How to Become a Powerline Technician in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Powerline technician is a voluntary trade in Alberta. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Under Alberta’s Skilled Trades and Apprenticeship Education Act [pdf], you do not have to be certified if you are self-employed or work for an employer who is satisfied that you have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/powerline-technician, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps, listed one-time fees $150
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- Listed one-time fees: $150
- 5 steps without a listed fee
-
Before enrolling in classroom instruction you must meet the entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses, or show you are ready another way.
Source
“Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
If you have not passed the required high school courses, you can take an entrance exam to show you are ready for apprenticeship classes.
- Entrance exam fee: $150
Source
“There is a $150 fee for writing an entrance exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent...
Source
“If you haven't passed the required courses, you have a few options: - Take an entrance exam to show you’re ready.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... - Entrance exam fee: $150
-
You complete the required hours of on-the-job training in each period of the apprenticeship.
Source
“1,525 hours of on-the-job training and 7 weeks of classroom instruction in each of the first 3 years”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/powerline-technician -
You attend the required weeks of classroom instruction in each of the first three years of the program.
Source
“1,525 hours of on-the-job training and 7 weeks of classroom instruction in each of the first 3 years”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/powerline-technician -
You must pass a theory exam to complete each period of the apprenticeship program.
Source
“Theory exam required to complete each period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/021 -
Apprentices in Red Seal Trades can write the Red Seal exam at their school after passing their final period exam.
Source
“Apprentices in Red Seal Trades can write the Red Seal exam at their school after they pass their final period exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $150
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $150 | 100% |
| One-time total | $150 | 100% |
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.
Source
“Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/021
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Powerline Technician: $150
Source
“| Powerline Technician | 1,2,3 | $150.00 each | n/a |”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear...
Requirements
Education
Before enrolling in classroom instruction you must meet the entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses that you must have passed.
Source
“Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
Experience
Applicants holding a related trade certificate may be eligible for credit toward the Trades Qualifier requirements.
Source
“*Applicants holding a related trade certificate may be eligible for credit toward these requirements (see Related Trade Certificates for the Apprenticeship Education Program above).*”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/021
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Powerline technicians trained in other provinces can work in Alberta if they hold a recognized certificate or licence, and through the Recognized Credentials Program they must submit their certificate and pass a theory exam. Source
“Powerline technicians trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta or have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/powerline-technician
Submit recognized trade certificate
Source
“Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/021
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Exams
-
Entrance exam
Source
“There is a $150 fee for writing an entrance exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... -
Theory exam
Source
“Theory exam required to complete each period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/021 -
Red Seal exam
Source
“Apprentices in Red Seal Trades can write the Red Seal exam at their school after they pass their final period exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $31.75 | $55.00 | $67.31 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $28.40 | $46.00 | $62.00 | — |
Powerline technicians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Certification required
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Certification required
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Powerline Technician: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/powerline-technician · fetched October 8, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Powerline Technician tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/021 · fetched October 10, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Entrance Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Types of Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Prior Learning Assessments tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a powerline technician in Alberta?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.
Which exams are required?
Entrance exam, Theory exam, Red Seal exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.