How to Become a Pharmacy Technician in Saskatchewan
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Saskatchewan College of Pharmacy Professionals to work as a pharmacy technician in Saskatchewan or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- pharmacy technician
Show the source
“To practise as a pharmacy technician in Saskatchewan, an individual must be registered and licensed with the Saskatchewan College of Pharmacy Professionals (SCPP).”
From scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/pharmacytech, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 8 steps, listed one-time fees $1,088.85 (2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
-
- Practising Membership – Technicians: $904.05
Source
“Practising Membership – Technicians | $861.00 | $43.05 | $904.05”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Practising Membership – Technicians (April–June): $226.80 (April–June)
Source
“Practising Membership – Technicians (April–June) | $216.00 | $10.80 | $226.80”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Non-Practising Membership – Technicians: $787.50
Source
“Non-Practising Membership – Technicians | $750.00 | $37.50 | $787.50”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Associate Membership – Technicians: $120.75
Source
“Associate Membership – Technicians | $115.00 | $5.75 | $120.75”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Retired Membership – Technicians: $60.90
Source
“Retired Membership – Technicians | $58.00 | $2.90 | $60.90”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees
- Practising Membership – Technicians: $904.05
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 8 done
- Listed one-time fees: $1,088.85
- 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,873.20
- Listed time: 0.2 months (only 1 of 8 steps state a time)
-
You must graduate with a Pharmacy Technician Diploma from Saskatchewan Polytechnic, and proof of graduation is sent to SCPP by the School of Health Sciences.
Source
“Graduation with a Pharmacy Technician Diploma from Sask Polytechnic. Proof of your graduation is supplied to SCPP by the School of Health Sciences.”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techapplicants -
You must successfully complete the Structured Practical Training and Assessment Program approved by Council.
Source
“Successful completion of the Structured Practical Training and Assessment Program (SPTA) as approved by Council.”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techapplicants -
You must pass the PEBC Qualification Exam, both Part I (MCQ) and Part II (OSPE), and provide the PEBC confirmation letter as proof.
Source
“Successful completion of the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC) Qualification Exam, both Part I (MCQ) and Part II (OSPE). Acceptable proof of this is a copy of the letter the applicant receives from the PEBC confirming this designation.”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techapplicants -
You must apply for and pass the PEBC Pharmacy Technician Qualifying Examination Part I (MCQ), which is administered by computer-based testing.
- Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ): $585 (2027 fee)
Source
“Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ) $585 (2027 fee)”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees
Source
“September 2026 Pharmacy Technician Qualifying Exam Part I (MCQ) Administered by computer-based testing (CBT)”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees - Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ): $585 (2027 fee)
-
You must pass the PEBC Pharmacy Technician Qualifying Examination Part II (OSPE).
- Qualifying Examination - Part II (OSPE): $1,240 (2027 fee)
Source
“Qualifying Examination - Part II (OSPE) $1,240 (2027 fee)”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees
Source
“Qualifying Examination - Part II (OSPE) $1,240 (2027 fee)”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees - Qualifying Examination - Part II (OSPE): $1,240 (2027 fee)
-
- Jurisprudence Exam – Technicians: $400.05
Source
“Jurisprudence Exam – Technicians | $381.00 | $19.05 | $400.05”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees
Source
“Successful completion of the Jurisprudence Examination.”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techapplicants - Jurisprudence Exam – Technicians: $400.05
-
You must complete any mandatory training requirements established by SCPP Council.
Source
“Required Training – Any mandatory training requirements as established by SCPP Council.”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techapplicants -
You must complete the online membership and registration application, which includes declaring malpractice insurance, a current criminal record check, and paying the applicable registration and membership fees.
- Registration – Canadian Technician Applicants: $688.80
Source
“Registration – Canadian Technician Applicants | $656.00 | $32.80 | $688.80”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees
Time: 5 daysTime source
“Processing and approval of Registration applications are completed in an average of 5 business days once all required information, documentation, and fees are received.”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techapplicantsSource
“Completion of the prescribed membership and registration online application form, which includes declaration of acceptable malpractice insurance for the duration of the membership year being applied for, a current criminal record check (CRC), as well as the applicable registration and membership fees.”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techapplicants - Registration – Canadian Technician Applicants: $688.80
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $1,088.85
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $400.05 | 37% |
| Registration | $688.80 | 63% |
| One-time total | $1,088.85 | 100% |
2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,873.20 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- Practising Membership – Technicians: $904.05
Source
“Practising Membership – Technicians | $861.00 | $43.05 | $904.05”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Practising Membership – Technicians (April–June): $226.80 (April–June)
Source
“Practising Membership – Technicians (April–June) | $216.00 | $10.80 | $226.80”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Non-Practising Membership – Technicians: $787.50
Source
“Non-Practising Membership – Technicians | $750.00 | $37.50 | $787.50”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Associate Membership – Technicians: $120.75
Source
“Associate Membership – Technicians | $115.00 | $5.75 | $120.75”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Retired Membership – Technicians: $60.90
Source
“Retired Membership – Technicians | $58.00 | $2.90 | $60.90”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,873.20
-
Applicants licensed in another Canadian province or territory should review the registration requirements document for out-of-province licensed applicants.
