in Nova Scotia exclusively to electronic social work practice.
Source
“- undertake to restrict their practice in Nova Scotia exclusively to electronic social work practice;”
nscsw.org/applicants/telepracticeTelepractice applicants must be familiar with the Social Workers Act, Regulations, and practice standards, and adhere to the scope of practice for social work in Nova Scotia.
Source
“- be familiar with the *Social Workers Act*, Regulations, and practice standards; - adhere to the scope of practice for social work in Nova Scotia; and”
nscsw.org/applicants/telepractice
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
An applicant certified as a Registered Social Worker by any regulatory authority in Canada can be registered as a Registered Social Worker in Nova Scotia without needing further training, experience, or evaluation. Source
“An applicant certified as a Registered Social Worker by any regulatory authority in Canada, can be registered as a Registered Social Worker in Nova Scotia without needing further training, experience, or evaluation.”
nscsw.org/applicants/registered-from-another-province
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia College of Social Workers
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia College of Social Workers
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia College of Social Workers
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia College of Social Workers
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia College of Social Workers
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia College of Social Workers
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nova Scotia | $24.00 | $36.26 | $47.18 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $25.00 | $38.46 | $50.26 | — |
Social workers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- novascotia.ca/sites/default/files/documents/1-3973/health-professio... novascotia.ca/sites/default/files/documents/1-3973/health-professio...
- NSCSW | Registration from Another Province nscsw.org/applicants/registered-from-another-province · fetched October 10, 2026
- NSCSW | Registration Fees nscsw.org/applicants/registration-fees · fetched October 10, 2026
- NSCSW | International BSW/MSW nscsw.org/applicants/international-bswmsw · fetched October 10, 2026
- NSCSW | Telepractice From Outside NS nscsw.org/applicants/telepractice · fetched October 10, 2026
- NSCSW | Applicants nscsw.org/applicants · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as a social worker in Nova Scotia?
Yes. Registration with the Nova Scotia College of Social Workers is required to practise in Nova Scotia.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.