How to Become a Powerline Technician in Saskatchewan
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Powerline technician is a voluntary trade in Saskatchewan. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Powerline Technician Construction Sector Red Seal”
From saskapprenticeship.ca/designated-trades-searchable, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
The applicant registers an apprenticeship contract with the employer using the Powerline Technician Contract between Apprentice and Employer form.
Source
“Powerline Technician Contract between Apprentice and Employer (Form A)”
saskapprenticeship.ca/satcc-no-longer-accepting-paper-forms-effecti... -
The apprentice self-registers for technical training through MyATC.
Source
“Apprentices self-register for technical training through MyATC.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/training-partners -
The apprentice attends technical training delivered by Southeast College.
Source
“SEC delivers training to Saskatchewan’s Powerline Technician apprentices.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/training-partners -
The apprentice writes the required examinations, paying the written and practical exam fees.
Source
“written exam fee will increase from $100 to $125”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with SATCC
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Registration fee: $200
Source
“registration fee will increase from $175 to $200”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - Written exam fee: $125
Source
“written exam fee will increase from $100 to $125”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - Practical exam fee: $175
Source
“practical exam fee will increase from $160 to $175”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - Examination review fee: $125
Source
“examination review fee will increase from $100 to $125”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates - Tuition fees: $105 (per week for most programs)
Source
“Tuition fees are increasing by $10 per week, from $95 per week to $105 per week for most programs.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
Requirements
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Saskatchewan.
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Exams
-
written exam
Source
“written exam fee will increase from $100 to $125”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates -
practical exam
Source
“practical exam fee will increase from $160 to $175”
saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates -
Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination
Source
“Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination Information”
saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/powerline-technician -
Level One Examination
Source
“Level One Examination Information”
saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/powerline-technician -
Level Two Examination
Source
“Level Two Examination Information”
saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/powerline-technician
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saskatchewan | $35.00 | $47.85 | $62.00 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $28.40 | $46.00 | $62.00 | — |
Powerline technicians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Certification required
- Alberta Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Certification required
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Designated Trades | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/designated-trades-searchable · fetched October 11, 2026
- Powerline Technician | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/powerline-technician · fetched October 11, 2026
- SATCC No Longer Accepting Paper Forms – Effective April 1 | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/satcc-no-longer-accepting-paper-forms-effecti... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Training Partners | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/training-partners · fetched October 9, 2026
- APPRENTICESHIP FEE UPDATES | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a powerline technician in Saskatchewan?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Saskatchewan. Certification is managed by the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.
Which exams are required?
written exam, practical exam, Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination, Level One Examination, Level Two Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.