How to Become a Social Worker in Ontario
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers to work as a social worker in Ontario or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- social worker, registered social worker
Show the source
“Only College registrants are allowed to use the titles “social worker / registered social worker,” or “social service worker” / “registered social service worker,” and hold themselves out as social workers or social service workers.”
From ocswssw.org/members/retired-member, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps
- Licensed in another province: 5 steps
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
-
- Annual fee for a general class certificate of registration: $330
Source
“Annual fee for a general class certificate of registration | $330”
ocswssw.org/2021/11/19/2019-college-fees - Inactive class of certificate of registration: $165
Source
“Inactive class of certificate of registration | $165”
ocswssw.org/2021/11/19/2019-college-fees - Retired class of certificate of registration: $50
- Annual fee for a general class certificate of registration: $330
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $545
-
Make a written request to the Registration Department to be considered for high-priority registration.
Source
“If an individual wishes to be considered for high-priority registration, they must make their request in writing to the Registration Department at [email protected]”
ocswssw.org/2020/05/15/what-you-need-to-know-about-high-priority-ap... -
Download, print and complete the appropriate application form, including the applicant's signature, and email it with the request.
Source
“College application form: The appropriate application form should be downloaded, printed and completed, including the applicant’s signature, and subsequently emailed along with the request.”
ocswssw.org/2020/05/15/what-you-need-to-know-about-high-priority-ap... -
Complete the credit card payment authorization section of the application form, including signature by the cardholder.
Source
“Credit card authorization: As part of the application form, the credit card payment authorization section must be completed, including signature by the cardholder.”
ocswssw.org/2020/05/15/what-you-need-to-know-about-high-priority-ap... -
Have the academic institution email the official transcript directly to the College.
Source
“Official transcript (or In Good Standing Certificate): If an individual has already obtained their SSW diploma, BSW degree or MSW degree, the academic institution must email the official transcript to the College directly.”
ocswssw.org/2020/05/15/what-you-need-to-know-about-high-priority-ap... -
Include the reason for the request in order to initiate a high-priority application for registration.
Source
“Reason for the request: The reason for the request must be included in order to initiate a high-priority application for registration.”
ocswssw.org/2020/05/15/what-you-need-to-know-about-high-priority-ap...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $545 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual fee for a general class certificate of registration: $330
Source
“Annual fee for a general class certificate of registration | $330”
ocswssw.org/2021/11/19/2019-college-fees - Inactive class of certificate of registration: $165
Source
“Inactive class of certificate of registration | $165”
ocswssw.org/2021/11/19/2019-college-fees - Retired class of certificate of registration: $50
Licensed in another province
0 of 5 done
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $545
-
Make a written request to the Registration Department to be considered for high-priority registration.
Source
“If an individual wishes to be considered for high-priority registration, they must make their request in writing to the Registration Department at [email protected]”
ocswssw.org/2020/05/15/what-you-need-to-know-about-high-priority-ap... -
Download, print and complete the appropriate application form, including the applicant's signature, and email it with the request.
Source
“College application form: The appropriate application form should be downloaded, printed and completed, including the applicant’s signature, and subsequently emailed along with the request.”
ocswssw.org/2020/05/15/what-you-need-to-know-about-high-priority-ap... -
Complete the credit card payment authorization section of the application form, including signature by the cardholder.
Source
“Credit card authorization: As part of the application form, the credit card payment authorization section must be completed, including signature by the cardholder.”
ocswssw.org/2020/05/15/what-you-need-to-know-about-high-priority-ap... -
Have the social work regulator in the other province or territory email the In Good Standing Certificate directly to the College.
Source
“For applicants who are registered social workers from a province or territory outside Ontario (excluding Nunavut), the SW regulator must email the In Good Standing Certificate directly to the College.”
ocswssw.org/2020/05/15/what-you-need-to-know-about-high-priority-ap... -
Include the reason for the request in order to initiate a high-priority application for registration.
