Province comparison
Podiatrist Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Licence required
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Licence required
- Alberta: Licence required
- Saskatchewan: Licence required
- Manitoba: Licence required
- Ontario: Licence required
- Quebec: Licence required
- New Brunswick: Licence required
- Nova Scotia: Licence required
- Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $665 | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| Alberta | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 1 |
| Saskatchewan | Not listed | — | — |
| Manitoba | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 2 |
| Ontario | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| Quebec | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| New Brunswick | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 2 |
| Nova Scotia | Not listed | — | — |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained outside Canada | American Podiatric Medical Licensing Examinations (APMLE), National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners examinations (historic three-part) | — | $665 (Trained outside Canada) | 0.1 months (partial) | $71,500 a year | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | American Podiatric Medical Licensing Exam (AMPLE) Part 1, American Podiatric Medical Licensing Exam (AMPLE) Part 2, American Podiatric Medical Licensing Exam (AMPLE) Part 2 CSPE, American Podiatric Medical Licensing Exam (AMPLE) Part 3, PM Lexis licensing examination | — | Not listed | — | $64,000 a year | Good (4 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | — | Saskatchewan College of Podiatrists’ entrance examination | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
| Manitoba | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | — | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Registration Examination, Jurisprudence Exam, Competency examination | — | Not listed | — | $62,000 a year | Good (4 of 5) |
| Quebec | Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada | épreuve uniforme de français, examen de français de l’Office québécois de la langue française | — | Not listed | — | $46,800 a year | Good (4 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Trained in Canada | entrance examinations (written and oral) | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
| Nova Scotia | — | registration examination administered by the College of Chiropodists of Ontario (COCOO) | — | Not listed | — | — | Moderate (3 of 5) |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (7)
- Not stated (49)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $32,867 | $56,800 | $123,000 |
| British Columbia | $37,929 | $71,500 | $124,000 |
| Alberta | $32,867 | $64,000 | $139,000 |
| Saskatchewan | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Manitoba | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Ontario | $37,561 | $62,000 | $122,000 |
| Quebec | $33,109 | $46,800 | $123,000 |
| New Brunswick | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nova Scotia | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Prince Edward Island | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Good (4 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Outlook not determined |
| Manitoba | Outlook not determined |
| Ontario | Good (4 of 5) |
| Quebec | Good (4 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Outlook not determined |
| Nova Scotia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Outlook not determined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Outlook not determined |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.