At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with CPhM

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $100
  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  1. You submit your initial application to the College and receive its approval.

    Source
    “After submitting your initial application and receiving approval from the College, you can register for the College of Pharmacists of Manitoba Jurisprudence Examination (JP Exam) after you have submitted proof of having completed the Jurisprudence Modules.”
    cphm.ca/professional-registration/spt-program
  2. You complete the Jurisprudence Modules hosted on the University of Manitoba CPD website and submit proof of completion.

    Source
    “All pharmacy professionals attempting the JP exam on or after April 7th, 2022, will be required to show proof of completing the pharmacy law modules. Any pharmacy professional in Manitoba can also register to complete the modules. The cost of registration is $100.”
    cphm.ca/friday-five/friday-five-january-21-2022
  3. You register for and successfully complete the Jurisprudence Examination before becoming listed.

    Source
    “You must successfully complete the JP Exam prior to becoming listed.”
    cphm.ca/professional-registration/spt-program
  4. You complete a minimum number of supervised hours in a patient-care setting, with the required hours depending on how long ago you graduated.

    Source
    “Graduates of a CCAPP-accredited Canadian pharmacy technician program or CPhM approved bridging program who list less than three years post-graduation, must complete a minimum of 240 hours (six weeks) of structured practical training.”
    cphm.ca/professional-registration/spt-program

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $100

One-time fees listed for Trained in Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Other $100 100%
One-time total $100 100%

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  1. As a Canadian Mobility Agreement applicant, you submit your application and proof of having completed the Jurisprudence Modules.

    Source
    “If you are a Canadian Mobility Agreement applicant, you must submit your application and submit proof of having completed the Jurisprudence Modules before you can register for the (JP Exam).”
    cphm.ca/professional-registration/spt-program
  2. After submitting your application and module proof, you can register for the Jurisprudence Examination.

    Source
    “If you are a Canadian Mobility Agreement applicant, you must submit your application and submit proof of having completed the Jurisprudence Modules before you can register for the (JP Exam).”
    cphm.ca/professional-registration/spt-program
  3. You must successfully complete the Jurisprudence Examination before becoming listed.

    Source
    “You must successfully complete the JP Exam prior to becoming listed.”
    cphm.ca/professional-registration/spt-program

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CPhM

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $600
  • 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  1. You apply for the PEBC Pharmacy Technician International Evaluation as part of the certification process.

    Source
    “Pharmacy Technician International Evaluation $500”
    pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees
  2. You take the computer-based multiple-choice Qualifying Examination Part I.

    Source
    “Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ) $585 (2027 fee)”
    pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees
  3. You take the Qualifying Examination Part II (OSPE).

    Source
    “Qualifying Examination - Part II (OSPE) $1,240 (2027 fee)”
    pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees
  4. You submit your initial application to the College and receive its approval.

    Source
    “After submitting your initial application and receiving approval from the College, you can register for the College of Pharmacists of Manitoba Jurisprudence Examination (JP Exam) after you have submitted proof of having completed the Jurisprudence Modules.”
    cphm.ca/professional-registration/spt-program
  5. You complete the Jurisprudence Modules and submit proof of completion before registering for the JP Exam.

    Source
    “Council has made the decision that completion of these modules is mandatory for all pharmacy professionals, including local graduates from the University of Manitoba, international pharmacy graduates, pharmacists from other provinces, and pharmacy technicians, prior to attempting the Manitoba jurisprudence (JP) exam.”
    cphm.ca/friday-five/friday-five-january-21-2022
  6. You must successfully complete the Jurisprudence Examination before becoming listed.

    Source
    “You must successfully complete the JP Exam prior to becoming listed.”
    cphm.ca/professional-registration/spt-program
  7. International pharmacy technician graduates must complete a minimum of 480 hours of structured practical training.

    Source
    “International pharmacy technician graduates must complete a minimum of 480 hours (twelve weeks) of structured practical training.”
    cphm.ca/professional-registration/spt-program

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $600

One-time fees listed for Trained outside Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Other $600 100%
One-time total $600 100%

2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • Applicants on the Canadian route must be graduates of a CCAPP-accredited Canadian pharmacy technician program or a CPhM approved bridging program.

    Source
    “Graduates of a CCAPP-accredited Canadian pharmacy technician program or CPhM approved bridging program who list less than three years post-graduation, must complete a minimum of 240 hours (six weeks) of structured practical training.”
    cphm.ca/professional-registration/spt-program

Other

  • Applicants must complete the Jurisprudence Modules before attempting the JP Exam.

    Source
    “Council has made the decision that completion of these modules is mandatory for all pharmacy professionals, including local graduates from the University of Manitoba, international pharmacy graduates, pharmacists from other provinces, and pharmacy technicians, prior to attempting the Manitoba jurisprudence (JP) exam.”
    cphm.ca/friday-five/friday-five-january-21-2022

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages mention a Canadian Mobility Agreement pathway for applicants from other provinces but do not state whether they can register based on their current licence without extra assessments or exams.

Source
“If you are a Canadian Mobility Agreement applicant, you must submit your application and submit proof of having completed the Jurisprudence Modules before you can register for the (JP Exam).”
cphm.ca/professional-registration/spt-program

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CPhM

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with CPhM

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with CPhM

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with CPhM

Supervised practice

Required

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Manitoba and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Manitoba $18.00 $28.00 $38.82 Moderate (3 of 5)
Canada $17.50 $24.83 $34.20 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Manitoba

Wages in every province and territory

Pharmacy technicians in other provinces and territories

Compare pharmacy technician licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Professional Registration | College of Pharmacists of Manitoba cphm.ca/professional-registration · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Structured Practical Training Program | College of Pharmacists of Manitoba cphm.ca/professional-registration/spt-program · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Friday Five (January 21, 2022) | College of Pharmacists of Manitoba cphm.ca/friday-five/friday-five-january-21-2022 · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Friday Five (October 25, 2024) | College of Pharmacists of Manitoba cphm.ca/friday-five/friday-five-october-25-2024 · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. Examination Dates and Fees - PEBC pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees · fetched October 9, 2026
  6. Jurisprudence Examination | College of Pharmacists of Manitoba cphm.ca/professional-registration/jurisprudence-examinations · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a pharmacy technician in Manitoba?

Yes. Registration with the College of Pharmacists of Manitoba is required to practise in Manitoba.

Which exams are required?

Jurisprudence Examination (JP Exam), PEBC Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ), Pharmacy Technician International Evaluation.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.