At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with CPPA

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

No separate route for this group.

Source
“Currently, there are no accredited* Canadian institutions that grant the DPM degree.”
albertapodiatry.com/registration/international

Licensed in another province

Steps not listed by the regulator Check with CPPA

Trained outside Canada

  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. Internationally trained podiatrists educated outside the USA should contact the registrar by email.

    Source
    “If you are an internationally trained Podiatrist (outside USA) please contact the registrar at: [email protected]”
    albertapodiatry.com/registration/international

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CPPA

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Requirements

Education

  • The applicant must have graduated from an approved college of podiatric medicine in Canada or the United States with a Doctor of Podiatric Medicine degree.

    Source
    “(a) graduated from a college of podiatric medicine in Canada or the United States approved by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education and received the degree Doctor of Podiatric Medicine recognized by the Board of Examiners”
    albertapodiatry.com/registration/registration-requirements

Experience

  • The applicant must have completed a post-graduate residency program of two years or greater approved by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education.

    Source
    “(c) completed a two-year or greater post-graduate residency program approved by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education of the American Podiatric Medical Association.”
    albertapodiatry.com/registration/registration-requirements

Other

  • The applicant must have successfully completed the required parts of the American Podiatric Medical Licensing Exam.

    Source
    “(b) successfully completed Part 1, 2, 2 CSPE (class of 2015,17-20) and Part 3 of the American Podiatric Medical Licensing Exam (AMPLE).”
    albertapodiatry.com/registration/registration-requirements

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The page states only that the College complies with the Canadian Free Trade Agreement for labour mobility in Canada, without describing what a podiatrist licensed in another province must do.

Source
“The CPPA complies with the Canadian Free Trade Agreement for labour mobility in Canada.”
albertapodiatry.com/registration/international

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CPPA

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with CPPA

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with CPPA

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with CPPA

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with CPPA

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $32,867 $64,000 $139,000 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $32,867 $56,800 $123,000 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Podiatrists in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Licence required
  • Saskatchewan Licence required
  • Manitoba Licence required
  • Ontario Licence required
  • Quebec Licence required
  • New Brunswick Licence required
  • Nova Scotia Licence required
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare podiatrist licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. College of Podiatric Physicians of Alberta > Registration > Registration Requirements albertapodiatry.com/registration/registration-requirements · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. College of Podiatric Physicians of Alberta > Registration > International albertapodiatry.com/registration/international · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a podiatrist in Alberta?

Yes. Registration with the College of Podiatric Physicians of Alberta is required to practise in Alberta.

Which exams are required?

American Podiatric Medical Licensing Exam (AMPLE) Part 1, American Podiatric Medical Licensing Exam (AMPLE) Part 2, American Podiatric Medical Licensing Exam (AMPLE) Part 2 CSPE, American Podiatric Medical Licensing Exam (AMPLE) Part 3, PM Lexis licensing examination.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.