At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 6 steps without a listed fee
  • Listed time: 48 months (only 1 of 6 steps state a time)
  1. The applicant finds a sponsor to begin an apprenticeship in the trade.

    Source
    “Find a sponsor in Ontario.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices
  2. The applicant applies for an apprenticeship program in Ontario.

    Source
    “Apply for an apprenticeship program in Ontario.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices
  3. The apprentice completes the on-the-job work experience hours, with the sponsor or trainer signing off skills in the training standard.

    Time: 4 years
    Time source
    “has set the hours of apprenticeship training for the trade Powerline Technician at 8,000 (approximately four years)”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/powerline-technician
    Source
    “The Registrar of Skilled Trades Ontario, under the authority of section 14 of the Building Opportunities in the Skilled Trades Act, 2021, has set the hours of apprenticeship training for the trade Powerline Technician at 8,000 (approximately four years), which consists of 7,680 hours on the job work experience and 320 hours of in-school training.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/powerline-technician
  4. The apprentice completes four levels of theoretical in-school training.

    Source
    “A Powerline Technician apprenticeship includes four levels of theoretical training, which includes but is not limited to instruction in:”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/powerline-technician
  5. The apprentice passes the certifying exam for the trade.

    Source
    “This trade has a certifying exam. When the certifying exam is passed, Skilled Trades Ontario will issue a Certificate of Qualification in this trade.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/powerline-technician
  6. Upon completing the apprenticeship program, Skilled Trades Ontario issues a Certificate of Apprenticeship, and a Certificate of Qualification once the certifying exam is passed.

    Source
    “Upon completion of an apprenticeship program, Skilled Trades Ontario issues a Certificate of Apprenticeship.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/powerline-technician

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  1. The applicant finds a sponsor in Ontario.

    Source
    “Find a sponsor in Ontario.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices
  2. The applicant applies for an apprenticeship program in Ontario, checking off the section of the form indicating training completed in another province.

    Source
    “On your application you will need to check off the section of the form that you have completed training in another province.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices
  3. Skilled Trades Ontario contacts the applicant to verify their out-of-province training after the application is submitted.

    Source
    “Skilled Trades Ontario will contact you to verify your out-of-province training after you have submitted your application.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  1. The applicant reviews the Trade Qualifier Guide to ensure they meet the skills and experience requirements.

    Source
    “Review the Trade Qualifier Guide carefully to ensure that you meet the skills and experience requirements.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/skilled-trades-ontario-portal
  2. The applicant collects all supporting documentation before applying.

    Source
    “Collect all supporting documentation before applying.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/skilled-trades-ontario-portal
  3. The applicant creates a My Ontario account and submits a Trade Equivalency Assessment application through the Skilled Trades Ontario Portal.

    Source
    “Create a My Ontario account to access the Skilled Trades Ontario Portal. Then, when prompted, select Individual, create a New application and select Trade Equivalency Assessment and follow the steps to submit your application.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/skilled-trades-ontario-portal
  4. If the Trade Equivalency Assessment determines the applicant can challenge the certifying exam, they pass it.

    Source
    “The Trade Equivalency Assessment determines whether you can challenge the certifying exam for a trade.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/resource-hub/research/trade-reports/trade-r...
  5. If successful in the exam, the applicant pays a fee to be issued a Certificate of Qualification.

    Source
    “If successful in the exam, you would pay a fee to be issued a Certificate of Qualification in that trade.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/resource-hub/research/trade-reports/trade-r...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Requirements

Education

Other

  • Applicants who do not meet the academic entry requirements may register through the Experienced Apprenticeship Pathway if they are at least 21 years old or have not received formal education for at least three years.

    Source
    “To be considered for EAP, the applicant must: 1. be at least at least 21 years old, or 2. have not received formal education for a period of at least three years.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/resource-hub/research/trade-reports/trade-r...

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages say Canadian certificate holders can apply using a PDF form and, once approved, are issued an Ontario Certificate of Qualification, but they do not state whether an exam or assessment is required.

Source
“Once your application is approved and you are issued a Certificate of Qualification, you may then use the Skilled Trades Ontario Portal to update your information, pay fees or initiate other applications.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/skilled-trades-ontario-portal

  1. Apply by PDF form

    Source
    “If you have a certificate, license or credential from another Canadian province or territory and would like to obtain an Ontario Certificate of Qualification, please note that the Canadian certificate holder application is currently not available through the Skilled Trades Ontario Portal. You must use the PDF application form and email or mail your application to Skilled Trades Ontario.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/skilled-trades-ontario-portal

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Ontario and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Ontario $29.70 $45.00 $62.00 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $28.40 $46.00 $62.00 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Ontario

Wages in every province and territory

Powerline technicians in other provinces and territories

Compare powerline technician licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Powerline Technician - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/powerline-technician · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Current apprentices - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Powerline Technician (434A) skilledtradesontario.ca/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/powerline-techni... · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Skilled Trades Ontario Portal - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/skilled-trades-ontario-portal · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. Trade reports FAQ - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/resource-hub/research/trade-reports/trade-r... · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a powerline technician in Ontario?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Ontario. Certification is managed by Skilled Trades Ontario.

Which exams are required?

certifying exam, in-school exemption test.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.