At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Chiropodists of Ontario

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 2 steps without a listed fee
  1. Review the general registration information web page and complete the general certificate application form.

    Source
    “Review the General Registration Information web page and complete the general certificate application form.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/applicants-from-the-michener-institute
  2. Mail the application form to the College along with the non-refundable application fee.

    Source
    “Mail the application form to the COCOO, along with the $200.00 non-refundable application fee, payable to the College of Chiropodists of Ontario.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/applicants-from-the-michener-institute
  3. Provide official transcripts, resume, birth certificate, proof of Canadian citizenship or permanent residency or authorization under the Immigration Act, clinical experience certification, graduation diploma and program transcript.

    Source
    “Official transcript of successful completion of other academic program(s). Transcripts must come directly from the educational institution to the College. A transcript must confirm that a degree/diploma has been granted.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/applicants-from-the-michener-institute

Listed fees for this route

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • Listed one-time fees: $200
  • 2 steps without a listed fee
  1. Complete and submit the Attestation Form confirming good standing with your local regulatory body by email.

    Source
    “Complete and submit the Attestation Form confirming your good standing with your local regulatory body.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...
  2. Complete the online registration application with the College, provide all required registration documents and make the payment of $200.

    Source
    “Complete your online registration application with the College of Chiropodists of Ontario. Provide all required registration documents. Make the payment of $200.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...
  3. Write and pass the Jurisprudence Exam.

    Source
    “Write and pass the Jurisprudence Exam.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $200

One-time fees listed for Licensed in another province, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $200 100%
One-time total $200 100%

2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. Review the general registration information web page.

    Source
    “Review the General Registration Information”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/applicants-from...
  2. Complete the general certificate online application form and upload all required documents including transcripts, clinical experience certification, resume, diploma, birth certificate, proof of citizenship or residency, confidentiality agreement and police criminal record check.

    Source
    “Complete the general certificate online application form.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/applicants-from...
  3. Complete and submit the Program Review Application form with the required documentation.

    Source
    “Complete and submit the Program Review Application form. Review and prepare the required documentation.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/applicants-from...
  4. The Registrar reviews the completed application and documents, and the application may go to the Registration Committee if requirements are unclear or conditions apply.

    Source
    “The Registrar will review your completed application and submitted required documents.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/applicants-from...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Chiropodists of Ontario

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

  • Application fee (approved programs): $200 (approved post-secondary programs)
    Source
    “$200.00 non-refundable application fee (approved post-secondary programs)”
    cocoo.on.ca/to-apply-for-registration-in-ontario
  • Application fee (non-approved programs): $500 (non-approved post-secondary programs)
    Source
    “$500.00 (non-approved post-secondary programs) – payable to the College of Chiropodists of Ontario, which must accompany the application form.”
    cocoo.on.ca/to-apply-for-registration-in-ontario
  • Equivalency assessment fee: $750 (for applicants from non-approved programs)
    Source
    “increase the fee for equivalency assessment of non-approved programs from $500 to $750”
    cocoo.on.ca/registrants/current-consultations
  • Injection/prescribing assessment fee (one standard): $625 (if the assessment relates to either injecting or prescribing, but not both)
    Source
    “The fee for this is $625.00 if the assessment relates to whether he or she meets the standards of practice to either inject a substance into the foot or to prescribe a drug, but not both.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...
  • Injection/prescribing assessment fee (both standards): $1,250 (if the assessment relates to both injecting and prescribing)
    Source
    “A fee of $1,250.00 if the assessment relates to whether he or she meets the standard of practice to both inject a substance into the foot and to prescribe a drug”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...
  • CE Log non-compliance penalty: $250
    Source
    “Implement a penalty fee of $250.00 for failure to submit a Continuing Education Log and supporting documentation on or before February 14th.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registrants/current-consultations

Requirements

Education

  • Applicants must have graduated or be about to graduate from an approved chiropody program, or apply under Labour Mobility or As of Right legislation.

    Source
    “have graduated or about to graduate from an approved chiropody program; or wish to apply under Labour Mobility or As of Right legislation process.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...

Experience

  • Applicants must provide a certification of three month clinical experience or internship form forwarded directly from the certifying institution or practitioner.

