How to Become a Respiratory Therapist in Manitoba
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Manitoba Association of Registered Respiratory Therapists to work as a respiratory therapist in Manitoba or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“To practice a regulated occupation, you must apply for registration with the appropriate regulatory body or regulator. … Respiratory therapist Manitoba Association of Registered Respiratory Therapists (MARRT)”
From immigratemanitoba.com/life/regulated-occupations, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 3 steps
- Annual fees
-
- Active Practicing License: $450
Source
“Active Practicing License | $450.00 | Those persons who have successfully challenged a board recognized credntialing examination and who qualify as a full active practicing member with non conditions.”
marrt.olasoft.com/site/licensing/initial%20(bak) - Active Practicing with Graduate Conditions: $225 (Those graduates who have not yet successfully challenged a board recognized credentialing examination. Prorated in year of graduation only.)
Source
“Active Practicing with Graduate Conditions | $225.00 / $450.00 | Those graduates who have not yet successfully challenged a board recognized credentialing examination. Prorated in year of graduation only.”
marrt.olasoft.com/site/licensing/initial%20(bak) - Associate Member License: $150 (Those persons registered as such pursuant to the Provisions of the Registered Respiratory Therapists Act; but not being active practicing member.)
Source
“Associate Member License | $150.00 | Those persons registered as such pursuant to the Provisions of the Registered Respiratory Therapists Act; *but not being active practicing member*.”
marrt.olasoft.com/site/licensing/initial%20(bak) - Late Fee: $100 (A late fee will be applied for license renewals that are received after January 31st.)
Source
“Late Fee | $100.00 | A late fee will be applied for license renewals that are received after January 31st.”
marrt.olasoft.com/site/licensing/initial%20(bak)
- Active Practicing License: $450
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $450
-
Complete an accredited respiratory therapy educational program.
Source
“The eligible Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) is a graduate of an accredited educational program, who has successfully passed one of two approved credentialing examinations (either the HPTC or Quebec's Épreuve Synthèse).”
marrt.org/site/licensing/membership -
Successfully pass one of the two approved credentialing examinations, either the HPTC or Quebec's Épreuve Synthèse.
Source
“The eligible Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) is a graduate of an accredited educational program, who has successfully passed one of two approved credentialing examinations (either the HPTC or Quebec's Épreuve Synthèse).”
marrt.org/site/licensing/membership -
Submit the application for a MARRT license.
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with MARRT
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $450 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Active Practicing License: $450
Source
“Active Practicing License | $450.00 | Those persons who have successfully challenged a board recognized credntialing examination and who qualify as a full active practicing member with non conditions.”
marrt.olasoft.com/site/licensing/initial%20(bak) - Active Practicing with Graduate Conditions: $225 (Those graduates who have not yet successfully challenged a board recognized credentialing examination. Prorated in year of graduation only.)
Source
“Active Practicing with Graduate Conditions | $225.00 / $450.00 | Those graduates who have not yet successfully challenged a board recognized credentialing examination. Prorated in year of graduation only.”
marrt.olasoft.com/site/licensing/initial%20(bak) - Associate Member License: $150 (Those persons registered as such pursuant to the Provisions of the Registered Respiratory Therapists Act; but not being active practicing member.)
Source
“Associate Member License | $150.00 | Those persons registered as such pursuant to the Provisions of the Registered Respiratory Therapists Act; *but not being active practicing member*.”
marrt.olasoft.com/site/licensing/initial%20(bak) - Late Fee: $100 (A late fee will be applied for license renewals that are received after January 31st.)
Source
“Late Fee | $100.00 | A late fee will be applied for license renewals that are received after January 31st.”
marrt.olasoft.com/site/licensing/initial%20(bak)
Trained outside Canada
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $450
-
Complete the same application for a respiratory therapy license that all applicants to the MARRT use.
Source
“No, there is not. All applicants to the MARRT complete the same application for a respiratory therapy license.”
marrt.org/site/licensing/intl -
The MARRT reviews your credentials and you go through a detailed assessment process to determine whether you meet the requirements or need more education and training.
Source
“As part of the application process to obtain your license to practice as a registered respiratory therapist in Manitoba, the MARRT will review your credentials and you will need to go through a detailed assessment process to determine whether you meet the requirements or need more education and training.”
marrt.org/site/licensing/intl -
If the assessment shows you need more education, you complete additional training, guided by the MARRT.
Source
“If you need more education, we will guide you through that process.”
marrt.org/site/licensing/intl
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with MARRT
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $450 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Active Practicing License: $450
Source
“Active Practicing License | $450.00 | Those persons who have successfully challenged a board recognized credntialing examination and who qualify as a full active practicing member with non conditions.”
marrt.olasoft.com/site/licensing/initial%20(bak) - Active Practicing with Graduate Conditions: $225 (Those graduates who have not yet successfully challenged a board recognized credentialing examination. Prorated in year of graduation only.)