Source
“Registration Requirements for Out-of-Province Licensed Applicants”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techapplicants -
Applicants must complete the criminal record check requirements described in the Criminal Record Check Policy and FAQs.
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Saskatchewan College of Pharmacy Professionals
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,873.20 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- Practising Membership – Technicians: $904.05
Source
“Practising Membership – Technicians | $861.00 | $43.05 | $904.05”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Practising Membership – Technicians (April–June): $226.80 (April–June)
Source
“Practising Membership – Technicians (April–June) | $216.00 | $10.80 | $226.80”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Non-Practising Membership – Technicians: $787.50
Source
“Non-Practising Membership – Technicians | $750.00 | $37.50 | $787.50”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Associate Membership – Technicians: $120.75
Source
“Associate Membership – Technicians | $115.00 | $5.75 | $120.75”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Retired Membership – Technicians: $60.90
Source
“Retired Membership – Technicians | $58.00 | $2.90 | $60.90”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees
Trained outside Canada
- Annual fees: $1,873.20
No separate route for this group. Source
“At this time, SCPP has no legislative process/pathway for internationally trained pharmacy technicians to license in Saskatchewan.”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techapplicants
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Pre-Registration Application Fee for Non-Members: $236.25 (for non-members)
Source
“Pre-Registration Application Fee for Non-Members | $225.00 | $11.25 | $236.25”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Appraisal Registration – Technicians: $268.80
Source
“Appraisal Registration – Technicians | $256.00 | $12.80 | $268.80”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Assessment Registration – Technicians: $1,291.50
Source
“Assessment Registration – Technicians | $1,230.00 | $61.50 | $1,291.50”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Reinstatement – Technicians: $688.80
Source
“Reinstatement – Technicians | $656.00 | $32.80 | $688.80”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Registration – Provisional International Technician Applicants: $688.80 (for provisional international technician applicants)
Source
“Registration – Provisional International Technician Applicants | $656.00 | $32.80 | $688.80”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Registration – Labour Mobility Technician Applicants: $688.80 (for labour mobility technician applicants)
Source
“Registration – Labo ur Mobility Technician Applicants | $656.00 | $32.80 | $688.80”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Intern Registration – Technicians: $688.80
Source
“Intern Registration – Technicians | $656.00 | $32.80 | $688.80”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Intern Registration – International Technician Applicants: $688.80 (for international technician applicants)
Source
“Intern Registration – International Technician Applicants | $656.00 | $32.80 | $688.80”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Letter of Standing: $142.80
- ADR Process Administration: $546
Source
“ADR Process Administration | $520.00 | $26.00 | $546.00”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Registrar Review and Decision: $746.55
Source
“Registrar Review and Decision | $711.00 | $35.55 | $746.55”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Proprietor Appeal to Council: $747.60
Source
“Proprietor Appeal to Council | $712.00 | $35.60 | $747.60”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Discipline Order Appeal to Council: $748.65
Source
“Discipline Order Appeal to Council | $713.00 | $35.65 | $748.65”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - License/Permit Printing: $28.35
Source
“License/Permit Printing | $27.00 | $1.35 | $28.35”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees - Examination Re-scoring (Hand scoring) - Qualifying Examination Part I (MCQ): $100
Source
“Examination Re-scoring (Hand scoring) Evaluating Examination $100 Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ) $100”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees - Examination Re-scoring (Hand scoring) - Qualifying Examination Part II (OSCE): $200
Source
“Qualifying Examination - Part II (OSCE) $200”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees - Examination Rescheduling / Cancellation - Qualifying Examination Part I (MCQ): $60 (paid directly to Prometric when rescheduling or cancelling, if applicable)
Source
“Qualifying Examination - Part I (MCQ) $60 +HST Paid directly to Prometric when rescheduling or cancelling, if applicable”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees - Pharmacy Technician International Evaluation: $500
Source
“Pharmacy Technician International Evaluation $500”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees - Certificate Replacement: $100
- Sending Licensing Statement/Good Standing Certificate to Provincial Regulatory Authority: $100
Source
“Sending Licensing Statement/Good Standing Certificate to Provincial Regulatory Authority $100”
pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees - ECA Report Request: $100
Requirements
Education
Applicants must have successfully completed a pharmacy technician program recognized by the council from an educational institution recognized by the council, or any evaluating examinations for pharmacy technicians recognized by the council.