    Source
    “Certification of Three Month Clinical Experience/Internship Form. Must be forwarded to the College directly from the certifying institution or practitioner.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...

Good character

  • Applicants must demonstrate good conduct and character by disclosing all past offences, findings of professional misconduct, incompetence or incapacity, and sign a declaration that all information provided is true, complete and current.

    Source
    “Applicants are required to demonstrate this good conduct and character by disclosing to the College all past offences, findings or professional misconduct, incompetence or incapacity. All applicants sign a declaration that all information provided is true, complete and current.”
    cocoo.on.ca/to-apply-for-registration-in-ontario

Residency

  • Applicants must provide proof they are a Canadian citizen, a permanent resident of Canada, or authorized under the Immigration Act (Canada) to practise the profession in Canada.

    Source
    “Applicant must provide and upload proof they are a Canadian citizen, or a permanent resident of Canada, or authorized under the Immigration Act (Canada) to practise the profession in Canada to the Applicant Checklist.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...

Other

  • Applicants who practiced in another jurisdiction must provide official evidence of registration with a licensing body sent directly from that body.

    Source
    “Official evidence of registration with a licensing body sent to the College directly from the registration/licensing body (applies only to applicants who practiced in another jurisdiction).”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/applicants-from...
  • Applicants must be able to show proficiency in either English or French to practise chiropody in Ontario.

    Source
    “You must be able to show proficiency in either English or French to practice chiropody in Ontario.”
    cocoo.on.ca/to-apply-for-registration-in-ontario

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

Under As of Right legislation, chiropodists and podiatrists registered and in good standing in another Canadian province can begin practising in Ontario for up to six months while completing registration, which requires an attestation form, a registration application and the Jurisprudence Exam, but no entry-to-practice exam or competence assessment.

Source
“This change supports labour mobility by allowing health professionals who are registered and in good standing with their home regulatory authority to begin practising in Ontario for up to six months while they complete their registration with COCOO.”
cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...

  1. Submit attestation form

    Source
    “Complete and submit the Attestation Form confirming your good standing with your local regulatory body.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...
  2. Complete registration application

    Source
    “Complete your online registration application with the College of Chiropodists of Ontario.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...
  3. Pass jurisprudence exam

    Source
    “Write and pass the Jurisprudence Exam.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Chiropodists of Ontario

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Chiropodists of Ontario

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Chiropodists of Ontario

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Chiropodists of Ontario

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Chiropodists of Ontario

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Ontario and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Ontario $37,561 $62,000 $122,000 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $32,867 $56,800 $123,000 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Ontario

Wages in every province and territory

Podiatrists in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Licence required
  • Alberta Licence required
  • Saskatchewan Licence required
  • Manitoba Licence required
  • Quebec Licence required
  • New Brunswick Licence required
  • Nova Scotia Licence required
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare podiatrist licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. ontario.ca/page/work-your-profession-or-trade ontario.ca/page/work-your-profession-or-trade
  2. Applicants from the Michener Institute - College of Chiropodists of Ontarioicon-angleicon-barsicon-times cocoo.on.ca/registration/applicants-from-the-michener-institute · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. As of Right Legislation - College of Chiropodists of Ontarioicon-angleicon-barsicon-times cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro... · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Applicants from a Program that has Not Been Approved by the College - College of Chiropodists of Ontarioicon-angleicon-barsicon-times cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/applicants-from... · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. Applicants from a Program Approved by the College - College of Chiropodists of Ontarioicon-angleicon-barsicon-times cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro... · fetched October 10, 2026
  6. General Registration Information - College of Chiropodists of Ontarioicon-angleicon-barsicon-times cocoo.on.ca/to-apply-for-registration-in-ontario · fetched October 10, 2026
  7. Consultations - College of Chiropodists of Ontarioicon-angleicon-barsicon-times cocoo.on.ca/registrants/current-consultations · fetched October 10, 2026
  8. Emergency Class Registration - College of Chiropodists of Ontarioicon-angleicon-barsicon-times cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro... · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a podiatrist in Ontario?

Yes. Registration with the College of Chiropodists of Ontario is required to practise in Ontario.

Which exams are required?

Registration Examination, Jurisprudence Exam, Competency examination.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.