Source
“Active Practicing with Graduate Conditions | $225.00 / $450.00 | Those graduates who have not yet successfully challenged a board recognized credentialing examination. Prorated in year of graduation only.”
marrt.olasoft.com/site/licensing/initial%20(bak) - Associate Member License: $150 (Those persons registered as such pursuant to the Provisions of the Registered Respiratory Therapists Act; but not being active practicing member.)
Source
“Associate Member License | $150.00 | Those persons registered as such pursuant to the Provisions of the Registered Respiratory Therapists Act; *but not being active practicing member*.”
marrt.olasoft.com/site/licensing/initial%20(bak) - Late Fee: $100 (A late fee will be applied for license renewals that are received after January 31st.)
Source
“Late Fee | $100.00 | A late fee will be applied for license renewals that are received after January 31st.”
marrt.olasoft.com/site/licensing/initial%20(bak)
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Administration Application Fee: $60 (Applies to the initial application only; non-refundable.)
Source
“Administration Application Fee | $60.00 | Applies to the initial application only<br>\* non-refundable”
marrt.olasoft.com/site/licensing/initial%20(bak) - Prorating of Active Practicing License Fees: $225 (Active Practicing License Fee will be prorated to half the full fee after July 31st.)
Source
“Prorating of Active Practicing License Fees | $225.00 | Active Practicing License Fee will be prorated to half the full fee after July 31st.”
marrt.olasoft.com/site/licensing/initial%20(bak) - Licensing process cost: $10,000 (Not including tuition costs for gap training; for applicants educated outside Canada.)
Source
“Not including your tuition costs for the gap training, the other requirements will cost approximately $10,000.00.”
marrt.org/site/licensing/intl
Requirements
Education
You must be a graduate of an accredited respiratory therapy educational program.
Source
“The eligible Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) is a graduate of an accredited educational program, who has successfully passed one of two approved credentialing examinations (either the HPTC or Quebec's Épreuve Synthèse).”
marrt.org/site/licensing/membership
Other
You must have successfully passed one of the two approved credentialing examinations, either the HPTC or Quebec's Épreuve Synthèse.
Source
“The eligible Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) is a graduate of an accredited educational program, who has successfully passed one of two approved credentialing examinations (either the HPTC or Quebec's Épreuve Synthèse).”
marrt.org/site/licensing/membership
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Manitoba. Source
“To practice as a Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) in Manitoba, you are required to be licensed by the MARRT.”
marrt.org/site/licensing/membership
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with MARRT
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with MARRT
Exams
-
HPTC
Source
“The eligible Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) is a graduate of an accredited educational program, who has successfully passed one of two approved credentialing examinations (either the HPTC or Quebec's Épreuve Synthèse).”
marrt.org/site/licensing/membership -
Quebec's Épreuve Synthèse
Source
“The eligible Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) is a graduate of an accredited educational program, who has successfully passed one of two approved credentialing examinations (either the HPTC or Quebec's Épreuve Synthèse).”
marrt.org/site/licensing/membership -
Health Professionals Testing Canada (HPRC) examination
Source
“The Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) is a graduate of an accredited educational program who has successfully passed the Health Professionals Testing Canada (HPRC) examination in respiratory therapy.”
marrt.olasoft.com/site/about/whatisaRT -
Canadian Board for Respiratory Care registration examination
Source
“The Registered Respiratory Therapist (R.R.T.) is a graduate of an accredited educational program who has successfully passed the Canadian Board for Respiratory Care registration examination in respiratory therapy.”
marrt.olasoft.com/site/about
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with MARRT
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with MARRT
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with MARRT
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Manitoba | $26.00 | $44.00 | $51.00 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $30.16 | $41.00 | $51.00 | — |
Respiratory therapists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Regulated Occupations | Manitoba Immigration immigratemanitoba.com/life/regulated-occupations · fetched October 10, 2026
- Application for Licensure - M.A.R.R.T. Manitoba Association of Registered Respiratory Therapists marrt.org/site/licensing/membership · fetched October 10, 2026
- Internationally Educated Applicants - M.A.R.R.T. Manitoba Association of Registered Respiratory Therapists marrt.org/site/licensing/intl · fetched October 10, 2026
- College Fees (bak) - M.A.R.R.T. Manitoba Association of Registered Respiratory Therapists marrt.olasoft.com/site/licensing/initial%20(bak) · fetched October 10, 2026
- What is a Respiratory Therapist - M.A.R.R.T. Manitoba Association of Registered Respiratory Therapists marrt.olasoft.com/site/about/whatisaRT · fetched October 10, 2026
- About MARRT - M.A.R.R.T. Manitoba Association of Registered Respiratory Therapists marrt.olasoft.com/site/about · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a respiratory therapist in Manitoba?
Yes. Registration with the Manitoba Association of Registered Respiratory Therapists is required to practise in Manitoba.
Which exams are required?
HPTC, Quebec's Épreuve Synthèse, Health Professionals Testing Canada (HPRC) examination, Canadian Board for Respiratory Care registration examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.