How to Become a Pharmacy Technician in Newfoundland and Labrador
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with The College of Pharmacy of Newfoundland and Labrador to work as a pharmacy technician in Newfoundland and Labrador or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Any individual who wishes to practice as a pharmacy technician in Newfoundland and Labrador must register with the College of Pharmacy of Newfoundland and Labrador.”
From cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/out-o..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps (2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 4 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 7 steps, listed one-time fees $500 (2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total)
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with The College of Pharmacy of Newfoundland and Labrador
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.2 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
-
Successfully complete both Parts I and II of the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada Qualifying Examination for Pharmacy Technicians.
- Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ): $585 (2027 fee)
Source
“Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ) $585 (2027 fee)”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees - Qualifying Examination - Part II (OSPE): $1,240 (2027 fee)
Source
“Qualifying Examination - Part II (OSPE) $1,240 (2027 fee)”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees
Source
“Must have successfully completed both Parts I and II of the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC) Qualifying Examination for Pharmacy Technicians.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/new-g... - Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ): $585 (2027 fee)
-
Successfully complete the CPNL Registration Exam.
Source
“Must have successfully completed the CPNL Registration Exam.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/new-g... -
Apply through CPNL's online application portal by selecting the new graduate pharmacy technician registration application and following the instructions to submit the application and pay the application fee.
Time: 5 to 7 daysTime source
“Completed applications are reviewed in the order they are submitted and may take 5-7 business days to process once all required documentation and fees are received.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/new-g...Source
“Click *Select this Application* button under the *New Graduate of a Canadian CCAPP-Accredited Pharmacy Technician Program – Pharmacy Technician Registration Application*. Follow the instructions to submit the application and pay the application fee.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/new-g... -
If approved, pay the annual registration fee through the Applications Portal so the registration becomes effective.
Source
“If approved, the applicant must pay the annual registration fee by logging into the Applications Portal and clicking the *Pay Registration Fees* button next to the appropriate application.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/new-g...
Listed fees for this route
2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.2 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
-
Successfully complete the CPNL Registration Exam.
Source
“Must have successfully completed the CPNL Registration Exam.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/out-o... -
Have Letters of Standing sent directly to the College from all pharmacy regulatory authorities with which the applicant is currently or was formerly registered.
Source
“Letters of Standing sent directly to the College from all pharmacy regulatory authorities with which the applicant is currently, or was formerly, registered.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/out-o... -
Apply through the College's online application portal by selecting the pharmacy technician from other Canadian jurisdiction application and following the instructions to submit the application and pay the application fee.
Time: 5 to 7 daysTime source
“Completed applications are reviewed in the order they are submitted and may take 5-7 business days to process once all required documentation and fees are received.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/out-o...Source
“Click *Select this Application* button under the *Pharmacy Technician from Other Canadian Jurisdiction – Pharmacy Technician Registration Application*. Follow the instructions to submit the application and pay the application fee.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/out-o... -
If approved, pay the annual registration fee through the Applications Portal so the registration becomes effective.
Source
“If approved, the applicant must pay the annual registration fee by logging into the Applications Portal and clicking the *Pay Registration Fees* button next to the appropriate application.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/out-o...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with The College of Pharmacy of Newfoundland and Labrador
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 7 done
- Listed one-time fees: $500
- 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.2 months (only 1 of 7 steps state a time)
-
Register with the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada and successfully complete the pharmacy technician international evaluation.
- Pharmacy Technician International Evaluation: $500
Source
“Pharmacy Technician International Evaluation $500”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees
Source
“Must be registered with the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC), and have successfully completed the pharmacy technician international evaluation.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/inter... - Pharmacy Technician International Evaluation: $500
-
Successfully complete English language proficiency testing.
Source
“Must have successfully completed English language proficiency testing.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/inter... -
Be registered as a Pharmacy Technician Intern and complete the practical training requirements.
Source
“Must be registered as a Pharmacy Technician Intern and have completed the practical training requirements.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/inter... -
Successfully complete both Parts I and II of the PEBC Qualifying Examination for Pharmacy Technicians.
- Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ): $585 (2027 fee)
Source
“Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ) $585 (2027 fee)”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees - Qualifying Examination - Part II (OSPE): $1,240 (2027 fee)
Source
“Qualifying Examination - Part II (OSPE) $1,240 (2027 fee)”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees
Source
“Must have successfully completed both Parts I and II of the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC) Qualifying Examination for Pharmacy Technicians.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/inter... - Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ): $585 (2027 fee)
-
Successfully complete the CPNL Registration Exam.
Source
“Must have successfully completed the CPNL Registration Exam.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/inter... -
Apply through CPNL's online application portal by selecting the internationally educated pharmacy technician application and following the instructions to submit the application and pay the application fee.
Time: 5 to 7 daysTime source
“Completed applications are reviewed in the order they are submitted and may take 5-7 business days to process once all required documentation and fees are received.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/inter...Source
“Click *Select this Application* button under the *Pharmacy Technician Registration Application – Internationally Educated Pharmacy Technician*. Follow the instructions to submit the application and pay the application fee.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/inter... -
If approved, pay the annual registration fee through the Applications Portal so the registration becomes effective.