Source
“Reason for the request: The reason for the request must be included in order to initiate a high-priority application for registration.”
ocswssw.org/2020/05/15/what-you-need-to-know-about-high-priority-ap...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $545 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual fee for a general class certificate of registration: $330
Source
“Annual fee for a general class certificate of registration | $330”
ocswssw.org/2021/11/19/2019-college-fees - Inactive class of certificate of registration: $165
Source
“Inactive class of certificate of registration | $165”
ocswssw.org/2021/11/19/2019-college-fees - Retired class of certificate of registration: $50
Trained outside Canada
- Annual fees: $545
No separate route for this group. Source
“The College is processing high-priority applications on a case-by-case basis for the following registration streams: social work degree from an accredited program in Ontario; social service work diploma from an approved program in Ontario; registered social worker from a province or territory outside Ontario, excluding Nunavut”
ocswssw.org/2020/05/15/what-you-need-to-know-about-high-priority-ap...
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Registration fee for new members in the general class of certificate of registration: $330 (for new members in the general class)
Source
“Registration fee for new members in the general class of certificate of registration | $330 + $100 application fee”
ocswssw.org/2021/11/19/2019-college-fees - Application fee: $100 (for new members in the general class)
Source
“Registration fee for new members in the general class of certificate of registration | $330 + $100 application fee”
ocswssw.org/2021/11/19/2019-college-fees - New graduate registration fee: $230 (for new graduates)
Source
“New graduate registration fee* | $230 + $100 application fee”
ocswssw.org/2021/11/19/2019-college-fees - Application fee (new graduates): $100 (for new graduates)
Source
“New graduate registration fee* | $230 + $100 application fee”
ocswssw.org/2021/11/19/2019-college-fees
Requirements
Education
Applicants must have a social work degree from an accredited program.
Source
“social work degree from an accredited program in Ontario”
ocswssw.org/2020/05/15/what-you-need-to-know-about-high-priority-ap...
Other
Applicants from another province must hold a certificate of registration, licence or permit for social work issued by a Canadian social work regulatory authority.
Source
“an applicant from another province must hold a certificate of registration, licence or permit for social work that has been issued by a Canadian social work regulatory authority, which authorizes them to practise the profession of social work, or to use a title or designation relating to the profession, or both”
ocswssw.org/2020/11/19/electronic-practice-an-employers-responsibil...Applicants from another province must meet all the requirements of the College's AIT application, including academic verification of a social work degree for those registered in Alberta and Saskatchewan.
Source
“Applicants must also meet all the requirements of the College’s AIT application (including academic verification of a social work degree for those registered in Alberta and Saskatchewan).”
ocswssw.org/2020/11/19/electronic-practice-an-employers-responsibil...
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Applicants from another province must meet all the requirements of the College's AIT application, including academic verification of a social work degree for those registered in Alberta and Saskatchewan. Source
“Applicants must also meet all the requirements of the College’s AIT application (including academic verification of a social work degree for those registered in Alberta and Saskatchewan).”
ocswssw.org/2020/11/19/electronic-practice-an-employers-responsibil...
Meet AIT application requirements
Source
“Applicants must also meet all the requirements of the College’s AIT application (including academic verification of a social work degree for those registered in Alberta and Saskatchewan).”
ocswssw.org/2020/11/19/electronic-practice-an-employers-responsibil...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | $25.00 | $38.66 | $53.32 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $25.00 | $38.46 | $50.26 | — |
Social workers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- OCSWSSW Registrants | Resources & Support for Members ocswssw.org/members/retired-member · fetched October 10, 2026
- What You Need to Know About High-Priority Applications - OCSWSSW ocswssw.org/2020/05/15/what-you-need-to-know-about-high-priority-ap... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Electronic Practice: An Employer’s Responsibility Around Ethical and Professional Practice - OCSWSSW ocswssw.org/2020/11/19/electronic-practice-an-employers-responsibil... · fetched October 10, 2026
- 2019 College Fees - OCSWSSW ocswssw.org/2021/11/19/2019-college-fees · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as a social worker in Ontario?
Yes. Registration with the Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers is required to practise in Ontario, and to use the title social worker or registered social worker.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.