At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $605
  1. Applicants register with the apprenticeship program, paying the registration fee.

    Source
    “registration fee will increase from $175 to $200;”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
  2. Apprentices attend technical training, paying tuition fees while attending.

    Source
    “Tuition fees are increasing by $10 per week, from $95 per week to $105 per week for most programs.”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
  3. Apprentices write the level examinations, paying the written exam fee.

    Source
    “written exam fee will increase from $100 to $125;”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
  4. Apprentices complete the practical examination, paying the practical exam fee.

    Source
    “practical exam fee will increase from $160 to $175;”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $605

One-time fees listed for Trained in Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Exams $300 50%
Registration $200 33%
Other $105 17%
One-time total $605 100%

Licensed in another province

No separate route for this group.

Source
“The trades in Saskatchewan currently recognized for Canadian military training as meeting the criteria to write the Interprovincial Exams are:”
saskapprenticeship.ca/former-canadian-military-personnel

Trained outside Canada

No separate route for this group.

Source
“There is a national agreement to allow ex-Canadian military personnel to establish civilian credentials.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/former-canadian-military-personnel

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan.

    Source
    “A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan.”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Saskatchewan and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Saskatchewan $28.85 $35.00 $45.00 Limited (2 of 5)
Canada $21.00 $30.00 $41.50 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Saskatchewan

Wages in every province and territory

Machinists in other provinces and territories

Compare machinist licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Designated Trades | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/designated-trades-searchable · fetched October 11, 2026
  2. Machinist | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/machinist · fetched October 11, 2026
  3. APPRENTICESHIP FEE UPDATES | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates · fetched October 9, 2026
  4. Former Canadian Military Personnel | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/former-canadian-military-personnel · fetched October 9, 2026
  5. Entrance Requirements for Apprenticeship Training | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a machinist in Saskatchewan?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Saskatchewan. Certification is managed by the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.

Which exams are required?

Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination, Level One Examination, Level Two Examination, Practical Examination.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.