Source
“If approved, the applicant must pay the annual registration fee by logging into the Applications Portal and clicking the *Pay Registration Fees* button next to the appropriate application.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/inter...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $500
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $500 | 100% |
| One-time total | $500 | 100% |
2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ) rescheduling or cancellation: $60 (paid directly to Prometric when rescheduling or cancelling, if applicable)
Source
“Examination Rescheduling / Cancellation Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ) $60 +HST Paid directly to Prometric when rescheduling or cancelling, if applicable”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees - Certificate Replacement: $100
- Sending Licensing Statement/Good Standing Certificate to Provincial Regulatory Authority: $100
Source
“Sending Licensing Statement/Good Standing Certificate to Provincial Regulatory Authority $100”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees - ECA Report Request: $100
- Evaluating Examination: $100
- Offline payment shipping and handling: $30 (if your payment does not meet the offline payment requirements outside of Canada)
Source
“If your payment does not meet these requirements you will be charged a fee of $30 CAD to cover shipping and handling fees”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees - Wire transfer cost deduction: $50 (if a wire transfer is necessary)
Source
“If a wire transfer is necessary, $50 CAD will be deducted to cover costs.”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees - MUN Pharmacy Technician Injection Training Program - online independent study content: $100 (registration fee for the online independent study content)
- MUN Pharmacy Technician Injection Training Program - in-person training session: $150 (registration fee for the in-person training session)
Requirements
Education
New graduate applicants must have completed a Canadian CCAPP-accredited pharmacy technician program.
Source
“New Graduate of a Canadian CCAPP-Accredited Pharmacy Technician Program – Pharmacy Technician Registration Application”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/new-g...Internationally educated applicants on the standard pathway must have graduated from an eligible pharmacy technician or related program outside of Canada.
Source
“Graduation from a pharmacy technician diploma or related program outside of Canada. Certificate courses or certification by exam are not accepted.”
pebc.ca/pharmacy-technicians/pharmacy-technician-international-eval...
Experience
Internationally educated applicants on the standard pathway must be registered as a Pharmacy Technician Intern and have completed the practical training requirements.
Source
“Must be registered as a Pharmacy Technician Intern and have completed the practical training requirements.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/inter...
Police check
Applicants must submit a certificate of conduct with their registration application.
Source
“Certificate of conduct”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/new-g...
Insurance
Applicants must submit proof of professional liability insurance with their registration application.
Source
“Proof of professional liability insurance”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/new-g...
Other
Out-of-province applicants must be currently registered as a pharmacy technician in another Canadian jurisdiction.
Source
“Must be currently registered as a pharmacy technician in another Canadian jurisdiction.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/out-o...Out-of-province applicants must have Letters of Standing sent directly to the College from all pharmacy regulatory authorities with which they are currently or were formerly registered.
Source
“Letters of Standing sent directly to the College from all pharmacy regulatory authorities with which the applicant is currently, or was formerly, registered.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/out-o...Proof of English language proficiency may be required depending on the current province of registration.
Source
“Proof of English language proficiency may be required depending on the current province of registration.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/out-o...Internationally educated applicants on the standard pathway must be registered with the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada and have successfully completed the pharmacy technician international evaluation.
Source
“Must be registered with the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC), and have successfully completed the pharmacy technician international evaluation.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/inter...Expedited pathway applicants must be currently registered and practicing as a pharmacy technician in a CPNL-approved jurisdiction such as Great Britain.
Source
“CPNL waives select initial registration requirements for applicants who are currently registered and practicing as a pharmacy technician in any of the following CPNL-approved jurisdictions: Great Britain”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/inter...Expedited pathway applicants must have Letters of Standing sent directly to CPNL from all pharmacy regulatory authorities with which they are currently or were formerly registered.
Source
“Must have Letters of Standing sent directly to CPNL from all pharmacy regulatory authorities with which the applicant is currently, or was formerly, registered.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/inter...To be eligible to write the CPNL Registration Exam, a pharmacy technician student or intern must be enrolled in or have completed the final semester of a CCAPP-accredited pharmacy technician program or approved bridging education program.
Source
“A CPNL-registered pharmacy technician student or intern who is enrolled in or has completed the final semester of a CCAPP-accredited pharmacy technician program or approved bridging education program.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/registration-requirements...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
A pharmacy technician currently registered in another Canadian jurisdiction can apply for registration with the College based on their current registration, provided they meet the requirements including successfully completing the CPNL Registration Exam and submitting Letters of Standing. Source
“Pharmacy Technicians currently registered in another jurisdiction in Canada are eligible to apply for registration with the College if they meet the requirements set out below.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/out-o...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with The College of Pharmacy of Newfoundland and Labrador
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with The College of Pharmacy of Newfoundland and Labrador
Exams
-
Pharmacy Technician International Evaluation
Source
“Must be registered with the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC), and have successfully completed the pharmacy technician international evaluation.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/inter...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with The College of Pharmacy of Newfoundland and Labrador
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with The College of Pharmacy of Newfoundland and Labrador
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with The College of Pharmacy of Newfoundland and Labrador
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $18.75 | $26.94 | $31.85 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $17.50 | $24.83 | $34.20 | — |
Wages by region and job outlook in Newfoundland and Labrador
Pharmacy technicians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Out-of-Province Pharmacy Technician | cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/out-o... · fetched October 10, 2026
- New Graduate | cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/new-g... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Examination Dates and Fees - PEBC pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees · fetched October 9, 2026
- Internationally Educated Pharmacy Technician | cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacy-technician/inter... · fetched October 10, 2026
- General Information - PEBC pebc.ca/pharmacy-technicians/pharmacy-technician-international-eval... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Registration Exam | cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/registration-requirements... · fetched October 10, 2026
- The PostScript - Issue 97 - College of Pharmacy of Newfoundland and Labrador cpnl.ca/the-postscript-issue-97 · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a pharmacy technician in Newfoundland and Labrador?
Yes. Registration with The College of Pharmacy of Newfoundland and Labrador is required to practise in Newfoundland and Labrador.
Which exams are required?
Pharmacy Technician International Evaluation.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.