At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  • Listed time: 24.9 to 50.3 months (only 2 of 5 steps state a time)
  1. You apply to register as an apprentice in the apprenticeship program.

    Source
    “You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  2. You spend 80 per cent of your apprenticeship learning from a certified journeyperson on the job while getting paid.

    Source
    “80 per cent of your time learning from a certified journeyperson on the job while getting paid;”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  3. You spend 20 per cent of your time in in-school technical training, ranging from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.

    Time: 4 to 10 weeks
    Time source
    “In-class training ranges from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
    Source
    “20 per cent of your time learning at in-school technical training. In-class training ranges from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  4. You write the apprenticeship level 1 exam and the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade based on your experience, training and your trade's requirements.

    Source
    “the apprenticeship level 1 exam based on: your previous experience and training; the requirements of your trade; and recommendation from your employer.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  5. When you finish your apprenticeship you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.

    Time: 2 to 4 years
    Time source
    “let you return to your job over the 2 to 4 year period until you're a certified journeyperson.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
    Source
    “When you finish your apprenticeship, you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...

Listed fees for this route

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

No separate route for this group.

Source
“You can receive a Certificate of Qualification when you: complete the Yukon’s apprenticeship program; or apply with enough demonstrated working hours in a designated trade, including self-employment, and successfully pass the appropriate exam.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...

Trained outside Canada

No separate route for this group.

Source
“You may be eligible to write or “challenge” the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam without completing an apprenticeship if you have enough experience working in the trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

Experience

  • To challenge the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam without completing an apprenticeship you must have enough experience working in the trade.

    Source
    “You may be eligible to write or “challenge” the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam without completing an apprenticeship if you have enough experience working in the trade.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...

Residency

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in the Yukon as a machinist.

Source
“being able to work anywhere in Canada.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Yukon and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Yukon — — — Undetermined
Canada $21.00 $30.00 $41.50 —

Wages in every province and territory

Machinists in other provinces and territories

Compare machinist licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Apply to certify as a journeyperson in a designated trade | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... · fetched October 9, 2026
  2. Learn about the apprenticeship program | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a machinist in Yukon?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Yukon. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Training.

Which exams are required?

apprenticeship level 1 exam, journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.