At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with CPSBC

Your roadmap

Trained outside Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $665
  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  • Listed time: 0.1 months (only 1 of 6 steps state a time)
  1. Applicants who meet all the requirements email the college to obtain an application package.

    Source
    “Applicants who meet all the requirements for the full – podiatric surgeon licenceshould email [email protected] to obtain an application package.”
    cpsbc.ca/registrants/current-registrants/registration-and-licensing...
  2. The applicant completes the application package and pays the application fee.

    Source
    “Full – podiatric surgeon C$665 application fee”
    cpsbc.ca/registrants/current-registrants/registration-and-licensing...
  3. The college reviews the application, assigns a file manager, and emails the applicant a secondary application package.

    Source
    “CPSBC reviews all applications and assigns a file manager to an applicant. The file manager will email the applicant with the secondary application package.”
    cpsbc.ca/registrants/current-registrants/registration-and-licensing...
  4. The applicant submits the completed secondary application with a certificate of professional conduct, reference letters, and proof of English language proficiency.

    Source
    “- provide a certificate of professional conduct from the regulatory or licensing authority in each jurisdiction where the applicant has held medical licensure or trained/practiced—this must be dated within 60 days from the intended start date of practice in BC - provide reference letters as per CPSBC's instruction - meet CPSBC’s English language proficiency requirements”
    cpsbc.ca/registrants/current-registrants/registration-and-licensing...
  5. The college completes a final review and approves the application.

    Source
    “Application approved for licensure | All classes | Licence issued within 3 business days of payment”
    cpsbc.ca/licensees/licensing/timelines
  6. After the application is approved, the applicant pays the licence fees and the licence is issued within three business days.

    Time: 3 days
    Time source
    “Application approved for licensure | All classes | Licence issued within 3 business days of payment”
    cpsbc.ca/licensees/licensing/timelines
    Source
    “Application approved for licensure | All classes | Licence issued within 3 business days of payment”
    cpsbc.ca/licensees/licensing/timelines

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $665

One-time fees listed for Trained outside Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $665 100%
One-time total $665 100%

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • The applicant must hold a Doctor of Podiatric Medicine degree from a recognized podiatric medical education program listed in schedule C of the CPSBC Bylaws.

    Source
    “have a Doctor of Podiatric Medicine (DPM) degree from one of the recognized podiatric medical education programs listed in schedule C of the CPSBC Bylaws”
    cpsbc.ca/registrants/current-registrants/registration-and-licensing...

Experience

  • The applicant must have completed a minimum of two years of a CPME accredited and approved residency, or a minimum of one year if the postgraduate training was completed before January 1, 2012.

    Source
    “have successfully completed a minimum of two years of a Council on Podiatric Medical Education (CPME) accredited and approved residency, or - if postgraduate training was completed before January 1, 2012, have successfully completed a minimum of a one year CPME accredited residency”
    cpsbc.ca/registrants/current-registrants/registration-and-licensing...

Insurance

Residency

Other

  • The applicant must have successfully completed the three-part American Podiatric Medical Licensing Examinations administered by the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners or the historic three-part National Board of Podiatric Medical Examinations.

    Source
    “have successfully completed the three-part American Podiatric Medical Licensing Examinations (APMLE) administered by the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners or the historic three-part National Board of Podiatric Medical Examinations”
    cpsbc.ca/registrants/current-registrants/registration-and-licensing...
  • The applicant must meet CPSBC's English language proficiency requirements.

    Source
    “meet CPSBC's English language proficiency requirements”
    cpsbc.ca/registrants/current-registrants/registration-and-licensing...
  • The applicant must provide a certificate of professional conduct from each jurisdiction where they have been licensed or trained, dated within 60 days of the intended start date in BC.

    Source
    “provide a certificate of professional conduct from the regulatory or licensing authority in each jurisdiction where the applicant has held medical licensure or trained/practiced—this must be dated within 60 days from the intended start date of practice in BC”
    cpsbc.ca/registrants/current-registrants/registration-and-licensing...

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages do not state how a podiatrist already licensed in another Canadian province or territory can register in British Columbia.

Source
“The full - podiatric surgeon licence permits a podiatric surgeon to practise podiatric medicine within the scope of their education, qualifications, and experience without any restrictions or supervision.”
cpsbc.ca/registrants/current-registrants/registration-and-licensing...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CPSBC

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with CPSBC

Exams

  • American Podiatric Medical Licensing Examinations (APMLE)

    Source
    “have successfully completed the three-part American Podiatric Medical Licensing Examinations (APMLE) administered by the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners or the historic three-part National Board of Podiatric Medical Examinations”
    cpsbc.ca/registrants/current-registrants/registration-and-licensing...
  • National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners examinations (historic three-part)

    Source
    “have successfully completed the three-part American Podiatric Medical Licensing Examinations (APMLE) administered by the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners or the historic three-part National Board of Podiatric Medical Examinations”
    cpsbc.ca/registrants/current-registrants/registration-and-licensing...

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with CPSBC

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with CPSBC

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with CPSBC

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in British Columbia and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
British Columbia $37,929 $71,500 $124,000 Moderate (3 of 5)
Canada $32,867 $56,800 $123,000 —

Wages by region and job outlook in British Columbia

Wages in every province and territory

Podiatrists in other provinces and territories

  • Alberta Licence required
  • Saskatchewan Licence required
  • Manitoba Licence required
  • Ontario Licence required
  • Quebec Licence required
  • New Brunswick Licence required
  • Nova Scotia Licence required
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare podiatrist licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Health profession regulation - Province of British Columbia www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/health/practitioner-professional-resourc... · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Podiatric surgeon | College of Physicians and Surgeons of BC cpsbc.ca/registrants/current-registrants/registration-and-licensing... · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Independent practice | College of Physicians and Surgeons of BC cpsbc.ca/registrants/current-registrants/registration-and-licensing... · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Application timelines and fees | College of Physicians and Surgeons of BC cpsbc.ca/licensees/licensing/timelines · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a podiatrist in British Columbia?

Yes. Registration with the College of Physicians and Surgeons of BC is required to practise in British Columbia.

Which exams are required?

American Podiatric Medical Licensing Examinations (APMLE), National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners examinations (historic three-part).

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.