How to Become a Respiratory Therapist in Saskatchewan
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Saskatchewan College of Respiratory Therapists to work as a respiratory therapist in Saskatchewan or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Respiratory Therapist Saskatchewan College of Respiratory Therapists”
From saskatchewan.ca/residents/moving-to-saskatchewan/live-in-saskatchew..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $100
- Licensed in another province: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $100
- Trained outside Canada: 0 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Respiratory Therapists
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
Complete and submit the online application form.
-
Submit a criminal record check completed within the last six months that must come from the RCMP or local police and be mailed to the college.
Source
“Criminal Record Check ( CRC) completed within last six months. MUST be from the RCMP or local police.”
scrt.ca/site/rt/recent-canadian-graduates -
Pay the registration/membership fee of $100.00.
- Registration/membership fee: $100
-
Provide a letter of graduation and transcripts from an accredited respiratory therapy program.
Source
“Letter of graduation and transcripts from an accredited respiratory therapy program.”
scrt.ca/site/rt/recent-canadian-graduates -
Provide the confirmation email showing registration for the HPTC exam.
Source
“Confirmation of registration for HPTC exam. Please provide your confirmation email.”
scrt.ca/site/rt/recent-canadian-graduates
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
Complete and submit the online application form.
-
Submit a criminal record check completed within the last six months that must come from the RCMP or local police and be mailed to the college.
Source
“Criminal Record Check ( CRC) completed within last six months. MUST be from the RCMP or local police.”
scrt.ca/site/rt/registration -
Pay the registration/membership fee of $100.00.
- Registration/membership fee: $100
-
Complete Section 1 of the Registration Verification Form and have your current or previous regulating authority complete the rest and return it directly to the college.
Source
“Proof of licensure from your current jurisdiction. Please complete Section 1 of the [Registration Verification Form]”
scrt.ca/site/rt/registration -
Complete Section 1 of the Employment Verification Form and have your current or previous employers complete the rest and return it directly to the college.
Source
“Proof of employment. Please complete Section 1 of the [Employment Verification Form]”
scrt.ca/site/rt/registration
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
Steps not listed by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Respiratory Therapists
Requirements
Education
New graduate applicants must provide a letter of graduation and transcripts from an accredited respiratory therapy program.
Source
“Letter of graduation and transcripts from an accredited respiratory therapy program.”
scrt.ca/site/rt/recent-canadian-graduates
Police check
Applicants must submit a criminal record check completed within the last six months, from the RCMP or local police.
Source
“Criminal Record Check ( CRC) completed within last six months. MUST be from the RCMP or local police.”
scrt.ca/site/rt/recent-canadian-graduates
Other
Applicants moving from another province must provide proof of licensure from their current jurisdiction.
Applicants moving from another province must provide proof of employment.
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The page lists documents an applicant moving from another province must submit but does not state whether they can register directly based on their licence or must complete an assessment or exam. Source
“If you are a licensed RT and moving from another province, you must submit the following:”
scrt.ca/site/rt/registration
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Respiratory Therapists
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Respiratory Therapists
Exams
-
Health Professionals Testing Canada (HPTC) National Examination
Source
“RT Graduates from approved programs are eligible for a Graduate Practicing licence and must write the Health Professionals Testing Canada (HPTC) National Examination.”
scrt.ca/site/rt/accredited-programs -
CBRC exam
Source
“Confirmation of registration for CBRC exam. Please provide your confirmation email.”
scrt.ca/site/rt/registration
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Respiratory Therapists
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Respiratory Therapists
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Respiratory Therapists
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saskatchewan | $21.00 | $43.00 | $49.00 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $30.16 | $41.00 | $51.00 | — |
Respiratory therapists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Saskatchewan Regulatory Bodies | Regulated Occupations and Licensing Requirements | Government of Saskatchewan saskatchewan.ca/residents/moving-to-saskatchewan/live-in-saskatchew... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Recent Canadian Graduates - SCRT scrt.ca/site/rt/recent-canadian-graduates · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration and Licensing - SCRT scrt.ca/site/rt/registration · fetched October 10, 2026
- Accredited Programs - SCRT scrt.ca/site/rt/accredited-programs · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a respiratory therapist in Saskatchewan?
Yes. Registration with the Saskatchewan College of Respiratory Therapists is required to practise in Saskatchewan.
Which exams are required?
Health Professionals Testing Canada (HPTC) National Examination, CBRC exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.