Source
“is applying for membership as a licensed pharmacy technician: (A) has successfully completed a pharmacy technician program recognized by the council from an educational institution recognized by the council; or (B) has successfully completed any evaluating examinations for pharmacy technicians recognized by the council.”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techapplicants
Police check
Applicants must provide a current criminal record check as part of the registration application.
Source
“a current criminal record check (CRC), as well as the applicable registration and membership fees”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techapplicantsIntern applicants must provide information establishing their character and suitability to practise, including a criminal record check.
Source
“information establishing the character and suitability to practise of the applicant, including a criminal record check (CRC)*;”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techinterns
Insurance
Applicants must declare acceptable malpractice insurance for the duration of the membership year being applied for.
Source
“which includes declaration of acceptable malpractice insurance for the duration of the membership year being applied for”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techapplicants
Good character
Intern applicants must provide character references from two reputable citizens of the community who are not family members and have known the applicant for at least two years, certifying good moral character.
Source
“character references from two reputable citizens of the community who are not family members, and who have known you for at least two years, certifying that the applicant is of good moral character;”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techinterns
Other
Applicants must have successfully completed the Structured Practical Training and Assessment Program (SPTA) as approved by Council.
Source
“Successful completion of the Structured Practical Training and Assessment Program (SPTA) as approved by Council.”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techapplicantsAny person who wishes to become a member must be a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident or be legally entitled to work in Canada.
Source
“Any person who wishes to become a member must be a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident or be legally entitled to work in Canada.”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/registration%20bak
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The page links to a requirements document for out-of-province licensed applicants but does not state whether they can register based on their current licence without additional assessments or exams. Source
“This information applies to practising members registered with a provincial or territorial pharmacy regulatory authority in Canada (but not in Saskatchewan) and who wish to become registered with SCPP.”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techapplicants
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Pharmacy Professionals
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Pharmacy Professionals
Exams
-
Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC) Qualification Exam, Part I (MCQ)
Source
“Successful completion of the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC) Qualification Exam, both Part I (MCQ) and Part II (OSPE).”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techapplicants -
Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC) Qualification Exam, Part II (OSPE)
Source
“Successful completion of the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC) Qualification Exam, both Part I (MCQ) and Part II (OSPE).”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techapplicants -
Jurisprudence Examination
Source
“Successful completion of the Jurisprudence Examination.”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techapplicants
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Pharmacy Professionals
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Pharmacy Professionals
Supervised practice
Required
Applicants must successfully complete the Structured Practical Training and Assessment Program (SPTA) as approved by Council. Source
“Successful completion of the Structured Practical Training and Assessment Program (SPTA) as approved by Council.”
scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techapplicants
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saskatchewan | $15.50 | $25.00 | $36.92 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $17.50 | $24.83 | $34.20 | — |
Pharmacy technicians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Registration - Tech - Saskatchewan College of Pharmacy Professionals scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/pharmacytech · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration - Tech Applicants - Saskatchewan College of Pharmacy Professionals scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techapplicants · fetched October 10, 2026
- Examination Dates and Fees - PEBC pebc.ca/general-informations/examination-dates-and-fees · fetched October 9, 2026
- Registration - Tech Fees - Saskatchewan College of Pharmacy Professionals scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techfees · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration Information bak - Saskatchewan College of Pharmacy Professionals scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/registration%20bak · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration - Tech Interns - Saskatchewan College of Pharmacy Professionals scpp.in1touch.org/site/registration/techinterns · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a pharmacy technician in Saskatchewan?
Yes. Registration with the Saskatchewan College of Pharmacy Professionals is required to practise in Saskatchewan, and to use the title pharmacy technician.
Which exams are required?
Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC) Qualification Exam, Part I (MCQ), Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC) Qualification Exam, Part II (OSPE), Jurisprudence Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.